We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service, strongly recommended to make a reservation in advance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes Restaurant & Bar

Grapes Restaurant & Bar
Calle 8va, Edificio Grapes | Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
+507 212-1882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 530 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Restaurant is situated in one of the rooms of a fully restored private mansion dating back to 1657 and is one of the very first structures built in the old fortified Spanish city. The original walls and arches are skillfully blended into a cosy dining and bar area. We have now expanded further into the old house and now offer private dining
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and service, strongly recommended to make a reservation in advance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had dinner yesterday night. I called for a reservation 1 day in advance and could not find any for 8pm, so we had an early dinner at 7pm...
The food was great, love the fact that they serve the sauces separately and are not too greasy. Excellent service and great wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    33
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unmemorable Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Really? This is the #10 top rated restaurant in Panama City? Totally shocked. Good was eh...fine. Menu ..not too impressed. Service was sub par. Prices high. We got shoved at this little table with chairs that wear clearly makeshift. Just not impressed. Average

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice restaurant.Not a huge restaurant. They had a large party that night which took the noise level up some but still tolerable. The food was excellent and good wine choices as well. Read other reviews and was looking forward to the experience. It lived up.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a small venue seemingly meant to target upscale people. The interior design is indeed elegant and classic with some tones of baroque and rococo, mixed with some cheap grapefruit drawings around. Soft music in the background, relatively quiet for a conversation, and warm lights.

The average entree ranges between 12 USD (appetizer) and 22 USD (main). I personally came here late, after a theatrical show, and to keep a light dinner I ordered only a grilled red tuna steak (28 USD). The steak was well cooked and tasty, yet nothing exceptional. The disappointment was in finding out that they served only the steak without any side dish decoration, just some sauces: ridicolous for the price and for a restaurant of this kind. A glass of white wine starts from 6.5 USD and adding a side dish, your one-dish dinner ranges up easily to 35-40 USD. Too expensive. If your really wanna go for a meal here, then perhaps go for the appetizers: looking around on the other tables they seemed more inviting than a mere steak.

Service too was not good. At the beginning, the waiter literally threw the tablecloth on the table with no manners to prepare my table. When asking for the wine menu, I was told wines just by name, orally, with no possibility to see prices. Moreover I had to point out to the waiter every time that I needed (free) refill of water of my glass. These aspects may be tolerable in regular restaurants but in a restaurant like Grapes that pretends to be upscale and elegant, are really not acceptable.

I would personally not recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finally tried it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had our anniversary dinner at Grapes tonight (first time there). They had free valet parking (absolutely necessary in Casco Antiguo). The restaurant dacor was very inviting and the service was excellent. I had a blue cheese salad (excellent) and curried chicken. The curried chicken was like chicken nuggets in a bowl. Next to that was a bowl of rice and a bowl of curry. Next they brought out 7 bowls of additional condiments (onion, cucumber, raisens, pinapple, chutney, cocoanut, and tomato). Essentially, you could customize each bite you took. Quite good and recommend it. Deborah had the corvina. This is the most common fish in Panama and is really Chilean Sea Bass. They cooked for her a 1+ inch thick piece of fish which means that it came out moist and flakey. She said it was quiet good. She also had a salmon appitizer. 2 glasses of wine with tip came to $95. Definitely worth going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Grapes Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.