We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great people watching place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes Restaurant & Bar

Grapes Restaurant & Bar
Calle 8va, Edificio Grapes | Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
+507 212-1882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 475 restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Restaurant is situated in one of the rooms of a fully restored private mansion dating back to 1657 and is one of the very first structures built in the old fortified Spanish city. The original walls and arches are skillfully blended into a cosy dining and bar area. We have now expanded further into the old house and now offer private dining
Heflin, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and great people watching place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good food and good times! Enjoyed the clams for appetizer and the seafood rice was awesome!
I just wished we had more time on our visit to eat there again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    100
    30
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not the best in Panama”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This restaurant has a nice atmosphere, and the staff is friendly. The food could be improved, it was not gourmet fare. A nice place to go if you are in "Casco Viejo" but if you have a choice go to Panama City and will find wonderful restaurants at the same price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A quiet charming dining room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is definitely an upscale atmosphere with a coved wooden ceiling and an interesting menu and good wine list. The Staff was attentive and professional. I had grilled octopus which was delicious and I would order it again in a minute. It was a great place for our last dinner in Panama. Entrees come with nothing extra so it is a bit pricey.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I visited this restaurant this weekend (March 15, 2013) the food was awesome. The continue to have great dishes. It a fusion between American Cuisine and Latin flavor. The service was good and prompt. The ambiance was positive, the place was busy. The wine list was well balanced, with exotic wines and affordable good choices. I live in Florida where restaurant food is expensive, yet the prices at Grapes seem appropriate for the city of Panama. We went with business executives, they all liked the food. I was able to cater the Corvina, other had salmon, octopus, and beef. The dessert were delicious. We had a great over the table conversation without competing with the environment noise. Valet parking simplified the entrance and the exit from the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“serendipidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

we had to forgo our first choice in casco viejo dining because of a nation wide power outage. we were with local friends who were remembered that Grapes was near by & had gotton rave reviews from their friends.
this place was a great & unexpected find by all of us. very cool. great service, good wine list. food was very good. would go back. would highly recommend to travellers looking for a very good meal in a contemporary environment hidden in a colonial part of the city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province

Been to Grapes Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.