We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Panama!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes Restaurant & Bar

Grapes Restaurant & Bar
Calle 8va, Edificio Grapes | Casco Antiguo, Panama City, Panama
+507 212-1882
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 567 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant is situated in one of the rooms of a fully restored private mansion dating back to 1657 and is one of the very first structures built in the old fortified Spanish city. The original walls and arches are skillfully blended into a cosy dining and bar area. We have now expanded further into the old house and now offer private dining
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best in Panama!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Best restaurant we we've been to in Panama, really distinguishes itself from the rest! Everything we tried was great!
Don't miss out on the ceviche, salmon tartar, ravioles tres fungi, arepas, corvina as main or New York steak-all are yummy! For dessert, the Key lime pie was amazing!

Fantastic wine menu as well, A* service and crowd! Can't wait to return!

The Bellamy's

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    42
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
“A MAGNIFICENT DINNER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant did not only satisfy the palate but it also satisfied the soul!! Its exquisite food and service made it an unforgettable evening! I could have had seconds and thirds of the ribs I ordered...D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S! The wine selection was inviting :) The desserts were OUT OF CONTROL!!! This place is definitely a KEEPER!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“AMAZING FOOD AND AMBIANCE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

In reference to the negative reveiws of other trip advisor's members, I dont undersand what Grapes they went to??? The only grapes in casco viejo was AMAZING!! Not only was the food outstanding but the service was exceptional!! Being fom Miami i have experienced many restaurants and this one by far is one of my favorites!! I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Ate at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

When we asked for a reservation, they told us we could only eat at the bar, which was fine. When we got there it was empty and we sat down. In a few minutes we saw a couple of girls walk in and ask if they could have a table, clearly they had just wandered in off the street. The hostess then proceeded to seat these two girls and I gave her a look like "are you kidding me?". My husband and I debated leaving for a few minutes after that shady move, but we had already had seen the menu and picked what we wanted. Delicious caipirinhas, he had the ribs, I had something I can't remember but it was very tasty whatever it was, we would go back for sure despite the odd service!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lamb !!, Great Wine, good dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I wanted to have something different, but couldnt make my mind. This was my first visit in Panama so I didnt know what to expect. I decided to visit tripadvisor and get some advise were to go. Im really suprise how this tripadvisor tool can actually help you make excelent choices.

The restaurant is perfect for a romantic dinner, or simply to enjoy with family and friends. The plates take a little time to get cooked , but the wait is really worth it!!!

The lamb chops are a must!!!!! I could easily give 5 point but the dessert wasnt that good. Congratulations

The place is not very big so making reservation is a good thinking. Here is the phone number 212-1882/ 6635-4014/6082-2706

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Grapes Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.