We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Estancia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Estancia
Save
You added La Estancia to your Saves list
#35, Calle Amelia Denis de Icaza | Quarry Heights, Cerro Ancon, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

I had done considerable research on the internet about where to stay in Panama City for a two day layover. I had booked a downtown hotel and then decided to switch to La Estancia. I was so glad we did!! Downtown Panama is incredibly noisy, busy and dirty. La Estancia is located in a park like setting at the edge of the city. It was quiet, clean, peaceful and there was all kinds of birds and wildlife to view. Yes, it is far from the international airport but close to a shopping mall, grocery store, canal, and the domestic airport. Cab rides were never more than $6 to $8 depending on where you were going. We ordered in at night from the take out menus in the common area and enjoyed the ambiance and spaciousness of our suite. La Estancia is very clean and the staff are very good about guiding you to whatever you want to see or do. They even arranged for a birthday cake for my son to be in our room when we arrived from Canada. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend this place to anyone that is looking for peace and quiet!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    107
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
194
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

As a new traveler to Central America I had some trepidation and La Estancia was a good introduction. On our way to our final destination, it was a way to ease into a new culture and environment. On our way back home, after living with a family for two weeks of language study, it seemed a luxurious stopping place! Simple and pleasant decor, comfortable beds and pillows, hot water, air conditioning in rooms. Common areas are very pleasant, but not air conditioned, which I liked as you can get too cold and forget you are in Panama if everything is air conditioned. Really nice indigenous molas for sale and on display. Friendly and helpful staff. Literally 5 minutes from Gelabert airport for Air Panama flights but on opposite side of town from Tocumen International. The cab drivers they work with are very nice and they will send them to pick you up, which is really nice for first time travelers. Also about 10 minutes from Mireflores Locks on the canal. Grocery store and Allenbrook Mall are very close by cab. Very nice breakfast fruits, cereal, yougurt and eggs made to order. Drawbacks: it is rather far from restaurants and the pizza we ordered delivered was WAY too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed here for just over a week in March and had a wondeful time. As anticipated from the Tripadvisor reviews the service, cleanliness, and LOCATION were terrific. The rooms are basic but very comfortable and the aircon did the job. Ancon hill is a refuge for wildlife and much of it - including sloths, squirrels, monkeys, tree frogs and incredible birds - can be viwed from the comfort of the balconies. Suffice to say we have booked again for 2009

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

It was our first visit to Panama. Our friends had recommended La Estancia B&B in Panama City mostly because of the friendly staff and the location. We were glad they did! We stayed there for two nights at the beginning of our 2 week trip and two nights at the end, in early April.
Our Spanish is very poor. Gathering information in Panama City, including; renting a car, where to eat, and what to see can be very difficult when you don't speak the language. We found the staff to be exceptionally nice and very helpful (especially Tito!). Tito tirelessly answered all of our questions and he made many phone calls for us. He started our trip off on the right foot and helped us get everything organized. (It would have been a very difficult start to our trip if we had stayed in a hotel where very little English was spoken.)
The other highlight was La Estancia's mountainside location. Because of all of the contsruction happening in Panama City most places downtown have construction noise from early in the morning to well into the evening. Being located slightly outside of the city the construction noise was minimal and the peaceful jungle walk from the front door was amazing. Within a 5 minute walk we saw four sloths and an armadillo. At the top of the hill the 360 degree view was striking.
La Estancia's building and rooms were modest, but very clean. My wife and I found it to be a very relaxed environment. It was also a great place to hang out in the evenings and email our friends and family back in Canada.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed in one of the suites and were very pleased with the size of the rooms and the price. The breakfast is decent and there's something for everyone. The location is perfect if you are looking for a peaceful setting away from the city and with easy access to the Canal, Causeway and other cities west of town. We easily took taxis into the city for $3/person. Ancon Hill is a beautiful spot with resident sloths, agouti, deer, monkeys and an abundance of birds. It's a great walk to the top of Ancon Hill with lots of great views of the city, Canal and ocean. We were extremely impressed with the staff both before our trip and during our time in Panama. They helped us plan our trip and booked the tours, drivers and guides. We were extremely lucky to have Mario as our guide to El Valle and learned so much from him. La Estania is great for just about any visitor to Panama and I hope I will be back soon to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

#1, As the (British?) female owner went on a anti-American rant. She said the US "ruined panama". She said her husband as an English speaking Panamanian who graduated Berkeley Law and spoke perfect English but refused to speak English as a protest as to what US had done to his country. She had a story from 30+ years ago that was filled with anti-American nonsense. In his office he never once answered me in English, deferring to one of the staff to mottle thru with there limited English and my limited Spanish
#2, Over Priced, a value at $50, nothing special at $75. My room(s) were the smaller offerrings I suppose, I heard reference to "suites" but never saw one? I stayed two different nights in two different rooms. My room(s) Spartan-no tv, no clock radio etc...two twin beds and good A/C..bath room across hall, poor water pressure in one..the other better.

In difference to the other writers:

The Building was a former family housing unit, NOT a barracks...four families in this building, two apt on each floor.
The writer who was woke by kitchen staff? You must be a light sleeper, kitchen is not adjacent to any room, but I can see if they were loud, I guess?
It’s not a Hotel it’s a B&B.
Quarry Heights was a garden spot back in the day...while some houses have been re-done to a very nice exterior appearance...the place generally looks awful, run down.
The “TOP SECRET” DIJ-police use of the former SOUTHCOM HQ for their needs. WATCH WHERE YOU POINT YOUR CAMERA or the secret police get upset...very upset…AK-47 upset. Take the walk to the village area and notice the trash. Then think...this is a road to the president’s hide-away residence? . Filthy.
The Animals being present is because they feed them...those bananas didnt grow there...they are hung on a rope to keep the addle minded visitors entertained. I am in my 50's...all other visitors much older and largely a bird watcher crowd as best I could tell.
The staff was friendly enough...the Breakfast was good, but any coffee past the first cup gets a odd look from staff, (i noticed this panama wide, I guess sitting and drinking multiple cups is a not done much?) ... didn’t book any extra trips.. The cab driver guy was nice enough.
Anti-US is enough to keep me away.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Stayed at La Estancia for 2 nights in early April, '09. Found the accommodations comfortable, with firm bed, nice pillows and air con. Bathroom had large shower and there was plenty of shelving for hanging and storing luggage. There are 2 computers available for internet access, plus they have Wi-Fi, both included in price of stay. Best feature is that you are near the top of the Cerro de Ancon, an oasis in Panama where it isn't unusual to see monkeys or sloths in the trees at the back of the hotel. We saw plenty of birds, including one that was taken by a green tree snake! All visible from the balconies at the back of the hotel. From the hotel, it's a ~30min walk to the top of the hill, where you have panoramic views of the city and the canal. On the walk you also get to see more wildlife, including birds, sloths, monkeys and deer. We only saw sloths and birds on our walk, but I heard that the earlier you go, the more you see.
the only drawback to this place is that it's not really within walking distance to anything. You have to catch a cab to the city and even down to the nearby mall, shopping areas, and domestic airport. Cabs are cheap though, and it should cost you no more than $10 to go anywhere in the city, with most trips being $3-7. A lot of cabbies don't know of this place so be sure to bring directions with you. There is a card in the room that you can use to give your cabbie if need be. The staff are friendly and helpful with calling cabs, organizing tours, etc. Oh, and the included breakfast is good too. Not only do they provide fruit, cereal, coffee, but will also cook you up eggs, sausage and pancakes. Communal bottled water, and snacks are also provided, and a fridge with beers and wine are available for purchase. Very quiet and comfortable place, recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estancia

Address: #35, Calle Amelia Denis de Icaza | Quarry Heights, Cerro Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Estancia. Nestled in the quiet hillside of Cerro Ancon with views to the Bridge of the Americas, we are close to the domestic airport, old town Casco Viejo, the Panama Canal, Amador Causeway, and only 10 minutes by taxi from the heart of Panama City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Estancia Panama City
La Estancia Hotel Panama City
La Estancia Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.