We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Estancia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Estancia
Save Saved
You added La Estancia to your Saves list
#35, Calle Amelia Denis de Icaza | Quarry Heights, Cerro Ancon, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Panama City
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value, wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My first trip out of the USA and I found this B & B in a blog and gave it a shot.

I was picked up at the airport, well worth the small extra charge. My room was small, but comfortable. Staff was very nice and helpful to this non-Spanish speaking American. Made me feel at home.

Great environment to meeting other travelers.

Very clean and it showed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, Guest Relations Manager at La Estancia, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We are so happy we made your first experience out of your home country a wonderful one; we hope this would encourage you to keep visiting Panama in your future travels. Our common areas are filled with travelers willing to share their ventures and we do our best to give you the pointers you need for Panama, even if your español no muy bueno.
Hope to see you again, and thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    106
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
193
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at La Estancia while making the transfer from the international airport (where we arrived at night), to the domestic airport (where we left the following morning). For this purpose I can highly rate La Estancia.

The staff were knowledgeable and responsive. The location was quiet and out of the way. And it was close to the airport.

Note this is NOT a high end hotel. The rooms are clean, but are not lush in any way. The breakfast is okay. Most of all La Estancia performs well on value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, Guest Relations Manager at La Estancia, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing La Estancia as a place to rest and stop over before taking you flight to the interior of the country. Having the Domestic Airport nearby is a plus when looking for a quite and comfortable B&B we will be glad to assist you.
Thank you for your time, we appreciate your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

La Estancia came highly recommended to me by a friend who stayed here last year, and it absolutely did not disappoint. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is homey. They offer an airport transfer for $35, and from the moment you set foot in the hotel, you are made to feel welcome and at home. Rooms are immaculately clean and air conditioned. Cute handmade items are for sale in the lobby for reasonable prices. There is a small fridge with drinks and snacks that can be bought and added to your bill. The staff will also help you make travel arrangements to other destinations and have a variety of trustworthy taxi drivers to take you around the city. Breakfast is included and boasts fresh fruit, delicious coffee and eggs or pancakes. From the terrace where you eat breakfast, you can see monkeys, sloths and toucans peeping out from the trees. It's a gorgeous place not quite in the center of the city but an easy 5-10 minute cab ride. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, Guest Relations Manager at La Estancia, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Really appreciate your review, we are glad we made your stay cozy and enjoyable as possible.
We strive to give our guest the best welcome and this includes pointers around the city and helping their stay be as smooth as possible. We are glad we could help you with this and that you were pleased with the room and amenities we had to offer.
Thanks for recommending us and we hope to have you and your friends again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We picked this place cause it was a little protected and isolated on the Cerro Anton/Quarry Hights, close enough to Casco Viejo, downtown or any other place. This B&B is really nice and quiet surrounded by lush vegetation and nice birds. It's a pleasant feeling when the rest of La Cuidad is waking up in noise and pollution... They only serve breakfast, no other meals, but there are plenty of restaurants close by and food can be delivered. Nice place!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, Guest Relations Manager at La Estancia, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thanks, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the natural rain forest and wildlife that surrounds La Estancia. Its true the city is going under some mayor construction and Ancon Hill offers a shelter from all the racket that comes with big cities. We hope to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have read numerous TA’s reviews before deciding to go with La Estanica as our hotel of choice and indeed this place lives up to its reputation. The location is hard to beat; Ankon Hill is a gem in the middle of the city! The personnel are beyond friendly and helpful. Every one of them, from the night crew, the people that run the reception desk and the dining room staff went out of their ways to help us, give advice, store our luggage or even arrange travel that was not booked through them. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the some on the top floor have superb views to the Canal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, Guest Relations Manager at La Estancia, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for the positive remarks. It is our goal to make your stay special and as pleasant as possible. We're delighted to know were able to help you while in Panama and hope the next time your in the neighborhood you'll consider us for your stay. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farallon, Panama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

When we booked la Estancia years ago we got exactly what we expected and loved it! Yes no luxury TV or Fancy toiletries but atmosphere, lovely staff beautiful birds walks. Since then my children grandchildren friends family have all been there and have loved it that is all I can say an we still keep on going!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, Guest Relations Manager at La Estancia, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for the sincere and lovely review. We appreciate the fact that over the years you've continue to deposit your confidence in us. This brings us great satisfaction and we hope to continue to live up to your expectations. We hope to see you soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathewra
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great value, great place out of the city in lush surroundings. The manager / owner and staff are all friendly and nice and will do anything needed/asked for. In a gated area, so few people have access to walk up the hills 25 minutes and see the wildlife, birds, armadillo, plentiful agouti.
A bird feeder brings birds to jst out side the balcony, and of course "the best coffee in the world" free all day long

Room Tip: Get the balcony room with private bath across the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, Guest Relations Manager at La Estancia, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for the coffee kudos! On behalf of all La Estancia staff we appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and natural surroundings Ancon Hill has to offer. We do our best to make your stay as care free as possible and hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estancia

Address: #35, Calle Amelia Denis de Icaza | Quarry Heights, Cerro Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Estancia. Nestled in the quiet hillside of Cerro Ancon with views to the Bridge of the Americas, we are close to the domestic airport, old town Casco Viejo, the Panama Canal, Amador Causeway, and only 10 minutes by taxi from the heart of Panama City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Estancia Panama City
La Estancia Hotel Panama City
La Estancia Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.