We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and safe place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Estancia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Estancia
Save
You added La Estancia to your Saves list
#35, Calle Amelia Denis de Icaza | Quarry Heights, Cerro Ancon, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great and safe place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I would really recommend La Estancia to anyone looking to stay in Panama city but away from the grime and hustle of the city centre. As a solo female traveller, I felt completely safe in the neighbourhood and the hotel itself. The staff were super friendly and helpful, even before I had booked my stay, they were extremely helpful over email when I was asking a lot of questions. I was planning a trip to San Blas which I booked through La Estancia and I would recommend doing this as it took all the hassle and worry out of the trip planning and the whole thing ran very smoothly.

The hotel itself is lovely - feels very homely and safe. The rooms were very bright and comfortable and the ones with the balconys and hammocks are worth requesting.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony and hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    107
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
194
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
corvallis, oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff at La Estancia were very helpful and the room was clean and very spacious..we had a regular one night and then a suite. If you need to travel in to the city it is a $5 cab ride but be sure to take a hotel card with directions as some of the return cabs do not know the way...especially at night. I think you could also go to Albrook mall to dine. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Go for the suites if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C. Area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We only stayed here one night on our way to San Blas, but were impressed by the friendly service of La Estancia. The hotel is in the quiet, residential neighborhood of Quarry Hill and is less than a 10-minute drive to Albrook Airport and with hiking access to the panoramic view of Cerro Ancon. The staff was extremely accommodating and helped place a carry-out order for us when we arrived late at night. The hotel itself is not extremely close to restaurants and bars, but it is a cheap and short cap ride to Casco Viejo or Albrook Mall. The hotel also offers lots of day tours around Panama City and can also book flights without markups from the airline's listed price as we had them do for our trip to Boquete without a hitch.

The guests at the hotel were also very approachable and willing to spark conversations in the common rooms. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. I would liken the experience to staying at a low-key, adult hostel.

Room Tip: Those sensitive to noise may want to request a room slightly farther from the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is a wonderful respite in the city. Close cab ride ($5) to Casco Viejo but on beautiful Cerro Ancom. Accommodations are simple but clean, bright and pleasant. The porches are amidst trees where we saw monkeys, a toucan and a sloth up close while having a delicious breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful, most speak Spanish
And English and were patient with while
Conversing with me while I spoke Spanish poorly. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I travelled with my 88 yr old mother, and three teens to Panama in March 2012. We were connecting on a flight over to Contadora Island so needed a hotel near Albrook Airport. This was a good choice for location...we booked the two main level suites which are basic, but very comfortable. The breakfast which was included was very good and the birdwatching from the various porches was wonderful. Do the climb to the top of Ancon Hill in the morning while it's cool...well worth it for photos of the canal below, and the surrounding vegetation is beautiful.
Taxi service arranged through La Estancia was good from Tocumen airport and to Albrook. Would recommend this hotel (B & B) and will stay again.

Room Tip: The suites are very suitable for families or longer stays...two beds in separate rooms, kitchen faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The B&B La Estancia was a great way for us to enjoy Panama City from a lovely retreat overlooking the city. The staff was wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful with directions to local establishments, helping us make travel connections and finding great local restaurants. We took walks up Ancon Hill and got to see poison dart frogs, tree sloths, monkeys and tucans -- All before breakfast!!! If we'd have stayed in a downtown hotel it would have been the same as being in any other city in a hotel -- the La Estancia made all the difference in our visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a well run establishment. They are very organized in all they do...rooms/breakfast/customer service and transportations It was the last night of our trip and a relaxing stay as we did very little but check out the monkeys and Toucans. What an oasis in the actual city! It's very clean as well. Great room/shower/freshly made breakfast/A-C....and even Chinese take out since we wanted to stay in. Recommend it highly!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estancia

Address: #35, Calle Amelia Denis de Icaza | Quarry Heights, Cerro Ancon, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Estancia. Nestled in the quiet hillside of Cerro Ancon with views to the Bridge of the Americas, we are close to the domestic airport, old town Casco Viejo, the Panama Canal, Amador Causeway, and only 10 minutes by taxi from the heart of Panama City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Estancia Panama City
La Estancia Hotel Panama City
La Estancia Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estancia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.