We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Hotel & Casino

Save Saved
You added Continental Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Espana and Ricardo Arias Street, Panama City 05890-823, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location & good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was in Panama for a week vacation. I reserved this hotel 2 months in advance on Orbitz for $78.00 day. I checked on Orbitz 2 weeks before my trip & price had increased to $108.00 so always book early. This hotel is right smack in middle of downtown with Habanos Cafe & Beirut Restaurant just one block away. There is also a Supermarket Rey to stock up on groceries only a couple blocks away. The hotel has a restaurant, bar, gym & a small swimming pool that I never saw anyone in. I did not have the breakfast buffet because I do not want to eat that much but did order the $7.00 fruit plate. I was just expecting waiter to fill plate with fruit from the buffet but they actually peeled all the papaya, pineapple, watermelon, etc fresh and best fruit I have had in awhile. The rooms are quite large with two double beds. The front desk was nice enough to give me the pool facing room, the street facing rooms can be noisy from all the taxis honking horns. The rooms were large & clean with flat screen TV & refrigerator, there is no microwave. The shower has a huge place size shower head which was really nice. The water does not get super hot so could not soak in a bath but hot enough for showers. All the staff is friendly of course. The BEST thing about this hotel is that the walls & floors are very thick...I did not hear the guests in the other rooms AT ALL! There is nothing worse than hearing the next room TV, talking, kids running, snoring, etc. This hotel is a regular hotel for business travelers from other countries such as Brazil , India, etc as I saw a lot of businessmen in suits & spoke to a few. One taxi driver told me this is considered one of the 5 star hotels along with the Marriott & Riande Luxury. I saw a placard on front desk showing room rates from $250.00 to $500.00. I asked are these normal rates & he said it is. You also get free WiFi (ask front desk for WiFi code) & there is business center with 8 free desktops with internet access. There is also hotel drivers but will cost you double what regular cab charges but the cars are new and air conditioned compared to the cabs. Overall a great place for the price I paid.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBBlake, Revenue & E-Commerce Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Continental Hotel & Casino for your trip in Panama. Your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the time you spent to make known your opinions. And also, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    98
    41
    22
    22
See reviews for
53
74
33
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent location excellent customer service but it stops there spent two nights at hotel ac in room did not blow cold and was very loud wifi worked 30 percent of time but kicked you off within 30 mins several outlets in room did not work
It is and outdoor lobby which is extremely hot reception area closed and ac
Elevator was broke several times in 2 days so 10 stories ran on 1 elevator which was slow

Panama residents love this hotel because of all of its history,

It needs to be updated

In defense of hotel I did not notify front desk of problems with room
There front desk personnel and workers in lobby were very friendly

I got a deal on this hotel 2 nights for under 180,
the price was much lower on line then walk in price.
They had a nice clean casino

Room Tip: If you book hotel and a light sleeper stay in a higher floor and opposite of street no view but quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBBlake, E-Commerce Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest: thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer you our hospitality and service. Your suggestions and opinions are very appreciated. Please forgive any inconvenience this may have caused to you on your stay. We appreciate the time you spent to make known your opinions.

Sincerely your,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Continental Hotel and Cassino in Panama City (September 2011). The room was big and clean, good amenities and great breakfast. The staff was very helpful. One very important thing: they don't offer free wi-fi. There are good and inexpensive restaurants nearby (I recommend Restaurant Beirut) for a good meal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBBlake, E-Commerce Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for choosing the Continental Hotel & Casino during your trip to Panama. Thanks for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to tell us your experience. Note that the hotel does offer free wi fi.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Some years ago I decided to stop staying at this property. However, I had to attend a meeting organized by other organization. The Continental was the meeting headquarters. I have to say I was surprised with some changes they have implemented. The rooms were renovated and look much better than before, more comfortable too. The meeting room where we worked was also rejuvenated. The service has improved a lot. The wifi worked very well. Unfortunately the food is still in desperate need of help, particularly the breakfast.

Room Tip: Higher floors to stay away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamanthaBBlake, E-Commerce Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest: thank you very much for taking the time to explain your experience during your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again at our hotel during your next travel.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is clean, has big rooms and excellent breakfast. On the other hand it does not offer free wi-fi, the queues checking in and out are terrible and there is a casino inside the hotel which I really dislike, but that's a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your opinión, it is very important to us. We are sorry that you left with mixed feelings, we hope to have a next opportunity, to fulfill your expectations.

Best regards,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel is not for the family minded or safe for couples with kids. They do not allow family visitors and this is an uncommunicated rule. I brought my wife home to Panama to visit and meet her family after many years in the USA and the hotel does not allow family visitors unless you sit in the lobby. They were disrespectful and rude to members of my wifes family. They also do not allow you to bring in a family member as a baby sitter unless you get them their own room. (another unknown and uncommunicated rule). Should you have a complaint do not expect management to speak with you as they were never available to voice your concerns with. I will never return to this hotel and absolutely do not recommend them especially if you have a family vacation in mind or little kids. The managers did not care about our kids safe concerns.

If you want to have a family vacation please do not choose this hotel. Our family did not get the customer service we were expecting. Managers are rude, they do not care about kids safety and they do not want you to even show your room to your family.

The place is located close to a prostitution area and it's not good for your family.

We are sad we choose this horrible hotel for our vacation. We then went to the beach rent a cabanna for $50.00 for 2 days and we have so much fun in this little cabanna surronded by a beatiful beach and very nice people who made our trip enjoyable. The city is horrible, the towns what they call "El Interior" is very nice. We recommended all family to go to Coronado, Santa Clara, but stay far away from the city and especially from this hotel with a horrible cust. services and management.

Sadly disappointed from the USA!!!

Room Tip: If you want to have a family vacation please do not choose this hotel. Our family did not get the cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are sorry for the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel.

We offer to you and family our sincere apologies and assure you, that your complaint has been taken very seriously. Your opinión is very importan to us.

Sincerely,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Continental Hotel and Casino in Panama City is an older hotel, but it is located adjacent the downtown business district. It is convenient to restaurants, shopping and night life. The rooms are nice sized, and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirna C, Guest Relations Manager at Continental Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Atkinson:

Thank you for your response, your opinión es very important to us.

We are glad that you find our hotel a Nice place.

Best regards,

Mirna Capel
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel & Casino

Address: Via Espana and Ricardo Arias Street, Panama City 05890-823, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#17 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Continental Hotel is strategically located in the heart of Panamas business and financial district, within the most privilege spot of Via España. This beautiful hotel is conveniently surrounded by important banks and headquarters of the major corporations in Latin America. We also include among our neighbors, fancy restaurants, designer boutiques, famous shopping centers, popular night clubs and glamorous lounges. Visitors can attend their business affairs or take shopping tours within only minutes from their room, while taking advantage of all the amenities of a comfortable and elegant hotel that is centrally located, offering easy access to a variety of landmarks and places of interest. Situated only 20 minutes from the international airport - by highway - and less than 30 minutes from the Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Continental Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel And Casino
Continental Hotel Panama City
Continental Riande Hotel
Hotel Continental Panama
Riande Continental Panama
Hotel Riande Panama
Continental Riande Panama City
Continental Hotel & Casino Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Hotel & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.