We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more from this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Panama to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Panama
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Manuel Espinoza Batista, Panama City 816-2007, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I expected more from this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I got an upgrade on my room. I was assigned a suite, so I was happy.

Good things: the hotel location is great. It's near every place I had to go. Hotel staff is very kind also.

What I didn't like: the room had a bad smell, even though I turned on the air conditioner, it didn't disappear. Also, the restaurant is good, but not excellent.

It doesn't have an executive floor like the one you can find in other Crowne Plaza hotels (or at least I wasn't told there was one).

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan P, Manager at Crowne Plaza Panama, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Google Translation
Por este medio deseamos saludarle en nombre de todo el personal del Crowne Plaza Panama

Nos complace su reconocimiento al servicio de excelencia que brinda nuestro personal y nos encanta que le agrade la ubicación del hotel.

Agradecemos sus comentarios acerca de nuestras habitaciones y restaurante, ya hemos pasado los mismos a los Gerentes involucrados para tomar acciones.

En cuanto a piso ejecutivo, efectivamente, como todos los Crowne Plaza tenemos uno. En el sexto piso, el cual puede reservar con mucho gusto, para su próxima visita.

Le agradecemos una vez mas sus valiosos comentarios y el tiempo que se ha tomado para los mismos

Esperamos verle muy pronto

Saludos Cordiales

Juan Peralta R
Gerente de A&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    75
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
38
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Ideal location for the business/leisure trip just completed. Even though this hotel has been around for a while, the spacious rooms have been updated with extremely comfortable beds, flat screen TVs with many cable channels. Within walking distance of many restaurants, casinos, shopping and a recently opened Metro subway station. The best part of the stay was the excellent staff throughout the hotel, both friendly and attentive to all needs. Menu choices in both restaurant and lounge are ample, but a little pricy and excellent buffets are offered throughout the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan P, Manager at Crowne Plaza Panama, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Wayne B.
Thanks for your valuable comments about our facilities and services
Hope to see you in a future visit ¡¡

Best Regards
Juan Peralta
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

just wrapped up a company event and was very pleased. Staff is by far the highlight of this property. Loved the lobby and as an IHG member you are treated like royalty. Great beds, TV's and internet in meeting room was (surprising for any hotel in the world) the best. Will be back soon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielos O, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Panama, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear global h
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. Your comments will be shared with our staff, they always feel proud at knowing about the excellent service they are providing to our guests and at recognizing our most valuable IHG Rewards Club members. We are pleased you liked our recently renovated Reception and lobby area, as well as our comfortable beds , TVs and that the internet was the best. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we do look forward to your future visit. We hope that, as you say, will be soon. Sincerely,
Marielos de Obaldia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

First impressions were poor. We arrived late at night for a 3 night stay to find the hotel in darkness. Even when the lights came on it was dingy and the dining room was always dark ad the bar also. We wondered if there was a problem with the electricity supply. Our room was spacious and had had some refurbishment but it felt bare and unwelcoming. Bathroom was fine but the rest of the hotel looked very tired and old fashioned, Like other reviewers we found the church bells starting at 5am a bit of a nuisance, but we felt that the location was poor with nothing interesting within reasonable walking distance and giving the impression that Panama City was generally down at heel which didn't prove to be the case. Breakfast was standard international quality with a little local influence and were told that the food in the evenings was poor. There are reasonable restaurants within walking distance so we went out in the evenings which felt quite safe. We didn't see anyone who looked as though they were there on business and despite its11 floors the hotel felt pretty empty.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan P, Manager at Crowne Plaza Panama, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest, it is a pleasure to greet you.
Indeed , we have had problems in the area of lighting restaurant, which have already been solved.

We are carrying out a plan of renovations and improvements to the building, which we hope will please all our guests , we find once completed .

Outside the hotel is building a station of the Panama´s Metro , so the wiring and lighting are temporarily affected in these area of the city.

We certainly have a varied breakfast , always trying to please the taste of our guests, our lunches are the most varied of the City (Monday Arabics , Tuesday Panamanians, Italians Wednesday, Thursday Tex Mex and Fridays Latinos Foods. We have special dinners to. Wednesday we have Thai Nights, Thursdays Indian Ethnic Food and Fridays we serve a Mongolian BBq in the restaurant
.
Additional we have both our bar retaurant and a menu with a wide variety of foods and beverages .

All this accompanied by a staff that meets the highest standards of quality in customer service and guest satisfaction .

We hope to have you visit our country again soon

Best Regards
Juan Peralta
Food and Beverage Manager
Crowne Plaza Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 weeks here when working in Panama City. The location suited me perfectly as everything is within walking distance yet the area is quieter than the sea front. Staff were great and as I had an end of corridor suite I enjoyed a large fridge and microwave. I would have like a kettle but I guess that is a European thing. On the downside my shower never got very warm and the A/C could be noisy. Breakfast was relatively basic too but good enough - I would have liked a few healthier options to be available.
When returning for my second visit I selected the Crowne Plaza again so I was obviously happy and the staff were always welcoming, professional and eager to help

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielos O, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Panama, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Emptynestdublin
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stays and that our staff provided an excellent service. We are taking corrective measures regarding the hot water and air conditioning, as well as providing healthier options for breakfast. Your feedback is most valuable to us and we thank you for that. We do look forward to welcoming again in a future visit to Panama.
Sincerely,
Marielos de Obaldia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for three nights as part of a business trip in Panama City.

I was staying in one of the biggest rooms which has its own kitchen and a small living room. The stay was quite good and the room was peaceful.

The only thing I didn't specially enjoy was the food at the restaurant, I found the menu a bit limited. However, Panama is plenty of good quality dining options.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielos O, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Panama, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear dbdk
Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at our hotel. We are really pleased to know that it was quite good since our main goal is our guests satisfaction. Your comments about a limited menu are also very important to us and they will be taken in consideration to add new options.
Thank you again for taking the time to write and we do look forward to welcoming you back in a future visit.
Sincerely,
Marielos de Obaldia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights last week. They gave us a room on the top floor- the 11th floor and our room was very modern and nicely decorated. My only complaint is that the hotel is right next to a church and the church rings its bells every hour, starting at 6am. Fortunately I brought ear plugs so I did not mind and usually we were waking up pretty early anyway. There were several restaurants within walking distance and we ventured out every evening for dinner. The hotel breakfast was also one of the best I've ever had. They give you a huge spread every single morning with local and American food options. They also have an omelet station! The service is great and all of the valet guys are very nice and helpful. The pool is pretty small but it is nice and there was rarely anyone out there, which I like. If you're a rewards member you also get free internet everyday. Oh and the only other negative about this hotel is the bar is terrible- they have a very limited selection and the only wine they have is very bad. But you can venture out to the wonderful bars an restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marielos O, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Panama, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear c597044
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay. We are sorry that the bells of the beautiful church in front of our hotel may have bother you in some way. At the same time we are really pleased to read your positive comments about the good service provided by our staff as well as your comments about the food. Your feedback about the bar is most valued to us so we can take corrective actions in those areas that may need improvement. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope you visit us again in the future.
Sincerely
Marielos de Obaldia
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Panama

Address: Ave Manuel Espinoza Batista, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Panama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you walk into the marble-floored lobby with grand columns and modern furnishings, you'll be greeted by the warm, welcoming staff of our Crowne Plaza(R) Panama hotel. And, if you're seeking hotels near the Panama Canal or near the banking area, we're just minutes from both destinations. Ideal for corporate travelers, our accommodations include a Business Center with personal computers and copy, print and fax capabilities. We have five banquet rooms, which can host parties of 200, and perks like Daily Meeting Debriefs by a dedicated Crowne Meetings Director, making us "The Place to Meet" in Panama City, Panama. When our hotel's guests choose to stay with us, they are only a few miles from first-class restaurants, nice casinos and great shopping. Pick up souvenirs from the Multiplaza Shopping Center and Albrook Mall, walk down to Casco Viejo, the historic sector of the city, or catch a performance at the National Theater. In addition, guests need travel only two miles from our hotel's location to reach the Panama Canal. After a long day of touring Panama City, Panama, our hotel's facilities can help you relax. Enjoy a traditional dish at our on-site restaurant, La Galeria, then grab a nightcap at the Memories Sports Bar & Lounge. With a Fitness Center, outdoor pool and the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage(R) Program, we have everything you need to stay comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Panama Hotel Panama City
Crowne Plaza Panama City
Panama City Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.