We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Z Hotel & Suites Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A Z Hotel & Suites Panama to your Saves list
A Z Hotel & Suites Panama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 49 A Oeste, El Cangrejo | Bella Vista, Panamá, Panama City, Panama (Formerly Las Huacas Hotel And Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Trinidad
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed in one of their suites with friends in March 2012.
first impressions weren't bad until we got to the room and discovered it was dirty. so dirty we had to ask for a broom to sweep it ourselves. in all fairness, management came quickly and did the needful.
despite this rocky start, I have to say that the rooms were relatively comfy - the layout of the sitting room was a bit strange with only 1 sofa which we all had to fit onto.
the hotel has a really good location, not noisy at all while being close to many different attractions: good casinos, good nightlife and shopping, lots of restaurants.
as a budget option - not bad

Room Tip: ask for a room in the newer section of the hotel - they're better, cleaner, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
18
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Valle de Anton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We travel often to Panama City and stay at this hotel. We like it very much so far . It has a privileged location close to banks, restaurants, offices, embassies and commercial areas. We have all we need at walking distance from the hotel. In spite of its central location, the street it is normally not a busy or noisy one especially at night.
The suites are well equiped, clean, and comfortable. They offer a pretty varied and good buffet breakfast. The staff is very friendly and always attend our requests promptly and politely. In brief, we recommend this hotel to those searching for a good hotel at a reasonable price in the best central location of Panama City.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We had a 2 bedrooms suite, in our 7 days stay we were moved from room to room for different reasons 5 times (including toilets overflow-water leakings in the main bedrromm, with beds and suitcases all wet, and A/C not working properly in the last 2 bedrooms)finally we were moved to the new building for the last 2 days, but we find that our mobile phone was stolen from the suitcase in the bedroom. The people that works in the hotel are excelent in their behaviour trying to help and assist in our nightmare stay there. If you want to get stressed is te place to choose.

Room Tip: Try the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here while on a visit to Panama City. We had 4 nights here. The hotel is located away from the coastline in the older part of town and very commercial areas.
There are many hotels around and busy streets too with tons of traffic at all times.
The hotel was small (a former apartment building) the room we had was a junior suite on the first floor the natural light was poor though. Below the room was the vehicle enterance and exit so it was noisy at times. The Air Conditioning was excellent and so was the king size bed - it needed to be as my wife had to rest a lot following some medical treatment. The sleep quality was very good indeed.

The breakfast was included in the price, the small sitting area was only able to hold 4 tables, but there was external seating and tables too. The waitress worked very hard all day and did her job well. The kitchen was located across the car park so all the items had to be carried back and forth all day a tough job. The food for breakfast changed everyday - I think to show the regional varities in Panama.
No problems at all with the choice available each day. But the coffee was not great and that seemed to be the case throughout our stay no matter where we went. The choices of tea were plenty and that suited me fine.

The lobby was being remodelled when we were there, so the recpetion staff used a small room beside the lift lobby - practical, functionable, nothing more.
Reception staff did their job well, I noticed all were young, but friendly.
I wish there was a proper lobby with seating to escape being in the room all the time (as my spose had to stay put). There also needs to be a better tourism approach you could not get a brochure or leaflet or street guide or map. But this point is relevant to all hotels, airport etc, which is very strange to not publicise the city and its attractions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We liked it very much. Nice spacious room (apartementos). Good breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to casinos and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I was there for a little over a week and truly enjoyed my stay,
I was looking for a comfortable room where to rest and close
to everything. The room was very pleasent, nice bathrooms,
all amenities. The attention was extremely professional, the breakfast
was very good. Maybe the elevator was a bit slow at times but I will
rate my stay at las Huacas a 9 over 10. Can't beat for the price.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Z Hotel & Suites Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Z Hotel & Suites Panama

Address: Calle 49 A Oeste, El Cangrejo | Bella Vista, Panamá, Panama City, Panama (Formerly Las Huacas Hotel And Suites)
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Z Hotel & Suites Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Banking Area, Panama City, Remodeled Rooms with kitchened and 40 standard rooms, swimming Pool. Breakfast incluided, Wi- Fi Internet, Parking lot, cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your A Z Hotel & Suites Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Huacas Hotel And Panama City
A Z Hotel & Suites Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Z Hotel & Suites Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.