We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long time...no see HOTEL PANAMA [=” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Panama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added El Panama Hotel to your Saves list
El Panama Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
hpt
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Long time...no see HOTEL PANAMA [=”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Ok, I was TDY to Howard back in the 90s and was put up here. THEN, this was THE PLACE 2 BE! FYI: I had an internship back in early 2000s and stayed here a day and with a local family for the duration of that visit. So moving on to summer 2012, I wanted to re-visit & see more of the region and NOT be required to work..(smile) I got a good rate for Hotel Panama and was excited. Albeit, it is ON a rather busy street and not close to the airport..for memories alone, it was worth it. MANY upgrades in the lobby, pool, and even the rooms have been taken. With many <totally> newer hotels nearby, HP manages to hold its own. I had a few cocktails too many (most evenings) and only made it to breakfast once. It was the normal eggs, juice, fruit.

The pool area had a really nice SWIM-UP bar in its hayday, and it still is a nice retreat, its open and airy and you can see persons in the lounge/dinner area. I found the living space still CLEAN, roomy, and comfy. Having called Hotel Panama home for 3months before....as I retired for the evening, as I heard some of the taxi horns, and looked out my window to see city sights...it took me back to days of old. The only real downside, was the reliability of the internet. If you need/want wireless, it was hard to connect..so we had to use ethernet the majority of the time.
I like a higher level room in most hotels, but here in HP, I will request a cabana on the ground floor to FULLY enjoy the breeze, pool, and ambiance. Also, they have a casino hall now attached. If you are up to it, stroll down the street to the waterway, which is a short walk 10-15min....you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at El Panama Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your warm comments and recognition of our efforts to always try to provide best comfort during your visit to our hotel.
We remain continuously innovating our facilities and services to maximize each of your requirements, please feel free to contact us to make your next reservation in the area of the cabins, and with a renewed internet, it's a fact an upgrade to our internet for the month of November.

Thanking your preference
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    199
    136
    58
    40
See reviews for
125
153
44
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a very nice stay at El Panama. The staff was attentive (even with our limited Spanish speaking). The location was a bit intimidating for walking to and actually finding restaurants with the traffic and unmarked streets. But, we found it worked to take a taxi for $2 week night / $6 weekend night and then walk home (the hotel and nearby hotels were easily visible after dark). The bed was very comfortable, A/C was cold, shower was hot. On week nights, our floor (5) had a happy hour type thing with snacks and drinks. Ethernet cable was available with pretty fast internet, for free. Also, we had free wifi, which worked for our first stay (4 nights), but we never got to work on our second stay (2 nights). A cab driver charged $40 for the round trip to Miraflores Locks-while he waited for us 3-4 hours. It was advertised that you can get a free ride to the Locks with a dinner reservation at the restaurant there, which may be worth it if you want to eat and relax and watch the big ships in the afternoon. Location was close to the Ray super market, 2 laundry mats, restaurants, fast food, bars. Would stay again, but maybe see if we could get the pool side. On our second stint, the city was doing overnight work to build the new subway and from the "garden" side, you could hear the machines at night.

Room Tip: Pool does not seem that loud (during the off season). With the new subway construction (completion 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at El Panama Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We wish to thank deeply you chosen us, and give us the opportunity to offer our sincere desire to serve you.
Moved for your dedicated message, we celebrate that you have been able to assess our efforts to please you.
It is our mission to create the best environment and make a difference experience while you stay in our hotel.
We consider are very important feedback, thanks again and on your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,
Hotel El Panamá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks on business. Large complex in the middle of Panama City's busy downtown banking district - near only a handful of mid-range (or any) restaurants and approx 20 mins walk across hazardous roads to the sea. A shame because the water front is a lot more appealing. Guest rooms are generally huge and quite clean. Renovations to the street meant construction sounds right next to my room throughout the entire night. Although the hotel was helpful to my colleagues who arrived before me and arranged different rooms for them, I couldn't move because the hotel was fully booked. I had bad jet lag (worst ever) so the noise effected me more than it usually would. Electronic room keys did not work regularly and while this is a small thing, after two weeks of long meetings/sessions, this small irritation became quite grating. But on balance, clean, functional, with staff who do try to help. Large buffet brekkie selection with lots of fresh fruit and breads, and consistent hot options. And surprisingly good sushi at the hotel lobby bar/restaurant and well priced and tasty pulpo at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Def try to get a pool cabana. They are smaller but this feels much cosier than the regular rooms. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at El Panama Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Kindest regards from team of collaborators with the best disposition to provide you assistance on your next stay at our facility.
We are very pleased to you have comments about the progress of our country, with a vision to provide better deployment in terms of comfort and modernism in transportation for citizens and visitors to our country.
We welcome your recommendations of the comfort experienced in our facilities, food and beverage service, as well as our staff service.

Please, if you decide visit Panama City again, please contact us, we will be waiting.
Regards,
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here after cancelation of my flight by Copa Airline (Panamanian national company).
One night firstfloor. The arrival was great, reception design comparable to the best 5* Was given room 123, old wooden door and then ...

PRO: large room, clean hotel, fair level of service, nice breakfast and lunch (buffet style), no noise from the city.
CONS: old style room, clear deception compared to the lobby. Area around the hotel not so nice. In front of the Veneto Casino -> not very romantic ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at El Panama Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest
Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama and thanks for so many grateful comments. It is comforting to know that our efforts have been successful in pleasing in your last visit to Panama City. We inform you that we are doing renovations on stage which are consistent with our lobby. It is our commitment to create the best environment and comfort for each one of our visitors, so if you have the opportunity to return to Panama, please do not be hesitate to contact us.
Best Regards,
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at El Panama a few times while on business in Panama City and was generally always happy with my experience. I always book one of the "cabanas" surrounding the exterior pool as they have a very nice feel to them. 2 queen beds, sitting area, workspace and a private sitting area outside. Buffet breakfast is included ans service is generally very good. There is a nice casino, part of the Fiesta chain, in the hotel as well as a few shops. Lobby was recently updated and is a very nice to sit al fresco and take advantage of a rare breeze in the city! Food is generally good, especially at the outside steakhouse that offers sort of a "ranchito" feel. Steaks are quite good (imported cuts). All in all, one of the best options for lodging in Panama City.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a cabana/bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Guest Relations Manager at El Panama Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:
Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.
We would like to thank you for chosen us, and take a time to write about your experiences with our facilities trough these pages with greatest references.
We look forward to host you again in Hotel El Panama. Please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will ensure that your next trip is as memorable as your previous one.
We thank you for your preference.

Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent 8 days at the El Panama Hotel in early July, which was the site of an annual meeting I was attending. The location of El Panama leaves a lot to be desired as it is stuck in the middle of noisy, downtown Panama City and getting to and from the hotel in a taxi takes way too long in the traffic that snarls this area. This hotel has seen better days - my room was one of the better ones compared to my friends who were stuck in much worse rooms. My room smelled moldy and old - but at least it was relatively quiet. I was locked out of my room 3 times in 8 days and my toilet and sink stopped working on 2 different days. At least the breakfast was decent and the pool was lovely.

Room Tip: Request a poolside cabana room for best view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Front Office Manager at El Panama Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama, Casino and Convention Center.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews and wish to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.
It our mission to verify every detail of our quality and customer service; therefore, your comments and opinion are very important as they will ultimately help us identify opportunities for ours and our staff improvement.
We have taken a serious view of each of the areas you made comments or suggestions about and are working hard in ensuring that all our services meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.
In your next visit to Panama, please allow us to host you again. We will work very hard to change your perception of our services by offering our disposition to serve you in a manner you will not soon forget.
We thank you for your understanding and remain at your disposal for any further queries.

Regards
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were recently in Panama and among other things celebrating my father in law's 80th birthday which took place at Hotel El Panama, and the service we received was great, Dayanis Hermoso in banquetes, Jennifer Kernahan who got us a good deal with the rooms, Milagros and her staff the night of the party, THANK YOU ALL, muchas GRACIAS. Rooms were clean, no noise, great food at the party and in the morning for breakfast. Definitely conseder staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTY1111, Front Office Manager at El Panama Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest

Please accept our warm greetings on behalf of the Management and staff of Hotel El Panama.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments and reviews about our hotel, the development of our beloved country and our vision to offer comfortable and modern transportation to our citizens and visitors alike.

We also appreciate your comments and recommendations regarding our facilities, services offered, our dining experience as well as the evaluation of our staff performance.
We look forward to host you again in Hotel El Panama. Please do not hesitate in contacting us and we will ensure that your next trip is as memorable as your previous one.

We thank you for your preference.
Hotel El Panama
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Panama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Panama Hotel

Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#18 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#29 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Panama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your El Panama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama
El Panama Hotel Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Panama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.