We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“might be nice... once the construction ends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Panama Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Panama Hotel to your Saves list
El Panama Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Windermere, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“might be nice... once the construction ends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

i stayed at the hotel el panamá for four nights while attending a work conference. overall, the hotel was ok - nothing too special but not too bad either.

my room was right off the pool. had the pool been open and the room "refreshed" this would have been a great option since it is very convenient to the many building and the room was very large. however, the construction noise was pretty loud, the room had not been remodeled yet to match those in the main building. the shower looked pretty gross (i wore flip flops) but the water pressure and temperature were excellent. i did appreciate that the room had two entrances - near the pool or via a dark, poorly-lit hallway on the other side. wifi was incredibly slow from my room, if it even worked at all. i wound up having to stand outside the balcony in order to get a signal most nights.

similarly, the food was ok but nothing special. since we mostly had buffet, nothing seemed to be freshly prepared - fried foods were getting chewy, for example. however, the ceviche was quite nice and drinks were strong!

customer service was ok - definitely not the worst i've encountered in latin america but definitely not near the front of the pack either.

the hotel is located in the cangrejo area, which is home to nice restaurants and shopping. although in the immediate vicinity, things looked pretty run-down (exotic dancing club, no fancy restaurants, etc.). there is a nice grocery store about a 5 minute walk (max) from the hotel and it turns out that one of panama's most famous and extensive mola stores is located on property. given that was the one place i wanted to visit (for shopping) while in panama, i was very pleasantly surprised when i noticed it upon arrival! it took about 5-10 minutes to get to and from casco viejo via taxi.

if i come back to panama city in the near future, i'll definitely will be looking for other hotel options but this may turn out to be a viable choice once the construction ends.

Room Tip: away from the construction is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    177
    126
    53
    39
See reviews for
110
142
41
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We liked the updated 60s-Vegas ambience, the pool, and pool-side restaurant. Originally they gave us a handicap room but they were happy to switch us to a large normal one.
The mola store across from the entrance has an amazing selection and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Okay, the truth is the pool is the best thing about this property. Its a beautiful area. The room smelled terrible, like dirty towels. The bed was uncomfortable and the service, in general, is way below average for the price they pay. The whole expereince is about nickle and diming you. I asked for some water when I was checking-in, after a long flight, also when I was leaving, they actually charged it to my room. I spent so much money there that I told them how sad it was that charging me for a bottled water was more important to them than my well-being. The food was okay, gets cold fast. The service during breakfast was poor, the front desk staff was way poor, service around is very robotic, doing it to do it. Clearly there is a lack of empowerment for fear of losing their job. I hate when its so obvious. I expected so much more, for the price. I work in the hotel industry and let me tell you this was a shocker because it was referred by another hotel company as the best. I'd hate to see the worst.

Room Tip: I was later told that the cabanas are the worst, so don't pick those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed at the El Panama hotel two nights, October 14 - 16, 2011. Made the reservation through Hotels.com for a King room upgrade that included breakfast. I lost the receipt, but I believe with tax, the total was $540 for two nights. The pluses and minuses include:

1. Good sized clean room with a nice shower, plenty of towels, a house coat to wear in the evening, wii-fi included, reasonable view, and they upgraded me for nothing simply by asking.

2. The location of the El Panama was good for me, because I had business to do downtown. It is near Balboa Avenue and easy to get to from the airport. Vale parking was Free!!! imagine that. Anyway, the value's seemed to be happy with a $2 tip each time I picked up the car.

3. The breakfast came with the room on the 5th floor (my room was on the 6th floor). It was a buffet with eggs, french toast, bacon, fruit, orange juice, bread, and coffee. They heated the milk to go with the milk. The buffet was average.

4. The hotel has a casino, which seems to be fair.

5. They gave two free drinks with the room, though the drinks are restricted to rum and coke, and a rum and fruit drink.

6. The pool is nice, but the restaurant over looks the pool. not real private. The gym is located by the pool and not easy to get to when you are on the 6th floor and you have to walk through the lobby and restaurant to get to it.

7. They have an amazing disco. Wonderful music, dancing, etc. There is a $6 charge per person, but it was worth it and it keeps an overwhelming number of people from crowding it. The light show within was outstanding. The only down side was I went to bed at 1 a.m. and couldn't sleep because the disco was still going and it was loud.

The staff was friendly, helpful, and generally timely. They give airline points, so you might remember to tell them your frequent flier number.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the disco so you can get quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George Island, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

After a rough start of not getting into a room for 2 hours, when I finally did, the room was wonderful. The hotel has been remodeled and is more upscale and modern. You can tell they are still remodeling the rooms and expanding floors to suit the business traveler. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone. The restaurant is very nice, room service was excellent, mini bar well equiped, plenty of amenities in the bathroom, and the bed was quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the executive floors (5 and 6), a little more expensive, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was in Panama City for work and was booked into this hotel. It was recommended as I am running a marathon in 6 weeks and needed a treadmill.

The front entrance and lobby are newly renovated and very slick. The rooms were also done with new furniture.

The pool area was a 'wow' as I felt like I was on vacation instead of in the center of a city. A suggestion for the pool area would be to add a 'dirty towel' drop container as there was none - so most guests left there towels on chairs so you had no idea what chairs were free or not.

The fitness area was a negative as it is very old and worn. The treadmill that I booked for was out of order for my 4 day stay. I asked a lifeguard about it and he said that it had been broken for a few weeks; but a new one was coming. Unfortunately, this did not help me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Hotel is quite good. I got a junior suite, big, with views to the swimming pool. The room was ok, big flat TV, confortable bed, etc. The cleaning of the room was not good though, in particular the bathroom, that has hair everywhere and was never properly washed.
Staff are very polite but not effective at all.
Breakfast is on a buffet that is average. Staff in the restaurant avoid eye contact not to be bother. However, in the barbacue restaurant next to the swimming pool staff are extremely nice.
The hotel is located downtown, but there is not really nothing worth around, with the exception of a church.
The gym is really outdated. Gardens are very nice and well enterteined.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Panama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Panama Hotel

Address: Via Espana 111, Panama City 1753, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#16 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#27 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Panama Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the El Panama, where our luxury hotel in the cosmopolitan city of Panama provides a sublime ambiance of distinction, comfort, and Latin flair. Our location in the heart of downtown puts business travelers right where they need to be, while our comprehensive facilities and high standards of service mean that leisure time is also well spent.Our variety of luxurious accommodations in Panama City provide just the right environment you seek, from spacious guest rooms to suites, Pool Cabanas, and Deluxe Floors which include a complimentary Continental breakfast served daily, high-speed wireless Internet access, and butler service to attend to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Panama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Panama City Hotel
El Hotel Panama City
Hotel El Panama
El Panama Hotel Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Panama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.