We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan National Park

Metropolitan National Park
Panama City, Panama
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Metropolitan National Park like an insider
$192*
and up
Ranked #27 of 131 things to do in Panama City
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This 265-hectare national treasure is located within Panama City’s Ancon district, and is the only protected area in Central America located within city boundaries. Standing along the Panama Canal’s eastern shore, it’s home to dozens of species of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and trees. With lookout points, four well-marked trails, a scenic road and a Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute canopy crane structure, guests can explore on their own. The Park also offers guided tours to groups for a fee (five-person minimum) if booked well in advance.
Panama City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Visit Metropolitan National park in center of the big City - Panama City , Panama. Lovely walk, you can enjoy large old trees, buterflies and more!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    108
    36
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port au Prince
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rainforest in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I truly enjoyed my trip to the Metropoloitan Park. I went early in the morning to see the animals. I saw lots of birds and butterflies, turtles, a monkey, coati's and some kind of big rodent.

It's an easy hike, even if you takke the longer more advanced trails to the outlook point from which you can see the city. The trees are also pretty amazing.

It's amazing to be in a rainforest that is soo full of life and so close to the city.

Bring soome water and snacks with you, some good walking shoes and enjoy

Best time to see the animals is early in the morning. Park opens at 6AM.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice break from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I never made it to soberina, the task to get there seem daunting so I went to this park three times instead. I learned to pay the taxi $2.00 fare for one person and I always tipped an extra 50 cents. Drivers tried to charge more than double the rate when I asked for the rate upfront. Don't ask the taxi rate ever! Just pay when you get out.

I hiked all the loops and saw monkeys once, a toucan once, an aligator once in the turtle pond, a bunch of neat lizards each time and leaf cutter ants everytime.

The interpetive signs are all about byrophytes (moss) and included microscopic pictures of moss and liverwort leaf cells. The signs were amazing for a bryologist to see but the bryophytes themselves were a bit of a let down as they were very small.

The loop that is across the road did not feel as safe to me since there was not gaurd there and there were roads on both sides. I'm a gringo female and I hiked alone. The walked to the look out on the main trail was nice with many interesting plants and animals and it felt safe to keep my very expensive camera out in the open at all times.

The cost to get in was $2.00, the bottled water was $1.00. They had maps of the city in there and I wish I had seen them before the end of my trip because we had trouble locating a road map for Panama.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Explore a rainforest, 5 minutes from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

On a hot day, we left the aircon of the mall to explore the park. It was the best couple of dollars we spent on holiday. There were very few people there so we were able to explore the well kept tracks that weaved through the jungle. We spent at least 3 hours here watching for the wildlife and enjoying the views. We saw some pretty cool things, from big lizards to butterflies. We didn't spot the monkeys, but other than that it was a great place to escape.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's an amazing rainforest considering it's location. Take a ten minute taxi from the middle of the city, and walk for 5 minutes and you are in the middle of the forest. Two dollars entry, and 2.5 hours to walk the entire trail.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metropolitan National Park also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Metropolitan National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolitan National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.