We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Executive Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Executive Hotel to your Saves list
The Executive Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52nd & Aquilino de la Guardia Street | Panama Zone 5, Panama City 081601609, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
GLENWOOD
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A pretty good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff is very friendly, which is not always the case in Panama. The rooms are clean and uninspiring. The location is great and very close to all the banks and many of the good restaurants. The café in the hotel is quite good and average, if you get my meaning. Most of the walls and hallways are white to the point of boring. I may sound a little negative, but I would stay here again, there's nothing negative but there's nothing exceptional either. It's a clean and safe room in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
8
23
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have traveled to Panama City several times over the years and love this place. Great location reasonable price. It looks like it has not been updated since the 80s but that is ok. When traveling to Panama you are there to see the sights not sit at the hotel. Easy to get to and plenty of places to get to in walking distance. I will be booking here again when I go back in Nov. I could pay alot more for a hotel but I choose not to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasTHE, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Customer. Thank you for choosing The Executive Hotel and for sharing your opinion about our location, relation quality-price, and customer service. We hope your visit again in November. For us, it´s a pleasure to serve . Until then, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stay only if you are looking to save money...otherwise you will be better off somewhere else. The truth is it is a practical hotel, more or less clean, wireless internet works and there is a bed...but if you are used to staying at three or more stars hotels this is not it.

Staff is OK, night time fella could very well be working at the reception of a jail or police station...building was probably built in the fifties and I bet it still has the original carpet and furniture.

They told me they have "the best breakfast"...but it consisted of some fruit and ham/watery scrambled eggs...same you would expect from a side of the road chain hotel in the US...

Room Tip: If you need to stay in the area try the nearby Hilton Double Tree or Marriot ( a block away each)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pageland, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I rented the room for 1 night, Then to grocery store & get the cash to came back to pay for the next night.. The night Manager argued with us about the Lady at the front desk was new & didn't charge us the correct rate. The rate will go up over $30.00 because I didn't pay for the 2 nights at check in. Same day with groceries, To leave at 10 AM I was not giving them anymore of my money when they lied & Argued to my face. It was a Nice room.. Clean.. No Bathroom Exhaust fan in room 106..

Room Tip: Room 106 does not have bathroom exhaust.. Top floor gives you a better look over the Go Karts, Arcad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I wished I could give this hotel a better review, but the shortcomings are just too many. On the positive side, it is well located, clean, good sized flat screen TV and definitely good enough for the spartan mindset. It is not a bad value choice compared to the neighboring alternatives. But the placed is badly needing updating. Furniture is really old and basic. The whole place better reminds a hospital than a hotel. The door had some visible gaps that allowed hallway noise to seep in. I could hear the next door guests talking and laughing. They were not being loud; the walls were just that thin. There is a shy attempt at an in-room coffee maker that raises serious doubts about its reliability and integrity. There is no decoration or a dab of color in the room. Just a stern, sterile and underfurnished room. I am as value conscious as they come, but I just can't recommend this hotel when I would not stay here myself again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Executive Hotel for six days while visiting Panama City on vacation. The room was small but clean and everything worked although the air conditioning unit was a little on the noisy side. The hotel is located in the banking district of the city and is with walking distance of several nice restaurants. The hotel has a good restaurant on the property that has a very good buffet breakfast each morning. The service is prompt and very efficient and friendly. It has WiFi, big screen TVs, and exercise area and pool. It's located in a safe part of the city. One tip is to never get a taxi at the front of the hotel because it seems that the taxi drivers charge more than if you hail a taxi at the corner. Most employees speak some English but they appreciate it if greeted in Spanish. Un monmento por favor, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

On Sunday we enjoy brunch at different restaurants and or hotel restaurants.
A recent brunch at the Executive hotel was one of the best! In a pleasant atmosphere,
it appeared there were many Panamanian families dining. We did not have the
breakfast buffet but rather ordered from the menu. I had the Heuvos a la Ranchero.
WOW - the best eggs I have had - 2 sunny-side up eggs smothered in salsa which
had a nice heat level (not too hot or too tame) It looked like there was a layer of
refritos under the eggs, and the breakfast came with 2 hash brown potato patties
and 2 pieces of toast. A freind had the French Toast - look out, these are 4 thick
pieces and looked delicious. He took 2 home for dessert - imagine with Nutella and
ice cream. Looking forward to returning for another wonderful brunch with the
Executive hotel and their wonderful ,attentive staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Executive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Hotel

Address: 52nd & Aquilino de la Guardia Street | Panama Zone 5, Panama City 081601609, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Executive Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the downtown financial district of Panama City , Panama, The Executive Hotel has been the only choice among discerning international business and holiday travelers for over 45 years. While our tradition of award-winning service has set The Executive as the city's most privileged address, it is our warm, personalized hospitality that brings our guests back to us again and again. Whether you're arriving for the first time or the fiftieth, you will be welcomed as family. Each of the 102 beautifully appointed rooms and suites at The Executive Hotel Panama City blends contemporary design and decor with fully modernized comfort. Whether you're visiting Panama City for business, a family vacation or a weekend getaway, our accommodation has been designed to be an exceptionally tranquil and relaxing retreat. On your next visit to Panama City, discover the timeless style and refined service of The Executive Hotel.We look forward to having you as our guest. Spacious floor plans feature plush bedding, hypoallergenic pillows and deluxe linens. Modern amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, fully equipped desk space, 42" flat screen LCD televisions, mini refrigerators with bottled water, . All rooms offer a private balcony with soundproofed double-paned doors. The Executive Hotel boutique, allows guests to enjoy a productive stay while staying with us. Guests also have access to facilities like Gym, Lobby Bar Gallery and American-style Restaurant. Facilities for meetings and events, The Executive Hotel offers everything customers need for productive travel in Panama City, Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Executive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Panama City
The Executive Hotel Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Executive Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.