We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Executive Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Executive Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Executive Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52nd & Aquilino de la Guardia Street | Panama Zone 5, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 105 hotels in Panama City
GLENWOOD
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A pretty good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff is very friendly, which is not always the case in Panama. The rooms are clean and uninspiring. The location is great and very close to all the banks and many of the good restaurants. The café in the hotel is quite good and average, if you get my meaning. Most of the walls and hallways are white to the point of boring. I may sound a little negative, but I would stay here again, there's nothing negative but there's nothing exceptional either. It's a clean and safe room in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
5
22
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have traveled to Panama City several times over the years and love this place. Great location reasonable price. It looks like it has not been updated since the 80s but that is ok. When traveling to Panama you are there to see the sights not sit at the hotel. Easy to get to and plenty of places to get to in walking distance. I will be booking here again when I go back in Nov. I could pay alot more for a hotel but I choose not to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasTHE, Public Relations Manager at The Executive Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Customer. Thank you for choosing The Executive Hotel and for sharing your opinion about our location, relation quality-price, and customer service. We hope your visit again in November. For us, it´s a pleasure to serve . Until then, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stay only if you are looking to save money...otherwise you will be better off somewhere else. The truth is it is a practical hotel, more or less clean, wireless internet works and there is a bed...but if you are used to staying at three or more stars hotels this is not it.

Staff is OK, night time fella could very well be working at the reception of a jail or police station...building was probably built in the fifties and I bet it still has the original carpet and furniture.

They told me they have "the best breakfast"...but it consisted of some fruit and ham/watery scrambled eggs...same you would expect from a side of the road chain hotel in the US...

Room Tip: If you need to stay in the area try the nearby Hilton Double Tree or Marriot ( a block away each)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pageland, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I rented the room for 1 night, Then to grocery store & get the cash to came back to pay for the next night.. The night Manager argued with us about the Lady at the front desk was new & didn't charge us the correct rate. The rate will go up over $30.00 because I didn't pay for the 2 nights at check in. Same day with groceries, To leave at 10 AM I was not giving them anymore of my money when they lied & Argued to my face. It was a Nice room.. Clean.. No Bathroom Exhaust fan in room 106..

Room Tip: Room 106 does not have bathroom exhaust.. Top floor gives you a better look over the Go Karts, Arcad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I wished I could give this hotel a better review, but the shortcomings are just too many. On the positive side, it is well located, clean, good sized flat screen TV and definitely good enough for the spartan mindset. It is not a bad value choice compared to the neighboring alternatives. But the placed is badly needing updating. Furniture is really old and basic. The whole place better reminds a hospital than a hotel. The door had some visible gaps that allowed hallway noise to seep in. I could hear the next door guests talking and laughing. They were not being loud; the walls were just that thin. There is a shy attempt at an in-room coffee maker that raises serious doubts about its reliability and integrity. There is no decoration or a dab of color in the room. Just a stern, sterile and underfurnished room. I am as value conscious as they come, but I just can't recommend this hotel when I would not stay here myself again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Executive Hotel for six days while visiting Panama City on vacation. The room was small but clean and everything worked although the air conditioning unit was a little on the noisy side. The hotel is located in the banking district of the city and is with walking distance of several nice restaurants. The hotel has a good restaurant on the property that has a very good buffet breakfast each morning. The service is prompt and very efficient and friendly. It has WiFi, big screen TVs, and exercise area and pool. It's located in a safe part of the city. One tip is to never get a taxi at the front of the hotel because it seems that the taxi drivers charge more than if you hail a taxi at the corner. Most employees speak some English but they appreciate it if greeted in Spanish. Un monmento por favor, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

On Sunday we enjoy brunch at different restaurants and or hotel restaurants.
A recent brunch at the Executive hotel was one of the best! In a pleasant atmosphere,
it appeared there were many Panamanian families dining. We did not have the
breakfast buffet but rather ordered from the menu. I had the Heuvos a la Ranchero.
WOW - the best eggs I have had - 2 sunny-side up eggs smothered in salsa which
had a nice heat level (not too hot or too tame) It looked like there was a layer of
refritos under the eggs, and the breakfast came with 2 hash brown potato patties
and 2 pieces of toast. A freind had the French Toast - look out, these are 4 thick
pieces and looked delicious. He took 2 home for dessert - imagine with Nutella and
ice cream. Looking forward to returning for another wonderful brunch with the
Executive hotel and their wonderful ,attentive staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Executive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Executive Hotel

Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Panama City
The Executive Hotel Panama/Panama City
Address: 52nd & Aquilino de la Guardia Street | Panama Zone 5, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Executive Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the downtown financial district, The Executive Hotel offers well-appointed Panama City boutique hotel accommodations for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a location within walking distance from the city’s best dining, shopping, and nightlife. By building on over 40 years of experience The Executive Hotel in Panama City Panama has developed a reputation for quality and service, recently being named one of the “Top 100 Hotels for Business” by Latin Finance Magazine.Featuring 96 comfortable and business-friendly guestrooms, our Panama City boutique hotel allows guests to spread out and be productive during their stay with us. Enjoy convenient in-room amenities such as a fully-equipped work station, coffeemaker, complimentary Internet access, and more. Guests also have access to onsite amenities such as a fitness center, pool, La Galeria lobby bar, and an American-style coffee shop. With facilities for meetings and events, The Executive Hotel Panama offers everything guests need to productive travel to Panama City, Panama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Executive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Executive Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.