We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Panama City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Panama City to your Saves list
Sheraton Panama City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Israel y Calle 77 | San Francisco, Panama City 0819-05896, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed at the Sheraton for 3 days and then went to Boca Del Toro and came back for one more night at the Sheraton before leaving for home. I loved staying at the Sheraton! I went with my best friend and we thought the staff, room, food, decor and recommendations from staff to be excellent. Bed and pillows felt so good also. Not far from other attractions either. We walked to Jimmy's, Inca and a Chinese restaurant for dinner. All were great. We took cabs to the outlet mall, casino, and partying. Everything was within 10-15 mins distance. We could tell this was a location used for dignitaries, airline staff, executive meetings, and special events by the people we met and saw coming through. It was great. There is construction going on next door to the facility (new building being constructed) but the sound was muted and didn't disturb my reading time. Definitely a four star hotel and I plan on going back and staying there. Things we liked:

1. Room service looked and tasted great.
2. Restaurant had variety of food. Pineapple tasted heavenly. Buffet was good too.
3. Concierge had great recommendations about restaurants and party spots.
4. Room was nice size with nice decor.
5. Massage service was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Panama City, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
October 22, 2011

Dear Tallgirl77: Thank you so much to tak e the time to share with us, your experience and recommendations about our hotel. We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed the quality of our Restaurants and service. Again , thank you for your opinion, and we hope to seeing you during your next visit.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    140
    54
    23
    20
See reviews for
58
55
33
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

The hotel is an older building in Panama City near the Convention Center. The day we arrived we were given a room on the 11th floor. as you got off the elevator the smell of wet ropes was too strong to bare. We asked for a different room and eventually were given one a floor below. The bellmen were not to be seen to get help moving the suitcases. The following day we were expecting friends to come and watch the South Africa final cup. They were told that there was no room for them. We all left to watch it elsewhere. I couldn't believe it. When I approached the restaurant and front desk, they had no knowledge of telling my husband nor friends that there was no room. The staff work for a salary and have no incentive to be neither courteous or hospitable. They will have you wait at the restaurant for an hour before they give you a glass of water. If you are looking to be on vacation this is not the place. The WIFI doesn't always work, the service is awful and the food isn't great either. The only thing that saves this place is their gym/spa which have a staff that could teach the rest on some friendliness. On the very last day of our stay, the F&B manager sent us a bottle of wine and cheese in an attempt of apology. I believe that their prices are competitive with other hotels which are more centrally located and you will have access to other restaurants for a variety of choice. The taxi prices drop and the service is far more appropriate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Panama City, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
October 22, 2011

Dear SDOV99: Thank so much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. We are sorry about all the inconvenience that you had during your stay with us. Your feedback and recommendations are very important for our team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in order to have the opportunity to offer our service and hospitality.

Regards,
Fernando Cardoso
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

First, I don't know when the last reviewer stayed at the hotel, but as of July 2010, there was no (noticeable) construction on the executive floors.

The hotel is fine, not great. The location isn't ideal if you're a tourist, but fine for business travelers. For tourists, the Intercontinental or Meridian are likely better choices for views, location, etc.

My biggest problem with the property are the concierges and the on-site rental car company. The concierges were just not experiences or qualified to hold that post - and their English skills (at least the three I tried) was sub par. One was so disinterested in helping me (because I was interrupting his internet browsing session) that I talked to the GM.

I ended up working with the bell staff and front desk, all of whom were much more helpful. Tip the bellmen a few bucks and they'll be your resource during the stay - they seem to know the city much more than the concierge does.

The executive floor was fine, above average. Nice breakfast, decent evening amenities and bar. The staff in that lounge is also helpful, and another good alternative to the concierge.

The Budget counter was the worst. Arranged a car for Sunday - and although the counter was to be closed, the staff member scheduled it to be delivered. It arrived three hours late. The "24 hour reservation line" was unattended on Sundays, so we called the airport location and found someone we thought would help us. After being told 3 different times that the car would be there "in 20 minutes", we were told it wouldn't be coming (I don't work at that location, it's not my responsibility!), then it would be coming, but not the car we wanted, then finally, one last "we found a car and it will be there in 5 minutes". 30 minutes later, it arrived, and we were on our way. The hotel staff said they have problems with Budget all the time and suggest customers use another company. Wish I would have asked them first - they are absolutely right - avoid Budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Stay away until the construction is complete...the "executive" floors are the worst. They should inform guests that they will be in a work zone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stayed here for a conference. Overall pretty good. Had a great time at the lobby bar, pool bar and there was some entertainment on certain nights in the lobby. Its a busy hotel, lots of folks coming and going

Rooms: Updated, clean and comfortable, there was some construction at the hotel, so sorta loud throughout the day. I felt I paid too much for internet, all hotels everywhere should just give it away for free.

Conference facilities: Adequate and seamless with no major issues. Better vaiety needed with the coffee breaks, though,.

Food:
Breakfast was pretty good. All the usual stuff with some Panamanian stuff throw in everyonce in a while. The waitstaff was hit or miss,on some mornings it took forever to get coffee.

Lunch: Heard the buffet was really good, I had an ala carte item that was inexpensive and tasty.

Dinner: Buffet was nice, but pricey for Panamanian standards. There's some nice restaurants within walking distance.

Gym: Contained all the necessary gear to get buff, plus sauna and steam room.

Transportation: Dont waste your $ on the hotel cabs, the yellow city taxis are way cheaper, just make sure you ask the price before you choose one.

Casino: There's a mid-size casino with all the games to gamble your life savings away.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

I loved this hotel! Enormous room and beds, excelent breakfast (although you have to pay for it), meals during lunch & dinner are excelent, the swimming pool is superb (and the sun was awesome!). For me the only "not so good" part is the location, because the hotel is not very close to the city centre, and, you know, taxis is Panama are very, very strange, as they work like mini buses, with MORE THAN ONE PASSENGER!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The hotel staff were very professional. Our Spanish was limited and the staff was exceptional in assisting us. The room was comfortable and clean. Transportation was accessible by taxi..reasonably priced.
There is an excellent bakery on site that offers sandwiches and great coffee.
Would definitely stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Panama City

Address: Via Israel y Calle 77 | San Francisco, Panama City 0819-05896, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#15 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#27 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Panama City 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Panama Hotel & Convention Center is a deluxe five-star hotel perfectly situated in the heart of Panama City’s business and financial district. Enjoy superb amenities and the proximity of Tocumen International Airport and the Atlapa Convention Center, which is located just across the street from the hotel. This luxury hotel in Panama City is surrounded by premier leisure attractions such as the famous Multiplaza Shopping Mall and the shops and restaurants of Old Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Panama City Hotel Panama City
Panama City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Panama City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.