We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Panama to your Saves list
Bristol Panama
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
rochester, new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great staff and hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

my husband and I just spent 2 nights. Our suite room was sweet. Spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge on the fifth floor and dinner one evening. The dining room was full of happy dinners. The dining room manager suggested the sea bass entre to my husband and he was delighted. We also shared the prawn cocktail absolutely delicious. I awoke with an eye problem, the desk manager suggested he contact a physician who could come the hotel as a place to start. Dr. was knowledgeable. We had a problem with wifi, which was solved quickly by staff who installed a router.
Knowledgable staff made for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    71
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
32
85
10
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chertsey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a great place for a couple of days in the city before setting out for a fishing lodge near the Columbian border. The staff at check in could not have been more courteous and friendly and all spoke english very well indeed.
Rooms are very comfortable with all modern refinements and some nice touches - chocs,quality robes and a deep bath. I would have liked more lights though.
Lifts are quick and efficient and take you to a nice bar with terrace or a spa- reasonable rates.
Breakfast was american style buffet and very good - great poached eggs. Panamanian pastries etc also available.
Dinner in the bar was tapas style and only average though the burgers were very tasty. Dinner in the bar was more refined but not quite as good as some of the other places we tried.
Free coffee and iced lemon and cold towels in the lobby were a nice addition to this friendly hotel within a 100 yds of an indoor golf centre if you are missing it.

Room Tip: Suites on the left of the lobby are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Bristol for a business trip. Tell hotel itself is very clean and modern. The service is excellent. When I had a problem with my bathtub, somebody was up within moments to fix it. The food at the restaurant is just incredible.
However, I would not recommend anyone go to the spa. I got a manicure and pedicure there, and was considering doing a spa treatment. But after the manicure and pedicure experience, I didn't feel like wasting my money. It looked like my little niece had done my nails. Which was a huge disappointment, since I knew the spa is ranked in Condé Nast.
If you're looking for a clean modern hotel with good food to stay in for a short trip, this is your place. The surrounding area doesn't have too much to offer and there is no real area to relax and sunbathe outside (Even if you felt like braving the small pool deck or pool, the surrounding area is full of construction and noise... Not too relaxing!)
However, I will give the staff five huge gold stars. Everyone was friendly, welcoming, and willing to help at the drop of a hat - waitstaff, front desk, housekeeping...

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

been there this month. spacious, well maintained modern rooms, top service attitude, hearing the client and willing to help and solve problems - with a smile. we asked for a late checkout, they did their best to approve, and even suggested that in case it will not be possible - we could take a shower and refresh in their spa facility. their restaurant is really something else: superb food prepared by a very good chef, at average prices. my wife had a health problem requiring special cooking instructions. the dining room staff and the chef willingly complied. in short: that is my recomended place to stay in panama city.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First of all there is no view from the hotel. Not the fault of the hotel, Panama as just built up all around. Thankfully the time we were there it was Carnival and no one was working on the building directly opposite our room.

The food in the restaurant was excellent if somewhat pretentious. We longed for some typical Panaimanian food, which there was, but it was de-constructed and presented in a modernist way on the plate. The bad thing about the menu is that it does not change from one night to another or, seemingly from one week to the next.
We ordered a couple of BLTs on Saturday night after a long trip thru the Canal. Service was fast, but the product was not good. Toast on the BLT was cold and limp as though it had been made and placed on a shelf awaiting the order to assemble. We took a piece of the bread down to the desk. They were very courteous and removed the order from our check. That night, as well, when we returned to the room at 8:30 or so after a long day on the canal, the room had not been turned down. We called housekeeping and a by 9:45 the room was set right by a sweet, as all of the employees we met were, chamber maid.

We found the staff to be excellent and extremely helpful with reservations and advice, but really a big help with the computers and access to our email. No charge for using the computers.

The hotel is exquisite. There is real art on the walls of the lobby and in the rooms. The hallways have beautiful and clean carpet. The beds and linens are first class. The rooms, in the new tower, are quite large and quiet, clean and comfortable.

We would return.

Room Tip: Stay in the new tower, and as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were welcomed with a cold flannel and bottle of water. We were upgraded as our anniversary to a lovely executive room with a bath that had already been run with rose petals spread around the bathroom. A heart shaped bed of petals were on the bed with strawberry and chocolates waiting. Great entrance and start. The room unfortunately overlooked a building site.

The staff were kind but they seemed scared of making mistakes as if their jobs depended on serving. They need to relax a little but concentrate on serving at breakfast. The breakfasts were limited with only scrambled egg unless you requested. No fish at all.
The gym was clean and the best we have come across in Panama.
Overall we would go back .

Room Tip: Get a room in th tower part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Manager at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Gary1905,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! At Bristol Panama we are honoured that you have chosen us for such an special occasion.

It will make us proud to share your valuable feedback with our Restaurant Leadership Team so we can improve our service.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amid the bustling metropolis of Panama Citythe Bristol Hotel is an oasis of quiet and luxury. We stayed here prior to,embarking on a Panama Canal and Costa Rica cruise,and land tour.

We were greeted after a day at airports to a lovely cool bottle of water and wet towels. We didn't have to wait in a line to check in as the Reception clerk came to where we were standing in the lobby to facilitate the process.

Our room was well appointed with the king bed we had requested. The bathroom was large and luxurious.

Dinner was good at the restaurant with excellent service. The breakfast buffet was good although the service for coffee, etc. was slow.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Manager at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JudithP845,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to read that you have had an overall great stay.

Your valuable feedback about the service in the restaurant was shared with our Leadership Team in order to take action and prevent future recurrence.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Victor Concepcion P.
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Panama

Address: Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bristol Panama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Panama City's bustling (Financial District), Bristol Panama is one of the city's premier addresses for executive and holiday stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bristol Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Panama Hotel Panama City
Bristol Hotel Panama City
Bristol Panama City
Bristol Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.