We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves/Cheaters/Arrogant/No service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Panama to your Saves list
Bristol Panama
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Thieves/Cheaters/Arrogant/No service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The title of this review says it all. I spent many months at this hotel for business purposes. They always tried to cheat us with the bill by adding stuff, stole items from our apartment and never came back to us with real answers as to what had happened.

Migdalia Cano, who is supposedly in charge of the Residences, was incompetent all along. She is rude, arrogant, does not speak english and in general is not fit to take care of business visitors. How can you brand yourself as a 5 star Hotel if you have Migdalia Cano? She is not only incompetent, but arrogant and quite frankly very inept. She must have had some sort of interesting relationship with management because I kept making her mistakes obvious to management, but they seemed not to care at all. In fact, this past August, the entire management left/got fired, except her. I wonder why?

The rooms are very seldom cleaned by the staff unless you are there to tell them exactly what to do and how to do it.

Food is always overcooked, undercooked or it never gets delivered to your room.

There is construction everywhere around this hotel and the streets around it are a complete mess (gridlock).

The pool is a kiddy pool that barely gets any sun light.

Watch out for the car service they provide. Those drivers are crazy.

Honestly I don't understand how this hotel breaks even or even makes a profit since the occupancy rate Panama is down to 42% and they clearly have incompetent staff.

Stay away from this hotel, you will have a much better experience at the Trump or the Waldorf.

If you are asking yourselves, why did I stay there for so long, the answer is: Because I had to. I was there on business and at the time I had no other choice.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    59
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
65
7
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed for one night but overall the hotel was very nice and the the front desk staff were so pleasant and helpful! We had a few small hiccups such as a broken toilet upon checking in and a "complimentary breakfast" that was not communicated to the restaurant (led to a slightly awkward encounter when we finished our meal). But overall good location in downtown Panama City with very clean rooms and comfortable bedding! We also ate dinner at the restaurant in the hotel (Sal si puedes) and had an excellent meal (ceviche sampler and sloppy lobster rice - fantastic!).

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bristol got every detail right, and they did not miss a thing. The entire staff is well trained and very customer oriented. They made us feel like we owned the place! We had an early morning one day (4:30 AM pickup for a fishing trip), and they prepared a takeout breakfast on the spur of the moment. The room was immaculate, and the food in the restaurant was top notch. The location is also great. It is within easy walking distance of many fine restaurants. When we go back to to Panama City, we will stay at the Bristol.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 71GRR,

Thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiastic review with other travelers. We are very proud to have delivered an unparallel experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good quality hotel in downtown Panama City. Conveniently situated for both airport and trips to the Canal. Friendly and helpful staff, all with excellent English. Good size room with exceptionally comfortable bed. Delicious buffet breakfast. 15 min taxi ride to the old town, which is well worth a visit. Easy walking distance to local restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in Bristol hotel during last week as my office organized a meeting there. The hotel was excellent, had beautiful decoration, great food as well as staff was very helpful. However there was an annoying fire alarm ringing in the 7th and 8th floor that woke us up at 5am. This happened for 3 consecutive days.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've always stayed at the Miramar but no longer. The Bristol has far exceeded our expectations. From the checkin to to checkout the staff is the most customer oriented hotel we've ever experienced in our 55 yrs of international traveling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear A J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are happy to read that our staff make the diference, rest asure we will share your kind words with them.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion Peren
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We cannot say enough about the quality of service at the Bristol. From the check-in with Gustavo and the front desk staff, to the prompt attention to detail at the concierge desk with Katherine, Wendy and Eduardo, the entire experience was outstanding. Everyone could not have been more helpful in making our first visit to Panama a delightful trip.
You don't find loyal customers; you make customers loyal, and the Bristol ranks number one in our book for Customer Relationship Management. Kudos to all!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear cavcas2014,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are so grateful you selected The Bristol and are delighted to read that our staff make your experience second to none.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion Peren
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Panama

Address: Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bristol Panama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Panama City's bustling (Financial District), Bristol Panama is one of the city's premier addresses for executive and holiday stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Bristol Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Panama Hotel Panama City
Bristol Hotel Panama City
Bristol Panama City
Bristol Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.