We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option I had in Panama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bristol Panama to your Saves list
Bristol Panama
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 107 Hotels in Panama City
Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best option I had in Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was there for business one week and really enjoy my stay. My only critic would be the size of the pool. But the city is on the sea side, so I went to Playa Bonita for the sea! Excellent food, a nice and smily service and a beautifll spa on the last floor.. Important I had a good internet wifi speed! Definitly will come back!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear petrusperu,

Thank you for your most recent visit and for your exceptional review. It is indeed our privilege to earn your respect and loyalty, and we are very grateful for your kind words.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back at The Bristol.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    53
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
55
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

this is an extremely chic hotel set in the heart of the financial district of Panama City. The staff was generally very professional and as an added bonus, all of the desk staff I encountered during my stay were bilingual. The room was very well appointed, the only downside being that I had a view of the roof on an adjoining building! The other facilities were excellent and the food was fantastic. I'd definitely stay at the Bristol again

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lee R,

Thank you for your recent visit to Bristol Panama!

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be professional, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Bristol again upon your return to Panama City.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tried a few others but keep going back to the Bristol. Has a real Panama 'old school class' feel to it but is mixed with high end modern design and beautiful artwork and sculptures throughout . Breakfast is always nice with the omelette station, restaurant and bar downstairs is consistent and bar upstairs also has terrific views and service. Reception were very helpful in organizing a day trip to the jungle for us, other employees in the hotel like the doormen, restaurant and bar workers were very pleasant, efficient but not intrusive or overbearing, which is the ideal. In addition the small touches like the design, table displays, higher end toiletries, fine bone china dinnerware, crystal glasses etc etc also make a difference, i know its not a dealbreaker or important to all but its amazing how much difference the small details make to the larger experience overall. Yes the pool and gym is very small, but lets not forget its Panama.. Also the hotel importantly is very well centrally located to everything you need on a business , or pleasure, trip to Panama city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear travelgrl27,

Thank you for your kind comments and recommendations!

It's an honor to be considered one of the best hotels in Panama, and we thank you sincerely for sharing your noteworthy experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was most unfortunate that our first contact with Panama was with the Bristol Hotel. A potentially good experienced was marred by hostile reception, dirty room, poor service and defensive manager.

The airport pick up was adequate, we were met at the luggage claim and were taken to the hotel in no time. We had an awkward time at check in: we were met with uncomfortable silence and cold stare from the receptionist. I guess two guys traveling together and requesting a king bed was just not the norm. The hotel's culture of homophobia was later confirmed by the GM, who repeatedly addressed by husband as my "colleague" in ours subsequent emails. I wonder how he would like it, if I had addressed his wife as his "secretary." Doesn't sound right, does it.

The presence of the GM was extremely elusive; we had requested to talk to him no less than five times during our two days of residence. We were told he was either busy or had left for the day. Indeed, the last word was that there was nobody else here who could help us.

The pool is extremely small and did not look clean; it had the usual floating debris and dead bugs. The gym is adequate, but did not have water in the dispenser. Staff was scarce and the skeleton crew was glued to the tube watching the world cup. Housekeeping did not show up; we had to call at 1500 for our room to be cleaned. It was evil glare from the housekeeper for the entire duration of her stay.

Breakfast selection was adequate: it had an omelet station, cold cuts and the usual bacon and potato. We had a breakthrough one morning, a very nice, older gentleman had offered to slice our mango. A touch of human kindness. Otherwise, service from the other prima donnas were rendered only on repeated requests.

Our executive floor room was next to the service elevator, and fire alarm went off at 430 A.M. and banging plates started at 600 and wake up call never came. I suppose this is what I got for requesting to see the manager and requested the room to be cleaned.

The elusive general manager was hard to get in touch with, and multiple emails and requests went unanswered. I was finally able to get in touch with him, and the series of exchanges were not pleasant and he was extremely defensive. No doubt, this review will be matched with scathing response. I am sure I would be called bunch of names and that his hotel is beyond perfect. blah, blah, blah.

We were extremely dismay with the bathroom and had requested change of room multiple times during our stay. We had asked for the management and absolutely no response while we were in house. In the end, we packed and left. I will let the picture speak for itself.

We have traveled the globe extensively and chose the Bristol Panama as it has been endorsed by the Virtuoso Travel Agency and the Leading Hotels of the World. Our experience was anything but positive. Gay people's money is equally hard earned and equally valid, and we certainly did not deserve the reception at the Bristol Panama.

Word of advice, stay the the Trump Tower Panama. The concierge and front desk are first rate and the junior suite has a fantastic view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear panama747,

Thank you for your visit to our property. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences during your past stay. At Bristol Panama we pride our selves of our excellent service and are sad to learn that we make you feel neglected.

We do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and have another opportunity to win back your confidence.

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at The Bristol recently at a conference for three nights. The hotel is bright and spacious as are the rooms. The staff are excellent and Wendy at Concierge is a wealth of local information. Conference facilities likewise are extremely good and you will never go hungry - food appears from everywhere!

Panama is a developing city and you have to accept this - there is work going on in the area but it is unheard from the rooms and will only add to the area.

Recommended for a high quality base in the city either for work or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear The_Boo_Radleys,

Thank you for your awesome comments and recommendations. We are thrilled to learn that you have such a wonderful experience at our property. We would like to specially thank you for recognizing Wendy's exceptional service, rest asure we will communicate to her your kind words.

Looking forward to have you back in the near future.

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Bristol has once again rose to the occasion and surpassed all of my expectations. The friendly staff as well as the cleanliness throughout the hotel was outstanding. Its nice to be greeted with warm smile and helping hand at the front desk and concierge. I continue to be extremely satisfied on all fronts.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear BristolGuest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We're delighted to have delivered all that you expect and deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Bristol over the last 10 years and each visit has been exemplary. The rooms are comfortable with clean and crisp linen, the restaurant quaint and staff extremely professional, friendly and accommodating. Having stayed at similar hotels in proximity to this property I always return to the Bristol. I am already Looking forward to my next visit in a couple weeks.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBristolPanama, Gerente at Bristol Panama, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Neil S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiastic review with other travelers. We are thrilled to learn that we have earned your loyalty.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Victor Concepcion P.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bristol Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Panama

Address: Avenida Aquilino de la Guardia | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bristol Panama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Panama City's bustling (Financial District), Bristol Panama is one of the city's premier addresses for executive and holiday stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Bristol Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Panama Hotel Panama City
Bristol Hotel Panama City
Bristol Panama City
Bristol Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.