We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Amador Causeway, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Snellville, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent a week here as part of a reunion and found that the hotel was clean, comfortable and the service excellent, with nice views of the entrance to the Panama Canal and the Bridge of the Americas. They have a new Bridgeview restaurant as well as a TGIFridays adjacent, the Yacht Club's reastaurant next door and an easy taxi ride to other restaurants in the Amador area: Pencas, Mi Ranchito and Bucaneros. The Casco Antiguo is about a 10 to 15 minute ride by taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel, fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    222
    106
    38
    19
See reviews for
142
196
42
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pluses: nice views of the Canal, comfortable room, swimming pool, full hot breakfast.

Minuses: Nothing is in walking distance, plan on spending at least $15 on a taxi each way to get into town or to the miraflores locks. Wifi signal didn't reach our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view when you order and get as high a floor as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,



Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit.


On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,



Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable and clean place to stay with great service, then this is a good location. The standard rooms could use some updating and renovating, however the views from the balcony are priceless. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, responsive and helpful; and they immediately addressed problems and concerns as they arose. The swimming pool area is clean and relaxing, and the WiFi works extremely well throughout the hotel. Our rate included a daily breakfast in the restaurant, and the food was decent. The hotel was having trouble with the hot water during our stay, so, with the exception of the first night, the showers were tepid. There is a nearby path for walking and jogging, and the Causeway is a good, long walk or a $3 taxi ride away. It's fairly easy to get taxis from this location during the daytime, however the taxis requested by the hotel staff tend to charge more than the taxis on the street. My recommendation would be to find a taxi driver on your first day and get his number. There was an issue with my reservation before I arrived in Panama, and a manager called me in the US to make sure everything was resolved before I arrived. That type of personalized and attentive service was sustained throughout my stay. Given it's proximity to the bridge and major roads leading into the city, this location provides quick access to just about anywhere you'd like to go in the Panama city area. It's a good value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write,

We appreciate so much your positive comments and suggestions, on behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. We will inprove on your comments mentioned, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful my stay was at the Country Inn & Suites. The front desk staff is just absolutely friendly and helpful with a big thanks to Mr. Jack Cordoba who insisted on providing my family of 6 a free dinner because he heard I was unhappy with my previous night's dinner at the Friday's restaurant.The location is great because it's directly on the Panama Canal and has beautiful views of the Bridge of Americas. The rooms in the new section are great with new smell still lingering. If you're looking for great place to stay please let Country Inn Suites be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Jim


Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed. Fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking. We look forward to your next stay.

If you need any other assistance please contact to us.


Best Regards


Hotel Country Inn & Suite Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location of the hotel is ok, it's on the Panama Canal. I was promised a canal view room, but it was on the ground floor and all I could see was the garden. The room is spacious, but the bathroom needs some renovation. The bath waste wasn't working well and the bath was soon filling with water. But the hotel is good value for money and a common meeting place for excursions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed all issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here for four days this week. This is a solid mid-level class hotel with everything you would expect. The rooms are well equipped and clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathrooms were good enough.

On the positive side, this hotel offers comfortable rooms, an included breakfast, conference rooms, and swimming pools. The room I stayed in was clean and comfortable, but of limited size. When the rooms are too small, I have a real problem wanting to stay in them except to sleep. That was the case with this room. But it is pretty much what you would expect for the cost.

The bathroom was adequate, with a combined tub/shower. There was plenty of water pressure for my stay.

The breakfast provided an assortment of standard offerings, such as yogurt, breads, sliced fruits, and cereals, plus a daily dose of scrambled eggs, meats, juices, and hot cereal.

I was there on business, and we used the conference rooms, which were medium sized, but comfortable.

As for the swimming facilities, there are two pools... one regular one and a wading pool. The main pool has an attached hot tub. The view from the pool is pretty good, and the area is a good place to relax. There is no drink service at the pool.

The hotel is located at the mainland end of a thin causeway that connects the mainland to three islands. The causeway is a great place to walk to get in your run for the day. The causeway provides a great photo opportunity of the Bridge of the Americas and the city. The causeway can be walked, bicycled, or driven by car.

There is a TGIF restaurant attached to the hotel. There are also several other places to eat along the causeway and on the islands it connects to.

There is really not much negative to say about the place, as long as you know the type of hotel provided by Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed, We fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I travelled by myself for only a few days to Panama and the staff helped me make the most of it by arranging tours for me and suggesting restaurants. Yma was my favorite and absolutely the most helpful but all the staff were great! My stay was very comfortable and travelling alone it was very nice to have the TGIF Restaurant on site so I ate there often and didn't have to worry about travelling out additionally after touring for the day. The complimentary breakfast in the morning had variety every day I was there and an expansive selection of hot and cold items so that was great-fuel for the day! The room was clean and very comfortable. I did get a balcony view room and I would highly recommend it. It was so amazing to just order some drinks from room service and sit out there and relax. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed scenery so much. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul_Hernandez507, Manager at Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choose the Country Inn and Suites Panama Canal during your last visit,
We are very grateful for the time dedicated to share your positive comments about our Hotel.

Fills us with pride to hear that it has been able to enjoy our products and more still that the service provided by our staff has been to his liking.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your last visit we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,


Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal

Address: Amador Causeway, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan your exciting getaway or seamless business trip, don't forget to book a spacious hotel room or suite at the Country Inn & Suites, a Panama City hotel near Panama Canal. Our hotel's location near various transportation hubs—Tocumen International Airport, Marcos A. Gelabert Domestic Airport, the Panama Canal Railway, Pier and Panama's national bus terminal—makes it easy to travel around the area. Plus, we're within reach of top attractions like Frank Gerhy's Biodiversity Museum, the Smithsonian Tropical Research exhibition center, Albrook Shopping Mall, Metropolitan National Park and City of Knowledge. Explore the city or simply take in the beauty of the Panama Canal from your hotel room's balcony during your stay at the Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Panama Canal
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Hotel Panama City
Country Inn Panama City
Panama City Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Panama Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.