We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panama Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Panama Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Panama Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ricardo Arias & Cl 52 | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a bustling city which was a lot of fun. This property was located in a nice area and was very nice.

You never know what to expect in a foreign country, but this hotel did not disappoint.

Nice rooms and great service.

I would return here before any other property in Panama.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Jamie B,

We appreciate you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We have shared your kind words with our hotel staff.

Looking forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    241
    71
    14
    5
See reviews for
90
167
46
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monterrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night, because we had a connecting flight the next day. When we arrived, we were really tired since we got married the night before. We had booked a regular room, but while we were checking in, we told the ladies at the reception that it was our honeymoon. They got excited and they upgraded us, free of charge, to the Master Suite! The room was reaaaaally nice, it was huge! Furnishings were great, the view of the city was spectacular, it even had a second bathroom in case you had visitors! Unfortunately, we were there for just one night. The next morning, we left pretty early, and as they were loading our luggage in the taxi van, a waiter came out with a bottle of sparkling wine, a souvenir truck of Panama and a card on a tray. It was from the ladies from the reception the night before: Ana Lucía and Karina. They were so sweet! We will always remember them and the outstanding service. Thank you again! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Vanneann,

Congratulations on your wedding!
We are extremely delighted that we could make your stay unforgettable.

Ana Lucía and Karina love to make our guests feel very special. They are extremely focused on going the extra mile.

Hope to see you soon at the Panama Marriott Hotel.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

So we decided to stay at the Marriott Hotel in the center of Panama. The location was great because it is in the middle of the financial district, close to numerous restaurants that individually provide their own specialty, seafood, middle eastern diversity, italian, american, panamanian, and the list goes on. The reception was exceptionally amazing. The room, though, was great, but the shower did not drain properly, leaving a puddle of about one inch after turning off the shower head water. The VIP floor where snacks are served was great. Oatmeal, fruits, bagels, English muffin, and other sort of cheese and cold cuts were available. Wifi worked always. The downside is that prostitutes can be seen entering this hotel with their "buyers" to enjoy their evening. After seen this, I could not stop thinking about the room and bed where I was sleeping during the stay. How the rooms, sheets, bathrooms, and blankets were washed was my concern because of the different clientele that some guests invited to their rooms. Just be careful where you stay. If it is near casinos and bars, as it is the case of this hotel, where women of the night hang out, it is preferably to stay at a different place. Otherwise, I would gladly give it a five star.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear EcreA,

We are very glad that you enjoyed the VIP floor. Our guests do love our executive lounge with its ample food & beverage offerings.
We will share your kind words with our reception staff.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

2 rooms booked by my business partner who has platinum status. Reservation was made for a king size bed, I received a room with 2 queens. I was told no king size beds were available on the concierge floor. On a 3 day business trip, I wish it had been honored. On the first morning a pot of coffee took 45 minutes for delivery to both myself and business partner. We were both told it would be there within 15 minutes and it arrived only after a second call. The hotel courtesy van is almost twice as expensive as a cab.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Eric S,

My sincere apologies for the experience you incurred at our hotel this past week.
We have shared your observations with our reservations and room service departments.

Please contact me directly when you come back to panama. I will take care of all your requests.
My email is: elzebir.villarreal@marriotthotels.com

Sincerely
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had 2 stays here over 2 weekends. I found this to be an especially nice and well kept property that was actually superior to a JWMarriott where we recently stayed. We were upgraded from a standard room to an executive room based on loyalty. Room 1129 the first night and room 931 the second 2 nights the following weekend. Both rooms had the same general view of the city and were totally quiet.

Upon entry to the beautiful lobby we were impressed with the huge orchid display centrally located in the upscale setting. Reception staff is all fluent in English and very friendly and professional. We felt welcomed.

We walked into our large room and appreciated the large space. We had a comfortable bed, full size sofa, 3 chairs and other standard furnishings. There was a separate dry bar area for the coffee maker. The bathroom was very large with more than ample counter space and extra perimeter lighting around the mirror. There are fresh flowers in the bathroom. The shower is over sized with excellent water pressure - well of course. Foyer and bathroom both have marble flooring. The shower floor is anti-slip but there is still a fresh non-skid bathmat neatly rolled up for use. Bathrobes are supplied. The Blow dryer was an Andis model RC-3 which I'd never heard of but worked better than any I've used. I want one.

The condition of the room was perfect. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job and cared enough to ask if there was anything we needed when they saw us in the hall. Various personal we would see around always attempted to speak in english with us even if they didn't speak it as well as the reception staff. The bellman were also friendly, efficient, and spoke perfect english.

The wifi code was given to us at check in with no need to ask. The connection worked perfectly - fast and didn't bump us off. This is definitely appreciated when traveling to another country.

We used the fitness center, overlooking the attractive pool area, which was the best we've even seen anywhere other than at a Ritz Carlton. There were 2 levels with modern, well kept updated cardio machines of various types and lots of weight machines and free weights. The cardio machines have individual television screens built in with all sorts of American programming including "both" major news networks. Bring your headphones. I didn't notice if any were supplied. There are sanitizing wipes located by the water. The well equipped fitness center was definitely a big plus since we both work out and it would be impossible to run on the streets of the city.

The executive lounge - WOW! Unlike most Marriott hotels it's open 7 days a week. It had by far the best offerings of any lounge we've experienced. Alcohol is the usual paid honor bar. The food was plentiful, constantly replenished, had a great variety and was of excellent quality. Some examples are seafood rice (like paella although it wasn't labeled as such), cream of seafood soup with potatoes, ceviche which was the best and non-seafood items, too. Desserts in the evening were great and made into small portions so you can sample different ones without feeling like you over did it. Being from Miami originally of course my favorite was the tres leches. Breakfast had anything you could want, from eggs, to fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastry/breads. There always seemed to be several people working in the executive lounge so service and cleanliness was always maintained to high levels. The people there were very, very nice, too. There were so many different types of coffee and tea, something for everyone. The Nescafe machine was mostly sweetened varieties but there was also espresso and drip coffee available.

I told my husband I would fly back to Panama just to stay here for the unbelievable excellent value, great food, and nice service. I'd give more than 5 stars for value if I could.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mommabean,

Wow! What a nice review! We really appreciate you for taking the time to rate us.

We are very thrilled that you had an excellent experience at the Panama Marriott Hotel.
We have shared your comments and observations with all the employees.

Our customers do enjoy our executive lounge with its ample variety and quality of food. Thank you for your nice comments on our fitness center and our spacious guest rooms.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were in Panama City primarily to see and experience the Panama Canal and stayed at the Marriott 4 nights. This is a very nice hotel as you would expect from Marriott. The hotel is located in the main part of the city. The surrounding area is both upscale and not, which seems typical of the city. It did seem safe to be out and around, day and evening. The rooms are quite nice – again, typical of Marriott. We were fortunate enough to have a 2 room suite with an ultra-large bathroom – TV in the mirror, ultra-large shower, whirlpool tub – all wonderful! The Concierge Lounge provided a complete breakfast and great appetizers in the evening. We did not get to experience the restaurant as it was under renovation. Working in English was not a problem with the front desk staff, but we found the Concierge staff’s English to be limited. In every case, the staff was especially friendly, gracious, and wanting to be helpful. We were particularly impressed with Ana Lucia at the front desk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear BGMNJ,

We are very glad that you had a great experience at the Panama Marriott Hotel.
Our guest do love our spacious guest rooms and our food & beverage selections in the Executive Lounge.

Ana Lucia is one of our best employees and we will share your nice comments.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Tucked away in a location that is difficult to get to given the one way system, this hotel was clean and fine, but with nothing to make it stand out. The restaurant is currently closed for renovation. A few little niggles; one day our room was not made up, the card operated door lock was tricky and the cards demagnetized easily, the message light on the phone could not be extinguished our entire 10 day stay. But overall our stay was pleasant enough. I just imagine there must be better choices at the price. (The Bristol around the corner looked nice.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTYPA, Front Office Manager at Panama Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I offer my sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered during your stay.
We have shared your comments with our engineering and housekeeping staff so that we can improve for future customers.

Please contact me directly for future assistance when travelling to Panama.

Warm regards,
Elzebir Villarreal
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Address: Ricardo Arias & Cl 52 | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#5 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panama Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.