We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panama Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Panama Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Panama Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ricardo Arias & Cl 52 | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Gabriel, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Wonder accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Although not in the best neighborhood, the Panama Marriott provided exactly what we needed for a one night stay in route to our cruise ship. The room was large and very comfortable. The bath was outstanding. Complimentary breakfast was wonderful and had an extensive menu. We ordered room service because of our late arrival and it was most welcome. Food was very tasty and service was great. I would definitely reserve again at this hotel if there is a future opportunity. The only reason I did not rate higher was its location across the street from a very lively, crowded and noisy night spot. Our location in hotel and soundproofing really was appreciated. Staff at the hotel were friendly an accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    273
    81
    14
    5
See reviews for
111
194
55
252
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Panama Marriott - which is downtown is a cosmetically very attractive building and lobby but the room was very small and smelled like they had deoderized it and dropped the bottle on the carpet. View of adjacent roof - I explained the problem to the front desk that the room was unexceptable and went to the Courtyard Marriott by the Multiplex mall - This was worse - I was frustrated at the dismal quality Marriott was representing, especially since the manager was going to charge me for the night when I had just made reservations and less then 5 minutes in the room.

When I requested a letter from him and that I would speak to Marriott directly he disappeared for 20 mintues and then came back very apologetic.

Took a cab to the Trump Ocean Club - very very nice - great service - beautiful architecture, great room, great pool, and at a similar price to the Panama Marriott.

One Caveat for Mariott - did stay at the Rio Hato Marriott - this was a beautiful room and resort and people were phenomenal.

Room Tip: Trump Ocean Club
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had 5 nights here (probably 2 more than we needed in Panama City), a quiet room, on the 15th floor but not much of a view, spacious, with sitting area, fridge, safe, coffeemaker, clean, good beds. The breakfast buffet was good, staff were pleasant & efficient, concierge was well-informed & helpful, a good hotel. Somewhat expensive snacks & sandwiches are available in several locations. There was a 5 hour nationwide power failure one afternoon & evening. The M has a back-up generator which kept the restaurants & elevators functioning, & gave limited power & air in the rooms. No roughing it here. There is an exercise room & a small pool, which we did not use. This may be the "Area Bancaria", but the pavements, traffic & ubiquitous construction are 3rd world, so watch your step! Aside from that, the neighborhood is OK. This is a mixed area with a very wide variety of shops, casinos, cheap internet places, & at least 2 good restaurants, Costa Azul and Beirut. The Multicentro shopping center is about a 20 minute walk away. A cab to most places from here will be about $2-5, but not if the driver thinks you are a rich person staying at the Marriott, so walk away. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a very nice pre-cruise stay at the Panama Marriott. The hotel is located in a central business district with several very nice restaurants within walking distance. The room was very nicely appointed and the staff at the front desk courteous and helpful. There was a very convenient coffee/breakfast shop in the lobby of the hotel which made grabbing a quick muffin quite easy. I wish they had offered free wifi, but at $109 a night, who can really complain? However, the most outstanding aspect of my experience was the kind, expert help from various concierges who helped me arrange, in advance of our trip, a great morning tour of the city. They couldn't have been more patient or helpful. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when visiting Panama City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Was a nice hotel with decent rooms and a very nice lounge for it's elite members. The service staff is a little on the weak side -- part of it is the local culture and I would imagine that part is just not enough training. Overall, a good experience and would stay again.

Room Tip: Had a good room and nothing to compare with so assume all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved our roomy and comfortable accommodations. Bed was yummy. Staff were welcoming and surprised us with upgrade to executive floor breakfast which is excellent. The hotel restaurant serves a good menu but prices are a bit high. We enjoyed Thursday night Panamanian dance show. Hotel is located within walking distance of restaurants. Swimming pool needs a major renovation!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This Marriott was fabulous. Spacious, clean rooms, lovely (if rather small pool). The concierge was very helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations. It was extremely busy, but everyone was friendly and helpful!
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panama Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Marriott Hotel

Address: Ricardo Arias & Cl 52 | Area Bancaria, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Panama City
#3 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#3 Business Hotel in Panama City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Panama Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Panama Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama City Marriott Hotel
Marriott Panama City
Panama Marriott Hotel Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panama Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.