We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panama City Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miramar Panama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miramar Panama to your Saves list
InterContinental Miramar Panama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City 816-2007, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #35 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Panama City Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a surprise! Not only is Panama City a vibrant, bustling, energetic city, but the InterContinental Miramar Panama Hotel is a sophisticated and upscale facility. The rooms are well-designed, comfortable, and quiet; the amenities are high-quality, and the hotel, restaurant, and lounge service is good. Location along Panama Bay is convenient to designer shopping, local markets, and the colonial old town of Casco Viejo.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Pacific Ocean - fantastic view of the Ocean, the ships queuing for the Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest, we want to thank for your lovely comments about the Panama City and the Intercontinental Miramar Panma Hotel.

It´s extremely important to know, that your experience with the InterContinental Hotel Miramar was good at all.

Thank you once again and we hope to be your host in your next visit to Panama City. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    137
    72
    35
    17
See reviews for
48
100
37
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The once so popular Intercontinental Miramar is in need of a total make-over. Apart from the view and the location, the hotel has not a lot to offer. The service could be a lot better. The room was clean.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We want to thank you for your opinion, and we will take care of any detail to be better.

Thank you once again and we hope you choose Miramar in your future travel plan to assign you in one of our newly remodeled rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I've stayed at the Intercontinental in other cities and it was fine, so I thought that it would be the same in Panama City. The view if good, if you like looking at 5 lane traffic in 2 directions. I was on the club floor. There is no bathtub, the thermostat for the air conditioning was non-functioning (either on or off, no temperature control), the shallow sink didn't have a stopper so I couldn't wash my clothes. There was only one bathrobe in a room for 2 people, and it took 3 phone calls to the "instant service" holine to get another one. The scale in the bathroom didn't work. It took another 3 phone calls to make it operational. The hotel has its own overpriced car service and doesn't allow regular taxis to enter its driveway to take passengers, so we had to go out on the highway to get our own taxi. The hotel service charges $25 for a $10 taxi ride. The staff is mostly unresponsive to these issues. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear customer, we appreciate you taking part of your valuable time to write about your experience at our hotel, it's a shame that we have not exceeded your expectations, however, I would like to inform you that we do have rooms with bathtub and I remember very well that you requested us complimentary breakfast in your rate prior your arrival and we did it, but we did not received a request for a room with a bathtub.

Furthermore, I offer you my sincere apologies for any dissatisfaction that you might have experienced in our hotel.

Regarding the taxi service at the hotel, we recommend the tourism taxi services because they are safer than yellow taxis, it is not mandatory that our guests have to use the tourism taxi service. The yellow street taxis work 24 hours and can be used by any person, the only suggestion that we make is that these taxis will be taken at your own risk and the hotel does not accept any responsibility.

We know you have many options to stay in Panama, but we would like you to stay with us again, to show that we can do it better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Miramar a number of times over the past few years I have traveled to Panama City, and I must say after these new renovations (new swanky lobby bar), the removal of the executive floor pool, and the somewhat new staff it is no longer a place of choice. There were too many inconsistencies that no one there could really help with, and when we checked out there were erroneous charges on the bill. It has been over two weeks and we have still not yet received our credit for the additional charges that were incorrect on the bill. I would rather be down in Casco Viejo (San Felipe) and deal with smaller bed and breakfast businesses than a bigger hotel that cannot accommodate accordingly.

Room Tip: The higher floors (about 18 and above I think) are renovated and modern, below that they are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Our goal is to provide high quality of goods and services, our hotel has the biggest and beautiful pool of the lodging industry in Panama, as you said we have new staff in front office but they are friendly and helpful as have been mentioned in others review. Regarding your concern about the erroneous charges on your bill please email me at jrivas@miramarpanama.com and I will resolve this shortly.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February 2013. The hotel is clean and modern and the staff were very helpful. I really liked the pool and the view it offered of some of the skyscrapers in the city. The breakfast and dinner buffets were good and was happy with the choices that were offered. The only drawback - the service at the pool bar/snack bar was very poor and the staff hardly spoke any English. I found the location of the hotel ideal as everything seemed to be a 10 minute cab ride away or sometimes even a long walk.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest I am pleased that your expectations were met during your stay in our hotel. I want to thank you for the time that you have taken to tell us about your satisfaction with the pool side, the food offer in our hotel and the staff helpfulness.

Many thank you for your important comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Normally I stay at Starwood or Marriott properties so I thought I'd give this one a try for a change. Wish now that I had not bothered. On the plus side the location is really nice, and the beds are comfortable, pool looked big but i didnt have time to enjoy it as i was in Panama on business. But the negatives are numerous. First of all at check in I had to ask to change rooms because the first one I found a bed that was literally sagging half a foot lower on one side than the other, like someone very heavy had slept on one side. They gave me the room next door which had two beds but since the hotel was supposedly full I felt forced to accept it. Next thing was the room was grimy, old rickety furniture and dirt and wear and tear in all corners, on the tub, doors, etc. rather unlike the beautiful photos on the website. Perhaps a premium room is nicer but shouldn't all rooms be at least of minimum standards? I couldnt even do an express check out on the tv! Another problem is they really need to update their information in the hotel guide. It says that there is a gift shop right off the lobby but when I went in search of it, it was nowhere to be found. As I was looking around I came across the gym and despite that it was still open the girl at the counter quickly informed me that the 'snack bar' (which appears to sell cold and hot drinks) was closed. So now I was forced to pay for a 5 dollar bottle of water. Also when I went to ask the bar staff if they knew where the gift shop was the woman looked at me blankly and mumbled a vague no. This seemed to be the general reaction of most of the staff when I asked almost anything. They seem to have very little knowledge, don't offer to help and have an indifferent attitude, at best. As mentioned by almost everyone else, the elevators are ridiculously slow and often when they do arrive, are so full that you need to wait for another. This is to go up or down. Another huge rip off and inconvenience is the lack of Wi Fi in the lobby, which forces you to not only return to your room to access it, but also to pay the hefty $15 fee. In this day and age hotels should always be providing free Internet. And yet another problem occurred with room service. I hung up one of those handy cards that allows you to pre order your breakfast and delivery the night before so that I didnt have to call in the am. Well it's a good thing I checked because at 6 am it was still hanging on my door and clearly no one bothers to go around and collect them. Had to call for room service and it took 3 tries for someone to answer the phone!
I can't understand why on earth this hotel has had any very positive reviews because from what I saw it is well below the standards of similar hotels. A property that claims to be of this caliber definitely needs to vastly improve it's service and overall image. With so many other choices for much more luxurious and high quality properties why would anyone choose this one. Save yourself the disappointment and opt for somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Sir, I want to thank you for your comment. We really appreciate you taken the time to let us know that we have a lot of way of opportunity and we will take it.

After all your comments, I want to invite everyone who has read this review to visit us to test our quality and service, our newly remodeled rooms, our large pool, our very privileged location and the best bar in town.

The hotel has WI FI everywhere, in rooms, lobby, bar, restaurant, public areas, at the pool, even in the parking lots. The water from the tap is potable and totally free; we have in the room two huge bottle of water in the mini bar side, dear guest it is optional if you don´t want to pay for, you can drink the water from the tap or call instant service and ask for free water.

We have not Gift Shop because of we are in the middle of most important Shopping Malls of the city, in a walking distance you can reach Multi Centro, Plaza Paitilla Mall and others.

Once again thank you for let the world know that we exist. we invite you to comeback and see if we are doing it better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Besides the beautiful view and outstanding facilities, the staff members at the hotel are very friendly, helpful and well-trained. My wife had to be hospitalized for several days soon after we arrived in Panama, and I cannot express my gratitude for the kind and caring front-desk staff at the Miramar. Having a medical emergency away from home is scary, made more so when one cannot speak the local language all that well. The concern shown daily by the front-desk staff for my welfare and that of my wife made me feel like the hotel was my home away from home -- and took away a lot of my anxiety. The fruit basket the hotel sent up (gratis) was also a very welcome touch and helped put me at ease. I am very grateful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest, I really want to thank you because no much people can see this little thing as important as you do. We are people trying with people, in our hotel the most important make you feel important, welcome and valued.

Your comment is an important heartbeat to us. thank you once again and we hope to see you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#2 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#11 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#18 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#5 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Paitilla Inn
Plaza Paitilla Inn
#51 of 114 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#10 of 114 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Miramar Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miramar Panama

Address: Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miramar Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Panama Bay and the financial district, this luxury Panama City hotel is ideal for business or leisure. Boasting spacious ocean view suites and a scenic walkway that takes you direct to the marina, the hotel is the perfect spot for watching vessels as they enter the famed Panama Canal. Relax at our poolside restaurant or indulge in a spa treatment. You're ideally located for designer shopping and local markets or exploring the colonial old town of Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Miramar Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Miramar Panama Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Miramar Panama City
InterContinental Miramar Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miramar Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.