We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good, Some Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miramar Panama

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Miramar Panama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Miramar Panama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #41 of 108 hotels in Panama City
Kansas City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Some Good, Some Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

First, the young women at the front desk were awesome, always friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and clean with a terrific view of the bay and Balboa Avenue. Easy walking distance to some great nearby restaurants. Agree with another reviewer that the $15 per day Wi Fi charge is aggravating. The breakfast was bountiful and flavorful but cold. The highlight being the made to order omelets. The restaurant wait staff was average and the bartender in the lobby bar seemed bothered having to provide us with our two "complimentary" drinks which he said only included beer, house wine and rum punch. If you have time to use the pool it is a delight. If you need a taxi and the doorman arranges it for you it will be with their affiliate VIP. Although convenient it will cost more than a city taxi.

Room Tip: Agree with another reviewer that the higher the room the better, however it appeared to me that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regards your experience with the InterContinental Miramar Panama City, Panama. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know your comments.

We are grateful to know that our front office personal is awesome, rooms are clean and the breakfast is bountiful and flavorful.

Regarding your complaint about the restaurant staff and the lobby bar´s bartender, the actions were taken in order to avoid that type of service.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    89
    57
    33
    13
See reviews for
33
67
32
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.B. Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our 9 day stay at Miramar was unforgettable. We cannot express how grateful we are to the wonderful staff. The front desk, main lobby, "Pastor" and OMG,Joel the wonderful chef in the dining room were truly awesome. They helped us with everything!!!. The location of the hotel could not have been better however the hotel room was nothing out of the ordinary which I was a bit disappointed in as we went thru priority club and used extra points to stay here plus extra $$$. I was sort of expecting a bit more especially after staying at the Crown Plaza Broadway NYC which from my understanding is a scale down from InterContinental properties. My biggest disappointment however has to be the fact we had to pay about $100 extra to have internet access in our room. This was totally ridiculous as we have stayed many times in lower scale priority club locations which always had internet services provided free of charge. I would LOVE to see a refund on my MC for this or be given bonus priority points to make up for this terrible service and expense. Totally unreasonable for this day and age. I was told they are trying to make this more convenient for guests but we unfortunately did not benefit from this. Other than that all was sooo sooo great!! THANKS so very much!!

Room Tip: Choose a room as high up as possible as the view is spectacular...best in the city for sure. Try for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for let us know that your stay in our hotel is unforgettable. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Also we appreciate your grateful for the service that you received from our colleges.

Regarding your complaint of internet, there is a third-party company providing this service, but I promise you that you will have internet for free in your next visit to our hotel.

Thank you once again, and we hope see you soon at Intercontinental Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel was clean and in good condition. I don't usually like eating in hotel restaurants, but was in a rush so I ate dinner one night and it was pretty good. Breakfast was good, except for the service, the servers were too busy talking to each other to notice the guests.

The only problem was lack of water pressure in the shower on the 20th floor. It just about dripped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and let us know that our hotel is clean and in good condition and the food is pretty good.

Our goal is to provide consistent high quality service. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. That action was taken in order to avoid future situations.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans continue to include Intercontinental Miramar Panama.

We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was in Panama City for a few days and this hotel proved to be the perfect getaway for some quiet time away from the heat and noise. I had a wonderful room with great views and the service levels I received were excellent and way above what is normal in Panama, likewise the food but avoid the evening buffet. It is a quick 10-15 minute taxi ride from downtown ( US$15) but in a beautiful, peaceful location and a world apart so if you are in the city and need to get away, I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a high room at the far end away from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regards your experience with the InterContinental Miramar Panama City, Panama.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share these beautiful words with the viewers of this site. Thank you for your comments about our wonderful rooms, the great view from our rooms, and the excellent level of service that we have. we really appreciate it.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Was on a tour and stayed at this hotel. Loved the pool. The rooms were clean, but the walls and floors are "thin" so could hear people and water running from above and to the sides. The food at the hotel was good, dining service was a bit slow. Saw a sign about a gift shop but never found it.

Room Tip: From what I can tell, it appears all rooms are facing the ocean. Did not really hear traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this matter with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our room cleaning, the pool and our good food. The reason why we don´t have a gift shop is because we are located in the city center close to the best shopping centers. In addition we offer complementary essential items: toothpaste, toothbrushes, shavers, etc.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.

We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for a business trip, was fortunate to get a room in a high floor with a view to the ocean, and it truly was an incredible sight with all the ships heading to the entrance of the Channel. Nothing gets in the way of the landscape and the rooms are designed to take advantage of it. Rooms on the other side get a view of the incredible Panama City architecture, very modern and at the same time tropical, lots of traffic in the nearby streets. If you take your time to walk the neighborhood, you will enjoy a nice walk, not many landmarks, but a residential and hotel area that is very nice, there is a very nice church (Iglesia El Carmen) within walking distance, and nice upscale restaurants all over the area.

The rooms are ample and comfortable, as you would expect on a high end business hotel. I did not suffer any internet problems as reported by others. The pool is great. Can not comment on food besides the breakfast buffet served in a beautiful restaurant, as my other meals were enjoyed in the neighborhood.

Definitively it has been my best experience so far in Panama City, it is a high end hotel, and although the prices might be in the upper tier, the location, rooms, friendly staff and ...did I mention the view of the pacific? made for a great experience. Recommended!

Room Tip: INSIST on getting a room with a view to the Pacific Ocean. The other sides are beautiful also, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this matter with the world.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our friendly staff, and the good service that we provided you during your stay.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.

We will be waiting for you. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for business. The hotel itself, I don't have much to comment about. Rooms are nice, service is good, pool, fitness center, etc., but this I expect from a pricey business level hotel. They met expectations in these regards. My complaint, which isn't anything the management can do anything about, is the location. You feel kind of isolated here. It is right on the bay highway with a great view of the Pacific and a good part of Panama City's fantastic architecture, but you have to cross a very busy road to get to where the main restaruant and bar zone is. Immediately around the hotel, it is very quiet at night. Granted, the area with movement isn't far away, but Panama City is small, so far away is very relative. If returning I woulkd prefer to stay somewhere with a bit closer to the movement. When I travel for business I like to be able to walk outside, even if just for a few hours, and find something that is not hotel-y really easily. You c n do this better in other parts of the city. An interesting pick might be one of the boutique places opening in the Casco Viejo section or perhaps in the new Trump hotel that recently went up.

Room Tip: Ask fro a room at the end of a hallway, where you will have both views of the ocean and views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regards your experience with the InterContinental Miramar Panama City, Panama. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to the world attention.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our nice rooms, our good service, the great view of the Pacific from our rooms, the pool and fitness center facilities.

Regarding your complaint how to cross the very busy road to get to where the main restaurants and bar zone is. “Immediately around the hotel” it is not a problem anymore, because the government is building a walking bridge to solve this matter. Also there´s a traffic police to help.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Miramar Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miramar Panama

Address: Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miramar Panama 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Miramar Panama epitomizes the capital's cosmopolitan style with a striking tower in the financial district. Views of the Pacific Ocean showcase vessels coming through the Panama Canal, which is only eight kilometres (five miles) away. The main shopping malls, Atlapa Convention Centre and Casco Viejo (the old city) are within close reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Miramar Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Miramar Panama Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Miramar Panama City
InterContinental Miramar Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miramar Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.