We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the pool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Miramar Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Miramar Panama to your Saves list
InterContinental Miramar Panama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City 816-2007, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Loved the pool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Was on a tour and stayed at this hotel. Loved the pool. The rooms were clean, but the walls and floors are "thin" so could hear people and water running from above and to the sides. The food at the hotel was good, dining service was a bit slow. Saw a sign about a gift shop but never found it.

Room Tip: From what I can tell, it appears all rooms are facing the ocean. Did not really hear traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this matter with us.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our room cleaning, the pool and our good food. The reason why we don´t have a gift shop is because we are located in the city center close to the best shopping centers. In addition we offer complementary essential items: toothpaste, toothbrushes, shavers, etc.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.

We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    103
    62
    33
    13
See reviews for
35
76
33
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for a business trip, was fortunate to get a room in a high floor with a view to the ocean, and it truly was an incredible sight with all the ships heading to the entrance of the Channel. Nothing gets in the way of the landscape and the rooms are designed to take advantage of it. Rooms on the other side get a view of the incredible Panama City architecture, very modern and at the same time tropical, lots of traffic in the nearby streets. If you take your time to walk the neighborhood, you will enjoy a nice walk, not many landmarks, but a residential and hotel area that is very nice, there is a very nice church (Iglesia El Carmen) within walking distance, and nice upscale restaurants all over the area.

The rooms are ample and comfortable, as you would expect on a high end business hotel. I did not suffer any internet problems as reported by others. The pool is great. Can not comment on food besides the breakfast buffet served in a beautiful restaurant, as my other meals were enjoyed in the neighborhood.

Definitively it has been my best experience so far in Panama City, it is a high end hotel, and although the prices might be in the upper tier, the location, rooms, friendly staff and ...did I mention the view of the pacific? made for a great experience. Recommended!

Room Tip: INSIST on getting a room with a view to the Pacific Ocean. The other sides are beautiful also, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share this matter with the world.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our friendly staff, and the good service that we provided you during your stay.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.

We will be waiting for you. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for business. The hotel itself, I don't have much to comment about. Rooms are nice, service is good, pool, fitness center, etc., but this I expect from a pricey business level hotel. They met expectations in these regards. My complaint, which isn't anything the management can do anything about, is the location. You feel kind of isolated here. It is right on the bay highway with a great view of the Pacific and a good part of Panama City's fantastic architecture, but you have to cross a very busy road to get to where the main restaruant and bar zone is. Immediately around the hotel, it is very quiet at night. Granted, the area with movement isn't far away, but Panama City is small, so far away is very relative. If returning I woulkd prefer to stay somewhere with a bit closer to the movement. When I travel for business I like to be able to walk outside, even if just for a few hours, and find something that is not hotel-y really easily. You c n do this better in other parts of the city. An interesting pick might be one of the boutique places opening in the Casco Viejo section or perhaps in the new Trump hotel that recently went up.

Room Tip: Ask fro a room at the end of a hallway, where you will have both views of the ocean and views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regards your experience with the InterContinental Miramar Panama City, Panama. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to the world attention.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our nice rooms, our good service, the great view of the Pacific from our rooms, the pool and fitness center facilities.

Regarding your complaint how to cross the very busy road to get to where the main restaurants and bar zone is. “Immediately around the hotel” it is not a problem anymore, because the government is building a walking bridge to solve this matter. Also there´s a traffic police to help.

Thank you once again, and we hope you will continue to choose Intercontinental Miramar for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had a beautiful marina/ocean view room with Casco Viejo in the panorama as well. The primary reason to stay at this venue is to get an ocean view room. As it is situated on Balboa, it is not in the immediate walkable downtown core near restaurants, shopping, amenities. Considering this is an upscale property, the food needs major improvement. Breakfast buffet was poor/mediocre in terms of quality. Enough variety, but hot items were lukewarm/cold. I had room service a couple of times where I had to call the general service line because no one answered at the room service line. Also, when I requested to see my invoice on the tv the staff was unable to explain to me how to do it - and when they said they would follow up with me when they figured it out, they never did. In summary, again, the primary reason to stay here is to get an ocean fronting room. Although it is farther from the core, cabs are cheap. Most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I gave it three stars because the value in this venue is the physical frontage, which is not related to service. For an Intercontinental brand, expectations may need to be adjusted for service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regards the experience that you had with us. Our goal is to provide consistent high quality service.

It is very important to know that our staff was very pleasant and helpful. In addition, is important to let you that our hotels does not offer TV invoice and at this time we are remodeling the physical frontage.

Our hotel is located between the Cinta Costera Avenue and Balboa Avenue the two most important and beautiful avenues in Panama City, near the Multicentro Mall 5 minutes walking distance, right in front of the hotel is located Calle Uruguay, this street is very popular because of restaurants and night clubs are in there.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans continue to include Intercontinental Miramar Panama.

We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
484 helpful votes 484 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here on business and was very pleased. Nice bed, good bathroom, good breakfast, very easy access. It was a treat to have an ocean view, but not much time in the room to see that. Nice people work here and give good service. Elevators a bit slow at times, but nothing to annoy me. Panama is a lot of flashy and new and this place is nice and clean and standard. It is a class act. Good choice for this great city.

Room Tip: there are two rooms per floor that do not face the ocean - all others face the ocean - demand an oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We want to thank for good comments, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lifesjourney01
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Loved this hotel. Knew the airline staff stayed here quite often and was recommended to me.
Although no balcony, I had a room facing the ocean, high floor, with floor to ceiling windows. The view was amazing...great photo opportunities of the city from your room.
Complimentary drink at the bar upon arrival.
Excellent complimentary breakfast in the morning in large bright restaurant.
Very comfortable beds and pillows. HUGE bathrooms and walk in showers-no tub.
Lovely large pool in the sunshine.
Good location.
Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, high floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We really appreciate your comments, thank you for let us know how we are doing it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Miramar was everything we expected. The room was clean and large, the bed soft and comfortable. Room service was timely when we needed an early morning breakfast. Restaurant staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms/floors seem to be recently renovated. According to our five-year-old they have the best chicken tenders.

Room Tip: Rooms/floors seem to be recently renovated. 15th floor smelled of paint in the hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseManuelRivas, Manager at InterContinental Miramar Panama, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the satisfaction that you have experienced with us. Our goal is to provide consistent high quality service.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans continue to include Intercontinental Miramar Panama.

We will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Miramar Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Miramar Panama

Address: Avenida Balboa and Cinta Costera, Panama City 816-2007, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#20 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Miramar Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Panama Bay and the financial district, this luxury Panama City hotel is ideal for business or leisure. Boasting spacious ocean view suites and a scenic walkway that takes you direct to the marina, the hotel is the perfect spot for watching vessels as they enter the famed Panama Canal. Relax at our poolside restaurant or indulge in a spa treatment. You're ideally located for designer shopping and local markets or exploring the colonial old town of Casco Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Miramar Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Miramar Panama Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
Intercontinental Miramar Panama City
InterContinental Miramar Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Miramar Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.