We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer great hamburger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Rana Dorada

La Rana Dorada
Via Argentina con Arturo Motta / Casco Antiguo / Marbella | Frente a la cabeza de Einstein - El Cangrejo, Panama City, Panama
269-2989 / 269-2990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 475 restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Florida, New York
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great beer great hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went there for lunch bartender very friendly 4 home made beers on tap had a good large hamburger.
Will go back whiled in town.
Place is like a pub

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    45
    40
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great place to hang out !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Last week I vsited La Rana Dorada in Casco Viejo. Good service, great pizza, and a nice ambiance. And a nice selection of homebrewed beers. Highly recommended !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best microbrew in Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Four regular craft beers: Blanche (Belgian style), Pills (lager), Pale Ale, Porter and now a delicious, "hoppy" IPA (India Pale Ale)--There are four taps so right now (February 2013) the IPA is using the tap normally used by the Porter. All are excellent. We say this as former long-time home brewers who won first place for our own IPA in our northern California county fair (and there really was stiff competition as home brewing is very popular in the Sierra foothills!). La Rana Dorada (the golden frog) is the best true micro-brewery in the Republic of Panama (there is another place here in the city that calls itself a brewery but there is no comparison in quality) and it is a joy for those of us who appreciate well-crafted beer as some people prefer lovely wines. The pints are real pints and the alcohol % is higher than in the national beers of Panama, so be forewarned. Worth the $$/Balboas...yet we prefer to go during "happy hour" Monday-Friday 3-7 P.M. At the entrance to Casco Antiguo, the "old quarter" of Panama City, yes, there is traffic, but the location is still great and the people watching is priceless. Plus, if you want, you can cross the street and walk on the Cinta Costera (coastal belt) along the Bay of Panama. The Via Argentina location by the head of Einstein may have a bigger space but the beers are not brewed there--they are transported from the Casco Antiguo location. This may not matter much, but we prefer the Casco Antiguo location and, yes, both Brad, the BrewMaster, and Marshall, the assistant BrewMaster, are extremely knowledgeable and experienced and are often happy to answer questions and share stories. All part of the color and fun atmosphere. Lots of international clients as a couple of well-known hostels are just up the street and attract an interesting mix of travelers. In addition to the excellent brews, the pizzas are delicious, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

As one of the two breweries in Panama City, it is a hot-spot for beer-lovers. Most of Panama doesn't have micro-brews, so when I am in the city, I make sure to hit up La Rana. Their Pale Ale is my favorite by far.

The location in Casco Viejo is nice to go, enjoy a beer, and maybe a pizza appetizer with friends. You can sit outside and enjoy the views of the skyline, however it is right next to the busy road into Casco Viejo, so prepare yourself for some traffic noise. you can also sit inside, see the brewery, and chat up the Master Brewer who is very friendly.

The location on Via Argentina (ask for Cabeza de Einstien if you're taking a cab) is a bit bigger and has more of a pub feel. They have a bigger menu and delicious burgers and the same great beer!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to the location in Casco Viejo twice, which is a really nice place. We sat outside in the evening and the pizza was great, good people watching, and had the taster boat. Our favorite was the blanche beer. We went back in the daytime (after visiting the Seafood Market which is walking distance away) and sat at the bar inside...had more blanche beers and bought pint glasses as souvenirs which have great logos but were a bit steep at $8 each (luckily they made it home in one piece). We also went to the First Annual International Panamanian Beer Festival and La Rana Dorada had an IPA on tap there which I wouldn't have classified as an IPA but made for a very tasty pale ale...maybe this will become a regular beer at their cervezeria? Definitely worth a stop here, especially if you're sick of Balboas and Panamas.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rana Dorada also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to La Rana Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rana Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.