We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money enjoyable experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Las Tinajas

Restaurante Las Tinajas
Calle 51 #22 | Bellavista, Panama City, Panama
(507) 263-7890, (507) 269-3840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 524 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Want to learn about Panamanian culture by way of cuisine and dance? A stop at Tinajas not only offers authentic and classic Panamanian dishes in an old colonial house setting, but also costumed folkloric and dance performances. Catch these shows at 9 p.m. on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.
Las Lajas, Panama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value for money enjoyable experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visited this restaurant in March 2013 to celebrate the final days of our stay in Panama.There are very few places in the CIty that put on such an evening of evening meal with a dance floor show of traditional folklore dancing in national costume.Good value for money and very entertaining.Food ok but floor show better.Good service but obviously targeted to the tourist market, despite this a very enjoyable evening. Expect to pay around $80 for 2 which includes show plus meal with drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    55
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and great show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were at Las Tinajas a couple of nights ago. You should make reservations if you would like to see the show. The show was great and only cost $5, with a minimum requirement of ordering $12 in food. With shared appetizers, a drink, dinner, dessert, show and tip, our meals cost about $40 per person, which was quite pricey for Panama, but good for a treat every once and a while. The restaurant recommends having dinner at 8 pm if you are planning to watch the show, but with everyone arriving at 8 pm, it gets extremely busy. We arrived at 7:30 pm and were able to eat dinner and dessert before the show. We had a great time and would recommend it to others as a treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place, awesome show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I just went to Tinajas yesterday and were very pleased with the service and even more with the show. We got a great table right in the front of the stage and we were able to record some of the show. The sound is fantastic and the musicians are very entertaining as they have so much passion for their work. You can feel such a great atmosphere. The dancers are very enthusiastic.
We got lemonade and Ropa vieja and liked very much. For dessert flan. The bill for two was 84.
We also got some good pictures with the dancers and my husband was picked to dance with them after the show. We had a blast!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average food, great show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had been to a few other panamanian restaurants before heading to Las Tinajas, and the food wasn't as great. The one thing that sets Las Tinajas apart is the dance show, and it's worth a visit for that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great show and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently took my family to the Tinajas restaurant. We did our reservations a month in advanced, as I wanted to have a good table and close the stage. The food was very good, and the show was excellent. My kids had so much fun, that a week after they were dress pretending to the be the dancers, and the band players. I trully recommend this place, for a great Panamanian evening, and order the Guacho de Mariscos! We sat next to the stage, and it was a great place to enjoy the evening show.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Tinajas also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Restaurante Las Tinajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Las Tinajas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.