We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cebollines

Los Cebollines
CC Plaza Pacifica, Local No. 2 | Paitilla, Panama City, Panama
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 524 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tel.: 396-7377
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoyed our Mexican dinner at Los Cebollines. I have eaten at several Mexican restaurants in Panama City and the food ranged from bad to terrible, so this was nice surprise. Staff is very friendly and seems eager to make patrons happy and comfortable. It was a surprise when they brought the salsa cart to our table and made us a custom salsa based on the ingredients we preferred, and it was good! I had some kind of traditional taco or something - the cheese was a little strange - sort of stiff. My boyfriend had a seafood burrito dish and loved it. Staff was very attentive. The decor and ambiance was very pleasant. Unfortunately we did not have room for dessert. Prices seemed reasonable and it is located in a popular safe residential area. of Panama City - Paitilla, where the Super 99 is located. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I planned on eating at Marina Marina, but upon finding that it had closed, walked to the other side of the strip mall and decided to try Los Cebollines (a quick 5-10 min walk from Trump Ocean Club, where we were staying). Very nice ambiance, staff spoke some English. Big menu, lots of choices. We received the usual chips and salsa first, but were pleasantly surprised to have the salsa prepared table side to our specifications. And it was delicious! $7.00 margaritas were jumbo and strong. Our waiter Juan was great - very helpful. Service was good, nothing like some of the Panama horror stories I've read about. We'll return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Food was bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

One doesn't expect Mexican food to be bland and tasteless, yet somehow Los Cebollines managed to consistently serve us bland food. Even salsas prepared table side were bland. C'mon people...add some salt, lime and picante!

The margaritas were decent and probably what made our evening the a little more enjoyable.

Service was mediocre. They had lots of people on staff, however they were standing around talking to each other instead of helping customers.

You can miss this place, if you're craving Mexican in Panama, try Rosa Mexicano (pricey) or Burrito DF (for something cheaper).

BTW - Their signature garnish of grilled "Los Cebollines" (spring onions) is just stupid, they were burnt and tough. I hate getting inedible garnishes on a plate!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh salsa made tableside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Eight of us went on a Sunday evening. Everyone enjoyed their margaritas. Several had chicken quesadillas which were so large they all had take-aways for lunch the next day. My husband and I shared the bacon-wrapped grilled shrimp with rice - plenty for two people. Very tasty. So much so that we have ordered it each of the three times we've been here. A highlight is the fresh salsa made to taste (spicy/medium/mild) right at tableside. Also, the guacamole was good. The ambiance, as noted by others, is delightful. We found the hostess and servers to be efficient and friendly. They spoke enough English to accommodate our limited Spanish. And they provided separate checks, which is not always a granted request at area restaurants. All in all, we enjoyed our dinner and plan to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista Alegre
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, Fabulous Margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Finally a margarita at a restaurant in Panama City that tastes like it has tequila in it. Didn't mind paying $7.50. My quesadillas were good. The other 11 ladies in our party said their food was also good. As to the other reviews that this restaurant is not truly Mexican, not in Mexico and a couple other Mexican restaurants I've been to weren't authentic, were way over priced and margaritas were mainly mix. Decor is lovely and seating is broken up so it isn't a big noisy room. Loved the ceiling lights. Service was slow the day we ate there, but Panama still lags behind in service in most restaurants. Location is a small mall that gives you the opportunity to find a parking space, sometimes. Nice photos at the Degusta Panama website. Link below.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Cebollines also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Los Cebollines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cebollines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.