We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooftop View of both Casco Viejo and Panama City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tantalo Kitchen

Tantalo Kitchen
Calle 8 y Avenida B | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
507-262-4030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 582 Restaurants in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Great Rooftop View of both Casco Viejo and Panama City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This restaurant has great food and is in great part of Casco Viejo. The Rooftop bar is a must see attraction. While at this chic bar you can enjoy the views of both Casco Viejo as well as Panama City.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    199
    50
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Our group convened here on our last night together. Several people ordered different types of ceviche, all were great.

Small plates, so two options make a nice meal. I had the salmon carpaccio and the sea bass cakes.

The restaurant was busy on a Friday night and it was often difficult to get our server's attention. Check out the naughty wallpaper in the baños!

Reasonably priced for a nice, trendy restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stumbled into this place completely by accident with a group of friends and it turned out to be one of the best nights out we've had. Our waiter was Felipè who was attentive, patient and an all round great guy. The food and drinks were awesome. We all ordered different dishes and had a wonderful time trailing all the dishes (not one disappointed) and we followed that by ordering 6 different desserts (all fantastic). I can speak highly enough about this place. Also do make your way to the roof top bar after dinner; the view is beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Doesn't live up to hype...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food was OK. I had eaten here a couple times when it had just opened and actually liked it a lot better then. As is often the case, with increased hype, the quality of the food/service has gone down. Unhelpful, unfriendly staff. Definitely not one of the top tier restaurants in Panama, would recommend Maito for the best Panamanian fine dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Excellent terrace for having a nice drink overlooking the city, colorful crowd, great mochito, caribean music, need to know spanish to mingle...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantalo Kitchen also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Tantalo Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantalo Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.