We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday night is half price food night! Casco Viejo on a Monday night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantalo Kitchen

Tantalo Kitchen
Calle 8 y Avenida B | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
507-262-4030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 524 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Monday night is half price food night! Casco Viejo on a Monday night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We wandered around Casco Viejo for awhile on a Monday night, and found that, like Sunday, most places were closed. When we were directed to check out the spectacular rooftop view we found out the it was half-price food on Monday nights. The food was incredibly delicious and almost each small plate could have served as a whole meal. The drinks were a little pricey but with the super friendly staff and amazing design of the restaurant it was more than worth it. Drinks on the rooftop after were also as spectacular as recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    151
    40
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool place...bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Tantalo is a very trendy tapas restaurant, with nice ambiance.
Unfortunately the food was well below average, despite all the good reviews regarding the food.
The ceviche was horrible, the pork tapas were tasteless, and the octopus tantalo was really bad.
What a shame for the supposed 6th best restaurant in Panama.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great food, drinks and good prices.
It's located in one of the most famous places in Panama City, Casco Viejo "Old Quarter", dont miss it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Terrific rooftop bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My first visit was last week for the USA v Panama World Cup Qualifier. It was busy, but not crowded, and I sat at the bar to watch while drinking a few beers.

They have good WiFi, so I went back for lunch another day and got the BBQ pork sandwich and an ice tea for $5.50 off their set lunch menu, which is larger than any I've ever seen in Latin America. The portion size was good too.

Another night I went for dinner--mushroom risotto, delicious.

And last night, I stepped up on the rooftop deck for a mojito ($7) at sunset, and views of the skyline. There were two private parties happening, so most of the deck was closed off, but they reserved some space for other customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip!! A must try when in Panama!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Truly delicious! Tantalo came highly recommended by many locals we met on our trip. We ordered almost the whole menu and we couldn't believe the flavors and portion size! The prices are very reasonable especially for how much food comes on each plate. I live on Maui and we have very competitive restaurants here and Tantalo would steal the show! I will talk about the great service, the delicious food and the very chic ambience found througout the restaurant and rooftop bar or sometime to come. You must try the skirt steak au gratin, prawns in red sauce, mac n cheese, pad thai and pulled pork tapas. Great wine list with prices that are fair. And you MUST check out the roof top patio after dinner! The views of the skyline can't be beat! Wasn't sure if I as in Miami or not?! Tantalo my new favorite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tantalo Kitchen also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Tantalo Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantalo Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.