We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is one of the best ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Panama

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Panama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Panama
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47th St. & Uruguay Street, Panama City, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Luxury from $159
Ranked #11 of 108 hotels in Panama City
Port St Lucie, United States
1 review
“Staff is one of the best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great staff at all levels. Front desk remembered our name, great help with booking tours and car service to tourist sites etc. Location was central but not on main road, short walk to cafes and markets.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear David R,
We are delighted to have been your home during your recent stay in Panama City. It is true we offer not only great service and amenities, but also a great location near malls, restaurants and historic sites. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    95
    39
    16
    17
See reviews for
78
147
21
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The best hotel in Panama City. I would definitely go back and stay there as many time that I need to come back for business or vacation. GREAT Corporate Rate which include Wi-Fi and Breakfast for Business Trip. The service is definitely what you really expect for Waldorf Astoria Hotel...GREAT SERVICE, the staff very friendly, the bed in the room very comfortable. I had the opportunity to eat at both restaurants. The best breakfast is at Brio Restaurant I enjoyed it every single morning. I had the opportunity to eat the BEST SUSHI in Panama City at GINGER Restaurant. Amazing service, atmosphere and the most important the best and fresh quality of food. This Hotel is definitely a must to stay for business or vacation.....!!!
I would like to THANK YOU the whole staff at Waldorf Astoria for the wonderful experience staying there the last week...!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear jessica-panama2014,
Thank you for allowing us to host you and provide you with great living/lounging spaces and the amenities you would expect from a great hotel. Our property is the middle of a growing city, and we feel we are a comforting gem amidst all this.
It is great to read you experienced what the True Waldorf Service is all about, it is the little things that you write about in your review that set us apart and help guests like you feel at home. We value your business and hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Buyer beware, the other reviews are right, this property does not stand up to the Waldorf name. I am currently here on the last day of my stay and absolutely irate at the service I have received, especially as a Hilton Silver member. The staff simply doesn't know how to keep up with the higher end service expected at a Waldorf - upon check in when I asked if there were any available upgrades the woman said to me well you have an ocean front room. That is not an upgrade, that's what I paid for. Turns out the ocean front room actually looks out onto some dump of a construction site with a sliver of ocean in the background. There are tons of staff members standing around but no one know how to help with anything. We needed to figure out how to get in touch with United to change our flight and it literally took them 45 minutes to find a number. Same with a request for a local pharmacy. The concierge is never at the desk, called for 1 hour to try to get an iron in the room which never happened so I gave up. The wifi is not free, not even if you're a loyal Hilton member. Oh and if you're staying on a Fri or Sat night expect to hear the bass pumping from nearby clubs til at least 3-4am.

I can say that the bed in the room was very comfortable and I enjoyed the toiletries in the bathroom and appreciated the extra towels. However these details were not enough to make up for what lacks in service at this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear nica33,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you during your recent visit to Panama City. We welcome your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It is unfortunate to hear we were not able to offer you a room upgrade during your stay and we are sorry about all other issues with the information you requested, the noise at night, and your room view. We will look into these matters with the appropriate staff.

We are excited you enjoyed your room amenities and hope we have a chance to welcome you again so that we can exceed your expectations and thus help you create better memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you have ever stayed in any Waldorf you would know what i mean.With that said, this is a great hotel and I would definitely be going back next time I go to panama city. The service is on point and so friendly.
No Spanish, not problem.
What I didn't like was that we had arrived early after a red eye and they couldn't give us a room and we had to wait for about 2 hours. I know hotel policies and stuff but come on no way that place was fully booked. Its probably was the red eye but i remember that did upset me. The friendly staff like 100% made up for it though, (shout out to Oliver! if the hotel management is reading this give that dude a raise or something.)
Lastly, Just a tip here but many cabs do not know where this hotel is! Do yourself a favour and ask the front desk for the area and close land marks to tell the cab driver and don't be afraid to haggle with the cabs your already being ribbed off so anything you can get back is a small win.

Room Tip: Many rooms have an ocean view but only a few have a balcony so make sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear ChrisA_Trini,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent visit to Panama. We are delighted you found our accommodations and services to your liking. We look forward to continue offering you the same great service on your next visit to the city. Thank you for your comments; we will tell Oliver you mentioned him and congratulate him for his great service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria during an extended layover in Panama...in fact we specifically decided to stay an extra night when we chose this hotel thinking we would spoil ourselves with a mini-vacation in the middle of a longer trip. However, the service really was not that great, and I ended up wishing that we had either chosen a different hotel, or cut our trip short. The hotel is lovely, but it does not have ocean views like I had hoped, and the pool area leaves you wishing for something better. All in all it wasn't bad, I just expected much more.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Amy R,
Warm regards from Panama City, and thank you for allowing us to welcome you during your recent stay. Thank you for your comments. It is true that not all rooms have a clear view of the ocean. We hope we have a chance to welcome you again during your next visit and provide you with a better room option. Please don't hesitate to contact us with further questions or comments. We would love to hear from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My Husband and I had such a wonderful experience at The Waldorf Astoria in Panama City. The price was right, the location was great, and the hotel was amazing! The fitness center and pool were very nice and convenient. The staff was extremely helpful in giving us suggestions for activities during our stay. Would most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Sara F,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the city. We are specially glad that you had a chance to try our wonderful amenities and found our fitness center and pool to your liking.
Our staff undergoes regular training in order to continue to improve their service, and so it is wonderful to read they catered to all your needs. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Panama City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped into the Bistro Brassiere to get out of a December downpour and had a most delightful glass of wine & appetizer. The service was elegant, starting out with a selection of sliced lime, orange or grapefruit for our water glass! The waiter who reminded us of Denzel Washington, was superb. It was a memorable sfternoon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaVictoriaB_WA, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria Panama, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Ronacher,
Thank you for allowing us to welcome you to a great culinary option in the heart of Panama City. It is one of the many wonderful things we offer at the Waldorf Astoria Panama, and we are delighted we had a chance to delight you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Panama

Address: 47th St. & Uruguay Street, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Panama 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria Panama is conveniently located on Calle Uruguay, a vibrant street known for its entertainment and restaurants, and only within steps from the financial banking center. This new hotel jewel will feature 248 guestrooms, suites and luxury residences as well as an array of culinary options to serve the most exquisite palates. Cozy meeting rooms will accommodate an intimate business gathering or a memorable social event. A spacious and comforting area awaits you at the Waldorf Astoria Spa, an oasis of relaxation adjacent to a large exercise area by Life Fitness and a shimmering pool where you will enjoy the beautiful sun rays or a beautiful starred night next to a cozy shade. Your guests will certainly enjoy inviting facilities with sophisticated furnishings and an ample number of restaurants and activities within the hotel, as well as experience the sincerest definition of personalized service while living the True Waldorf Service, which aims to offer guests luxury attention during a memorable stay in Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.