We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Inn to your Saves list
Magnolia Inn
8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Magnolia Inn is a home away from home. It is located in Casco Veijio, the historic district of Panama City. It is within walking distance to many historic landmarks; including the Fish Market, Balboa Ave, stores and restaurants. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned every everyday, and if a minor situation arise, it is dealt immediately. In the dorm, each bed has individual lamp, and it comes with an AC which is a blessing in hot, humid weather. The kitchen is clean and well stocked. Having ice cubes in my drink every day was refreshing! What makes Magnolia Inn stand above the rest is the staff! Cherie, Reggie, Maria, Stefano, and Karloz are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable who take the time to provide exceptional service. Thanks staff :) My twelve days at your inn was memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaInnPanama, Owner at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Cindy, We truly enjoyed getting to know you too. We are delighted you found The Magnolia Inn a comfortable, super clean, friendly place to stay in Casco Viejo.
Hope to see you again in Panama or maybe some day in Canada.
Cherie and Reggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    68
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
80
56
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed staying in this 18th century building behind the Cathedral. This American owned hotel is run by friendly and helpful owners. Reggie and Cherri arranged Karloz to pick us up at the airport and Karloz spoke excellent English. We used this hotel as a "home base" while we were travelling in Panama. Reggie and Cherri were so helpful with giving suggestions on what to see and how to get there. The rooms were clean, spacious and air conditioned. The balconies are charming. The Magnolia Inn is in a great location. The best place to stay in Casco Viejo.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MagnoliaInnPanama, Owner at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Denise,
We enjoyed getting to know you and your husband. It is our pleasure to point out Casco Viejo's best places to eat, drink, or visit. Glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Cherie and Reggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for 1 week and was made to feel at home. It was cleaned every morning top to bottom and my sheets were changed twice without having to ask.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and if anything ever needing assessing it was done immediately.
The hostel rooms are great value, with beautiful high ceilings, balconies, private lights on every bed and free standing lockers.
This is not a party hostel but can be very social if you want it to be.
Fantastic hostel in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family and I loved this charming, newly remolded hotel. We stayed at the beginning of our trip on the second floor in a nice room with a mini fridge, air conditioning and fan. Later, in the third floor suite, upon our return to the city. The suite was spacious with all the first room included, additionally a coffee maker and a great view of the area. The owners are friendly and extremely helpful, they allowed us to store luggage while we visited various islands. They gave us resturant recommendations, excellent directions and made our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: 2A was great, along with 3C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stubled upon the Magnolia Inn when looking for a place to stay in Casco Viejo. It has been our favorite place to stay so far on our trip. The location is excellent and it was super easy to walk all around the Casco using the Magnolia as our home.

The hostel/hotel has beautiful classic architecture and you feel like you are taken back in time (in a good way). The owners Reggie and Cherrie couldn't be nicer and they really go out of there way to make you feel at home and part of their family. They were extremely helpful with recommending restaurants and guiding us on what to see in Casco in general.

The Magnolia is both a hostel and hotel (the nicest hostel ever!). There is a full kitchen, dining area and living room where you get to meet and mingle with other travelers. We felt extremely safe during our entire stay. We stayed in one of their standard double rooms which was lovely. Air conditioner, private bathroom, tv, it was perfect. We then moved to their penthouse suite for our last night and it was amazing. The view from the 3rd floor balcony was incredible and the suite was fabulous.

As others have mentioned, the entire Casco area is under construction but we still slept very well. It is just good to know in case you are very sensitive to noise.

We both fell in love with Casco Viejo and it is trully a very special place. We want to thank both Cherrie and Reggie for their wonderful hospitality. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Magnolia Inn has loads of charm and personality, both because of its classic architecture and the helpfulness of everyone who works there. Located in the very cool (and safe) old section of the city, called Casco Viejo, it's easy to walk to good restaurants, the canal museum, historic churches, and pretty side streets. My room (2B) was simple, quiet, and clean, with AC, a small fridge, and a private bathroom across the hall for a very fair price. I arrived at night and Ryan waited while I washed up and walked me to a nearby place to eat, making sure I knew exactly how to get back to the hotel. Very solicitous.

Do be aware that there is much construction going on in Casco, so make sure your room is off the street to avoid the noise. My only real criticism is breakfast: Coffee is provided in the communal kitchen, but no one told me that I should purchase my own food if I wanted to make a meal or even have some fruit. There should be a note about the kitchen arrangements included when you make a reservation. Other than that, an ideal stop in fascinating Panama City.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have access to a private balcony and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay in hostels while exploring central America but also wanted our privacy. Magnolia Inn went past the "hostel" side of that equation. Its very boutique but also has great common areas and spaces for you to meet other travelers. We stayed in a room with its own private bath and shower which was worth the extra cost. Also the AC and mini fridge in the room was an unexpected bonus! Regie was so helpful and informative answering my never-ending questions on casco Viejo, the culture, and the history. They helped us get a driver to and from the airport as well as tour us around the city. Would definitely stay here again if and when back in Panama City!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn is located in the heart of Casco Viejo, Panama City's historic neighborhood. This charming hotel offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. The restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-frig and safe deposit boxes. Magnolia Inn also offers stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dinning room is available for all guest to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. There is also a floor with 5 luxury hostel / dorm rooms with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.