We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for a stay in Panama City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Magnolia Inn to your Saves list
Magnolia Inn
8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The perfect place for a stay in Panama City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This inn is for everyone, as they have dorms or private rooms (both are large and so comfortable !). Everything is brand new, clean, with lot of light.
Above all, the owners, Reggie and his wife, are the perfects hosts ; welcoming, warm, they advise you on where and how to go, and treat you like real guests. I have been sick during one of my stay and they took great care of me. I felt like with family :)
I can only recommend a stay at their inn.
Thanks again for everything !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    66
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
80
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

after 6 days in the bush's of colombia and 2 days in middle of newhere we finally got by accedent to magnolita! we were planing of going to a diffrenet hostel somehow we found this hostel and stayed there!
\first of all the rooms were grea! really good aircondition and good shower!
the bed were really conmfurtable so you could have a good night sleep...
the kitchen is really big.. and you can preper really good meals, you have everything you need for the perfect meal :)

now the most important, our story:)
my friend who travelled with me got cut from the apar part of the bed.. and actully got a really serioes cut..
so we werent really sure what to do, and than came for our help the Sherrie the manager.
she staright away took us to her private doctor, and realy took care of us.
the first thing when we got back to the hostel sherrie took care of the "dangerous" part and covered it up so no one could get injerud again.

the thing is, of course it wasnt sepouse to happen..but it did,, and sherrie really fast fixed everything and was so helpful afterwards!
few days later we even came back again specially to the hostel becuase we enjoyed it so much!
thank you very much for everything!

Room Tip: most of the hostel rooms are the same, so it doesnt matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent two nights at the Magnolia Inn in Panama City while visiting my daughter Miranda, who is a Peace Corps volunteer in Panama. Miranda has stayed at the hostel but for our visit we stayed in one of the Penthouse rooms on 3rd floor rooms. Very clean rooms and great views of the city. The staff were awesome and very helpful in helping us get to our different destinations. The room was very well decorated and comfortable and price was reasonable. Look forward to visiting Panama and staying there next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

High quality hostel...
While spending time waiting in Panama City for a Brazilian visa, and mending some various health ailments (3rd world eye disease from Panama...ach), my boyfriend and I spent 5 nights at the Magnolia Inn. Upon arrival, I immediately needed to find an eye doctor. Thus, the owners and staff quickly made some calls, and got me an appointment at Punta Pacifica hospital that afternoon. Everyday following, the owners asked me how I was doing. Feeling pretty poorly, it felt nice to have a 'mom and dad' watching out for me. In addition, this friendly hostel was clean (with new bathrooms and showers), had sturdy/large bunk beds, and offered a quiet place to escape from the busy city. If you are looking for high quality, budget accommodations with a family feel, then definitely try Magnolias. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Well Panama City is a shock. The most incredible contrast and more like hong kong than a laid back central american city.
Casco is amazing like new orleans crossed with Havana with a bit of spain thrown in. Its the best time to go now as the old ruins are quickly being remodelled and it will become another cool middle class destination soon.
So to the Magnolia, I arranged for Carlos the hotels driver to collect me from the airport. He is friendly, knowledgeable and street smart with good English.
The Hotel has more of an upscale bed a breakfast feel without the breakfast. You can buy your own food and cook it in the kitchen or there are great little places around the corner.
Cherie and Reggie are good hosts. They love their adopted home and will work with you to help you make the most of your stay. the personal touch is such a great change and warm American hospitality in a foreign land always helps.
I stayed in two rooms, both good but if you can spend the extra a get room 3C, one of the most amazing views from any hotel room I have ever had.
highly recommended.

Room Tip: 3c there is no pool or fitness centre but tripadvisor imade me fill it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Magnolia Inn was a great find and we couldn't of done it without the excellent reviews on here. Communication from the office was professional, the staff were all very helpful on arrival and friendly throughout our stay. We stayed in room 2b which has the bathroom located separately across from the room. This wasnt a problem for us. The room had two large double beds, nicely decorated with modern furnishings (flat screen tv etc) and was super clean with fresh towels every day if needed. The shared areas were also nicely decorated and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils and appliances. The location is excellent with many top restaurants close by plus supermarket and cheaper eateries also. Didn't see the dorm rooms so can't comment. Overall would highly recommend for a single person or couple.

Room Tip: Room 2b may be cheaper than the other rooms on level 2 as the bathroom is separate.. And would easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in every room type available from the amazingly comfortable dorms to the private rooms on the second floor. Reg and Cherie and their staff are wonderful hosts and truly make you and everyone else feel comfortable and welcome. We felt like family and were treated great.
The shared bathrooms and showers are the best you will find at any hotel or hostel. We had been traveling for six months and desperately needed somewhere clean, quiet and relaxing with a bed like a cloud. On top of that the community kitchen is spectacular, with real cookware, knives and glasses too!! The location can't be beat, with so much going on in Casco and this place is in the heart of it. It is worth a trip to Panama just to stay here. The other guests were friendly, happy and we all had alot of fun. Highly recommend staying here. Great value. Great prices. Clean. Comfortable and Inviting!!!

Room Tip: The second floor private rooms are just amazing. The dorms are also a great value and extremely cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Address: 8-18 Calle Boquete & Calle 8va, 111 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Inn is located in the heart of Casco Viejo, Panama City's historic neighborhood. This charming hotel offers comfortable and spacious deluxe private rooms. The restored French colonial mansion is full of historic character, as well as modern conveniences such as A/C, orthopedic beds, free Wi-Fi Internet, mini-frig and safe deposit boxes. Magnolia Inn also offers stylish social areas to relax and meet fellow guests. A fully equipped kitchen and sunbathed dinning room is available for all guest to use and coffee and tea is offered free all day. There is also a floor with 5 luxury hostel / dorm rooms with comfortable beds and A/C. Within a couple blocks from the hotel you can enjoy Casco Viejo's attractions such as the Presidential Palace, Metropolitan Cathedral, the Canal Museum, National Theater, Las Bovedas, and many others. Casco Viejo also is home to art galleries, great restaurants, and some of the city's best bars. Private car service is available for a fee, you are greeted inside Tocumen (PTY) international airport with a sign. The English speaking driver helps you with your bags and brings you to the front desk of the Magnolia Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Inn Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.