We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar to your Saves list
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel, having picked it to avoid the large international chains in the newer part of town. The location is amazing in the Old Town and there are many restaurants and bars you can walk to.

The hotel is itself fantastic from the moment you check in until you check out. Excellent service from all members of the team (restaurant, front desk and roof top bar tenders) and very boutique with excellent design. Rita on the front desk was always very courteous and helpful and is a great asset to the hotel.

I stayed there with my parents and was initially concerned that the noise from the roof top bar might disturb them but the rooms are very quiet. We were never disturbed by noise.

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room on the 2nd floor (it is furthest away from the roof top bar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sastravel15,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you and your parents enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    69
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
18
96
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at tantalo. On reading the reviews I was worried about the noise but it wasn't a problem even with work going on in the street outside. We ate at the restaurant at night and it was one of the best meals of the trip. The rooftop bar is stunning.

Now onto the rooms, they were so luxurious and comfortable. The bed was the most delicious place I have ever slept and the artwork was really quirky.

Finally the staff, especially Rita were fantastic especially when they heard we were on honeymoon. We couldn't of asked for a better place to end our trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Madcow4985,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you and your husband enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are going to Panama City, this is the best place to stay. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels iall around the world and this one was the best. It is located in Casco Viejo, the best place to stay in town. The service and staff were excellent (especially Ladissa and Andrea). They accommodated our every need. They provide free bike rentals and free cell phone rental. They also provide free gourmet breakfast (and pack it for you if you have an early flight). The hotel is also beautiful. Every room is uniquely decorated by a Panamanian artist. The rooftop bar is also one of the best nightlife places (but you can hear the noise from you room!). It is also very affordable!

Room Tip: The only problem was that the King sized bed was put together with two beds, so it had a crack in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Sabrina,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. The service was wonderful (Rita at the front dest will take care of everything for you!). Our room was on the second floor and was beautifully decorated and had beautiful murals on the wall. Although we were warned it might be loud at night, we had no problem sleeping even with the bar open on the roof. The rooftop bar was wonderful, breezy and the Zen-Jito mixed drinks were addictive. This is an all around great spot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Alysse

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Super cool restaurant.....love the decor. Very clean....The food was delish.......the beet (vegetable) carpaccio was out of this world. The beef was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. Alittle pricey but worth it. The rooftop was not open but I peeked anyway. Looks really cool.....if traffic was not so bad in Panama City I would go more often. Casco is a great area but no parking and is under construction so the traffic is horrible! You could stay in casco without a car if you are traveling here. It will be awesome when it is completed. I did not stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dbam25,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a decent small plates restaurant in the heart of Casco Viejo, the "old" side of Panama City. This area is the home of the government, but it is also the home of some shady areas that don't inspire confidence in one's safety after dark. Nonetheless, in the immediate areas around the restaurant, everything appears to be on the up-and-up.

The draw of this restaurant was the rooftop bar/lounge. Unfortunately, though we went for lunch and it was a beautiful day outside, the rooftop was closed because of the heat. (In the middle of Panama, you would think that everyone would be accustomed to the temperature, but alas, I don't make the rules.)

That said, the food is categorized as a "small plates" menu. To allow room for ordering more variety, we started with only 3 items: pad thai with chicken and shrimp, sea bass cakes, and mac 'n' cheese. If these are small plates, I can't imagine the size of an entree! We were thoroughly stuffed after lunch.

Pad Thai: I'm not a pad thai fan, but this was pretty good, and I've never seen the combination of both chicken and shrimp in the same dish.

Sea Bass Cakes: They weren't a "wow" flavor, but it was a decent addition to the meal.

Mac 'N' Cheese: Good. Very good. It seems that they used a white wine and cheese sauce rather than the standard over-cheesed mix you see in most casseroles. It added a surprising but delectable essence to the plate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Loved the Tantalo - each room is individually designed to be unique and pretty large. they have a fantastic rooftop bar that was very fun on Saturday night with a DJ. It's also really conveniently located in Casco Viejo which is like a great mix of Soho and Miami with some old world architecture thrown in. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia S, Guest Relations Manager at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Lilyin,

Thank you very much for all your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our different environments at Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, always full of art, good vibes, good service and surprises for our customers.

Hope to see you soon to continue enjoying the beautiful Panama city with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar

Address: Avenida B Calle 8 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is created with the mindset that we u different spaces as one commercial organism that is constantly evolving throughout the day / night. Tantalo is a 12-room hotel, a restaurant featuring a communal kitchen-style atmosphere serving shared comfort dishes influenced by ingredients from around the globe, the lively ground floor bar / lounge and finally the only public outdoor rooftop bar / lounge in Casco Viejo with incredible views. Each hotel room features individually designed custom art by different local artists ensuring that no two rooms will be the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.