We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional but high end crafts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karavan Gallery

Karavan Gallery
Calle 3, between Avenida A & Central | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
+507 228-5161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Shopping in Panama City
Type: Art Galleries, Shopping
Attraction details
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Traditional but high end crafts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Across from the Arco Chato this quaint store combines traditional Kuna craft with high-end goods for a beautiful combinations that will fit easily in any home.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful crafts, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent in every way. Helpful staff. Knowledgable and informative about the things they are selling. I felt good about knowing that the craftspeople are treated well by the store (fair trade). Unpretentious yet elegant store!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gulfcoast florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excited to find Karavan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had viewed reviews before our trip and, when I actually walked by Karavan, I was pleased to step inside. Upscale goods, very reasonable prices, and attractively displayed. I came home with a painting and 2 pillow covers, so you can see that I was a Karavan convert. (oh, a couple of their items were priced below what they were asking in the "flea market stalls.)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
855 reviews 855 reviews
471 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
1,135 helpful votes 1,135 helpful votes
“Souvenirs a cut above the ordinary, but still just souvenirs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I spent some time walking around this somewhat upscale souvenir shop in Casco Antiguo, and while we didn't buy anything here (for more unusual native Panamanian crafts go to the shop called "Papiro y Yo" nearby), clearly the items on sale were a cut above many of the other souvenir shops in this neighborhood.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the detour if your looking for genuine souvenir!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have found some nice souvenirs at this gallery which has open a new location on Avenida A, during all the construction taking place in Casco Antiguo right now. They sell nice variety of indigenous arts, from ceremonial hats to masks and weaved arts like baskets and vases. They also have fun pillow cases and tablecloths; all locally made. You can see the women working on their pieces in the gallery while you walk around. The women working there are really nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karavan Gallery also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Karavan Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karavan Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.