We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tua

Ranked #48 of 486 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: "This is a lovely, quiet restaurant with excellent Italian and European food. I'd love to get it onto Trip Advisor! It is reviewed on Degustapanama.com".
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The two best things are the service and the atmosphere. Don't expect anything fancy in terms of the decor of the place. What appeals most is that it is kept simple and it gives you the feeling of sitting in someone's home. The place is small and cozy.

The owner is fantastic and knows how to make guests feel welcome. The food is good italian fare at a very reasonable price. It has the best coffee in town. Finally a barista that doesn't burn the beans and knows how to foam milk.

This is the place to go to if you have a hankering for a home cooked meal in a homely atmosphere with decent service. A nice break from all the pretentious places that never manage to deliver the same experience more than once.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really good Italian food, the only problem is the space, little bit small. The owner is there,attending the clients which you don't see very often in Panama. Very friendly staffs and overall, we love the food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Panama City, Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our first trip to PC so I did my research on restaurants on Trip Advisor before departing. I liked the reviews for Casa Tua, especially since we arrived on Friday, the only night they prepare Osso Buco.

The owner seated us and made recommendations in perfect English. We started with a bottle of Orvieto which was good and not too expensive at $32. We shared appetizers of Cabrese Salad and Pulpa (octopus) Salad, both specials that evening. For our entre course my wife had the Corvina (a white fish like sea bass), and I of course had the Osso Buco served with a mushroom risotto. Both meals were well prepared and delicious. I'm a hearty eater, and I could not finish my meal. For dolce we shared a delectable passion fruit mousse.

We observed other dinner guests enjoying pasta meals. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Many patrons seemed to be regulars well known to the owner and staff.

Our total dinner tab with tax and tip came to $128. We thought the meals were fairly priced.

The restaurant is located in the San Francisco district, about a ten minute taxi ride from the commercial and casino district bordering on Via Espana. I highly recommend Casa Tua Gastromique Italiano.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Return to Casa Tua and was dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Some how I need to follow up on my original review. The restaurant food remains average. THE ATTENTION and the need to get you out the door quickly is so obvious that makes your night out a BIG disappointment. When the waiter brings your main dish while you are still enjoying (or at least trying) your appetizer and you have to interrupt the occasion to accommodate the plate since the tables are very small, it really spoils your evening. The Owner wandering around makes the environment a little bit charge and you can tell that makes the waiters uncomfortable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Osso bucco on Fridays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good food. Excellent attention. Unusual setting. Osso bucco and risotto were very well prepared. Appetizer’s presentation was less than average. Bread could be better. Wine selection needs improvement.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Tua also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Casa Tua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.