We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Pescao

Ciao Pescao
Calle 4, Plaza Bolivar, Panama City, Panama
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 558 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We wondered into Ciao Pescao by accident, mainly because of the unique decor on the walls and wanting to take a photo of it. 5 minutes later we were taking a photo with the owner, who was super friendly and said he had the best mohitos in town. We decided to try and they were all he was selling them to be. We tried mango, cucumber (pepino) and passionfruit and all were delicious with pepino being our favorite. Then we decided to have the ceviches and they were great as well and reasonably priced ($10-11$ for a big plate). We had Oriental, Yukatan and Peruvian - all were wonderfully put together with a beautiful presentation. Delicious! The restaurant is right in plaza Bolivar in Casco Viejo and has a indoor and outdoor seating area. We loved it and would definitely come back here again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Ciao Pescao, and thought the food was awesome! We ordered 2 different sole ceviches, one 'Mexican' and one with Mango, they were really fresh, had loads of flavour and were good sized portions. Could have done with some music as there was only one other person there, so quite quiet. Some of the best fish we've eaten in Central America!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty ceviche, weird service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a really cute spot with modern decor in the middle of a lovely plaza in casco viejo. For two of us we got two plates of ceviche which was more than enough food for dinner. The ceviche was really delicious and the two types were completely different from each other. If you like ceviche and twists on traditional food, this is a great choice.

The service was strange. Very attentive at first and then after they brought our beers they just lost interest. No one took our food order for an hour - all the servers just disappeared. We didn't mind since we were on vacation, it was just strange. Same with getting the bill. We couldn't quite figure the whole thing out. So just go to this place some time when you are in no hurry and you will enjoy it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot for a ceviche and a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

A beautiful location - this is the only real plaza that has various restaurants in Panama's old town. A peaceful place to get a beer and a ceviche. Good for people watching and admiring the architecture. My husband appreciated the selection of beers, we both enjoyed the ceviche!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ceviche spot in casco viejo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon this place while exploring Casco Viejo. We had a hankering for some Ceviche and were not disappointed. They have a great selection of ceviches as well as a full drink menu. Although we did not try other menu items, they also had a. Selection of other offerings. Our only complaint was that the service wass a bit slow. Definitely worth a stop!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Pescao also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Ciao Pescao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Pescao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.