We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour of Panama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours

Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours
Calle 50 & Via Brasil, Panama City 0833-00108, Panama
+507 6674-2328
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 106 Activities in Panama City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer small group tours with a focus on culture, nature, and adventure. All our tours are guided by local Panamanian guides with 10+ years of professional experience leading safe and informative tours in Panama. In them you will find a great sense of responsibility, safety awareness, and a keen interest to offer every single one of their guests a top quality personalized experience.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Excellent tour of Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We saw a lot in this 8 day trip. Among the highlights were hiking to waterfalls in the hills and then swimming in the pools at the base of those waterfalls, birdwatching (we saw several quetzals), watching monkeys drink water out of the Panama Canal with their tails, and snorkeling around islands in the Caribbean. If you enjoy getting outside and seeing nature, you should enjoy this tour.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briant D, Tour Guide at Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. Yes, our tour aims to show
you a sample of the many natural wonders we have here in Panama. We
are very glad you had an excellent time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    12
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luis was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

You absolutely cannot go wrong in trusting your Panama vacation to Luis Calvo. From the first email to the last hug goodbye at the airport the time spent with him was invaluable. You simply can't put a price on his knowledge of his country, his attention to detail, his ability to anticipate your wants and needs, and his professionalism. He took all the stress out of travelling to a foreign country, and allowed us an insider's view into his country. It is difficult to look upon Luis as our guide in Panama, as he quickly became our Panamanian friend. I felt an immediate connection with him and hope that we can continue a lasting friendship. He would be welcome in our home anytime!

Thank you for such an awesome experience my friend. I hope that all of our journeys will be filled with people as genuine and wonderful as you.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis C, Tour Guide at Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
To say I'm flattered will be an understatement, wow! Thank you so much for being so nice to me. The world is a small place, we will see each other again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful 9-Day Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a great 9-day tour with Briant as our guide around Panama. Loved the small group size (6), visiting the Guna Yala, hiking to a hidden waterfall and trekking for frogs at night in Santa Fe, a relaxing day at the beach in Las Lajas, and bird watching in the cloud forest in Boquete.

Briant is professional, courteous, and full of information about Panama, indigenous tribes, wildlife, and places to eat and drink. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for something a little off the beaten track, and small group with full access to a knowledgeable local as your driver and guide.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briant D, Tour Guide at Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
I am very happy that you enjoyed the experience, as well as our small group concept. We do our best to show our guests this beautiful country from the eyes of a local, taking you to our favorite places, and explaining those little idiosyncrasies that make Panama unique. Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“6-Star Multi-Day Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Yes, I know, there are only 5 stars, but it's just not enough.

Here's the synopsis, then you can read the details below if you'd like. Luis was our guide for an 8-day whirlwind adventure all over Panama. IT WAS AWESOME! What was so great, was that Luis was able via our extended email exchange to learn about what my husband and I are most interested in and highly customize a tour that was perfect for us. Between activities, accommodations, price, meals, you name it, it was all geared toward what we would most enjoy. We are very active and Luis kept us moving. We hiked (a lot!), went river rafting, did a canopy tour, surfed, dove (scuba), did the phenomenal cave tour you'll read about in several reviews, and more. I cannot recommend Luis and Xplora enough. Really.

So here's some additional detail for those who are interested. What attracted us to Xplora was the introductory questionnaire on their website that listed so many potential activities. We were thrilled about the possibility of finding one company that would handle everything for us. Our email was answered very promptly and professionally by Luis and so began our conversation. Luis is incredibly knowledgeable about all aspects of Panama and the hospitality industry, so I felt immediately that we were in good hands. We exchanged emails for literally a few weeks making adjustments to the itinerary. He was so patient and answered all of my questions thoroughly and quickly, and there were a lot of them!

My only concern during the booking process was paying for the tour via credit card over email or over the phone. Luis explained why it had to be done so, but I was still nervous. I bring this up because I want to vouch for the fact that my credit card information has not been compromised in any way, so I can now personally attest that this is a safe process.

Once we arrived in Panama, everything went exactly as we had arranged. We had wondered what it would be like having a personal tour guide for the entire 8-days. It was great! We had plenty of time to explore on our own, yet Luis made sure everything went smoothly for each stage of the adventure and was there to answer any need or question that came up. I believe we learned so much more about the culture and country of Panama than we would have bouncing from tour to tour on our own. Also, this arrangement gave us so much flexibility. For activities that were led by Luis himself (most of the hikes), we could decide to sleep in a little or get up early as we wanted. We could also, for example, check out the surfing conditions and decide to surf, or move on to the next destination if it wasn't worth getting wet. I loved that freedom.

Briefly about our destinations: We met Luis just outside of Bocas del Toro and went to Boquete for rafting and canopy tours. It's a cute little town. From there we went to Santa Fe where we did a night wildlife hike and several other waterfall and mountain hikes. It's beautiful there, but it is a very small town. We went on to Santa Catalina on the Pacific coast to surf and scuba dive. We loved this small surf town. The hour and a half boat ride to Coiba Island to dive was well worth the time! From there we went to Panama City and stayed in the Casco Viejo part of town, which is fascinating. We did the Cave tour, which was the highlight of our trip. Our last day we went to see the Canal. I had thought that would be boring, but I was completely wrong. It was fascinating and I'm glad Luis made us go see it. We did lots of other little activities in between that were a blast, too....too many to mention!

What I would really like to emphasize is that Luis did a spectacular job with every facet of our tour. He is so professional and yet so friendly and accommodating at the same time. You could not put your vacation in better hands. I could go on and on, but better probably to just say that I would travel with Luis again without question and highly recommend that you do, too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis C, Guide at Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Google Translation
Speechless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Take the cave tour - you won't regret it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went on the cave tour with Briant in Panama. And it was great! Briant was very knowledgeable and made sure everyone in our group got through safely at their own pace. Be prepared to swim, climb and get wet! I highly recommend (old) tennis shoes if you don't have sporting gear. And last but not least, the lunch is awesome! High recommendations!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briant D, Tour Guide at Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you very much! Your review summarizes very well the activities during our cave tour and it is great to see how much you enjoyed it. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours also viewed

 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xplora Panama Tours Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.