We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest restaurant in Panama City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rausch Restaurant

Rausch Restaurant
Calle 53 y Ricardo Arango, Obarrio | Antiguo Snob Shop, Panama City, Panama
399-0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 469 restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Greatest restaurant in Panama City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The level of service and quality of the meal is unsurpassed. Sophisticated menu and dishes make this restaurant a superb experience.
This is my second experience at Rausch and the Magret of duck as well as the Boullabaise is wonderful.
The 6 course meal is extraordinary and very reasonably priced for the level of the quality which is unsurpassed in Panama.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    52
    18
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgg, Schweiz
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nouvelle Cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had the Degustation Menu without the wine. There were 7 courses. As a chef i have to say it was really good but not the standards we are used to in Europe. The Service was very good. They explained us every course and have been very attentive

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nothing was outstanding....below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Went there based on some recommendations.

We started with the waiter bringing a bountiful basket of breads...about 6 options from baguettes to brioche. All seemed wonderful until we took our first bite...none of them were warm....all of them were room temperature and the taste of the rolls were just average.

We then had several appetizers: Tuna tartar, soft shell crab and crab tower. They were all OK, but nothing to write home about....we definitely had had similar appetizers at other restaurants that were more delicious.

The entrees were seasoned ok, but nothing that would blow your taste buds away. Had the sea bass, herbed fish fillet and scallops.

The plating was nice. The waiter was very pleasant and courteous, but the water was never refilled until one of us asked for the glasses to be refilled. He seemed Colombian based on his accent...nice guy. Don't know his name, he never introduced himself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bocas Town, Panama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, but it could have been better to match reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My score (average) is not because this is an average restaurant, but compared to restaurants of the same standard.
We visited on Boxing Day and definitely had a great dinner and a great evening. The food was well prepared, presented with care, but for a restaurant with this kind of a reputation it could have been slightly better. My meat was getting cold when I was only half way and my girlfriend's fish could have had more taste. Starters were both stunning by the way. Last point of criticism is that the wall next door projects a big TV screen (from the bar downstairs) and wether you want it or not, you do look it it, very annoying...
A special place, but with a little bit more care it would meet its reputation. But still go and visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have visited Rausch twice so far and very happy with the food and service. The food is very modern and we are sure they use great fresh qualities. Panama offers many great restaurants and Rausch is one of the best. Best is to make a reservation. They have two restaurants so when you call them make sure you mention that you wish to dine at Rausch.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rausch Restaurant also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Rausch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rausch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.