We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet room in a well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall to your Saves list
Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Panama City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very quiet room in a well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a hustling, bustling hotel right next to a large shopping mall. We stayed there two nights and we liked it.

CHECK IN: Fast and friendly, with reception people speaking very good English and answering all questions flawlessly.

OUR ROOM: Rather large and quite nice, with a comfortable bed. Our room was conveniently located on the 3rd floor, close to the Pacific Grill restaurant and exercise room, both on the 2nd floor.

PACIFIC GRILL RESTAURANT: We're vegans. This restaurant had many options for us for breakfast but very few for dinner.

EXERCISE ROOM: If you like Life Fitness exercise equipment (as we do) you will like the exercise room. Cardio equipment is emphasized: 4 treadmills, 3 bikes, 2 ellipticals and 1 stair-step...Life Fitness all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the quality of service of our staff at the Front Desk be sure that we will congratulate each and one of them on your behalf.
Our location next to the most vibrant an exclusive shopping mall in the city, Multiplaza Sohopping Center make is it convenient for our guests since you can find a variety of restaurants, movie theaters, supermarket and more than 400 stores just a few steps away from the hotel.

We will be happy to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Panama.

Best regards,

Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    107
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
79
66
16
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The room looked clean until we looked at the carpet. It had several stains and it seemed as if it had never been cleaned. We called the front desk to ask for another room, but their answer was that there were no available rooms.

If you are expecting the Marriott service you get in the US, you will be disappointed. While the choices for breakfast were very good, the staff was not attentive. Even after asking twice for water and coffee, I received neither.

The public areas, pool, and parking lot are very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you think about us.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you could have experienced during your last visit to our property. We have already shared your comments with our restaurant staff and we can assure you that we are taking the necessary measures to ensure this situation will not occur again.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It is only with your insight that we can continuously improve

Kind regards,

Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice, one night at the beginning of our vacation and one night at the end of our vacation in Panama, as this hotel is located near the airport.

What can we say? It's a large city hotel, it's clean, there's a nice swimmingpool area, there's a large parking area and it's located next to a shopping center.

Our room was large, with a nice bed and bathroom. No balcony, a coffeemaker and a hairdryer.

The only pity was that it's not possible to rent to room for a few hours longer (in case of a late flight), although they're near the airport. The don't do that, even when wanting to pay for it. However it's possible to store your luggage and stay at the pool area. We changed there in the toilet for our 'airplane' outfit. (At our destination it was freezing)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know about your experience in your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you liked our hotel. Our perfect location next to the Metromall Shopping Center and just 5km from the airport makes usThe Place to Be in the city.

We're sorry we couldn't acommodate your request for the late check out for your reservation during your last stay. We can assure you that we are taking the necessary measures to ensure this situation will not occur again.

We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Panama,

Best regards,

Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this property for 1 week during the Christmas holidays. It's close to the international airport and next to a 3 level 2 yr old mall that has alot of US fast food chains:
Wendys, Subway, KFC, Taco Bell, Bennigans and plenty more. It also has a supermarket on the lower level which was great for bottled water. I found out the water all over Panama was ok to drink unlike some other latin countries.

The hotel has a nice gym and 3 free computers in the lobby. It also has a washer/dryer on the 2nd and 4th floors. The cost is $2.00 each for the washer and dryer. The front desk will provide free detergent. The pool is small - not great for swimming. I think mainly for taking a dip to cool off from the heat. I brought bug spray with deet but really did not need it this time of year. Maybe in the summer the mosquito problem is more prevalent and if you leave the city.

The breakfast is good - fresh waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage/bacon, various hot selections, yogurt, fresh fruit and cheese, cereal station, etc.

The hotel is outside the city limit but for us it was ok - a taxi to the Multicentro Mall/Hard Rock hotel is $12.00US. I suggest you tell the taxi driver what you will pay before you get in the cab. I overheard a new guest tell the front desk agent he paid $30.00 for a taxi from the airport. Yikes!
The standard fare is $15.00 which I think is still too high from the airport - it's not that far. Its cheaper to go into the city center which is considerably farther.There is supposed to be a free shuttle service to another mall called Multiplaza but we were told it was discontinued???

The city has a very strong police presence so we felt very safe, especially in tourist areas. Even the malls had a lot of police in addition to normal mall security. We did a double decker red city bus tour (hop on/off) that brought us to all the tourist areas. We took a cab to the Multicenter mall and picked it up from there. I suggest going early in the morning as we started about 11am and found out the last drop off to the canal was at 3pm and the last pick up was 3:45. The bus often ran late and the headphones were not very informative. They offer a 24 hour option for $29.00.
I would do the 48 hour option next time so I'm not rushed. It's the cheapest way to get around.
We also did a guided tour with Barefoot Panama Tours that was fabulous! We had Jeff (Canadian perfect English) as our guide who is very knowledgeable, fun, informative and personable. I asked a lot of questions and he knew all the answers.I would have them pick us up at the Hard Rock hotel next time rather then Old Town. The Old Town area reminded me of
Old Town San Juan Puerto Rico.

The canal is fabulous but get there early as the line gets long later in the day. We were there when they first opened a saw the last ship go through. We also enjoyed Flamingo Island for lunch and views. Overall a great trip. We learned so much and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our comfortable rooms, gym area as well as the variety of our breakfast. Our location next to the newest shopping mall in the area near the airport , make is it convenient for our guests since you can find a variety of restaurants, movie theaters, supermarket and around 300 stores just steps away from the hotel.

We hope to welcome you on your next visit to Panama City,

Best regards,

Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights using Marriott points. The hotel is conveniently located next to a large Mall and about 5 miles from the international airport. Traffic reminds me of Bangkok as it moves slowly or not at all. If you have something to do in central Panama City, you need to allow yourself at least 45 minutes to one hour even when taking the toll road. The hotel personnel were young and inexperienced but polite and helpful. The lobby very nonexistent. The dining room was adjacent to the lobby and there were free computers for use. The room was satisfactory.and clean. It was an adequate place to stay. There was ample free parking at the hotel and they made arrangements for me to park at the Courtyard Hotel in Panama City at no cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed our Hotel. Our location next to the newest mall in the area near the airport make is it convenient for our guests since you can find a variety of restaurants, movie theaters, supermarket and around 300 stores just steps away.

We will be happy to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Panama.

Thank you again

Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This Marriott was close to mall shopping (and a Bennigan's,and a TGI Friday's) as well as the airport. Had to pay for the shuttle from airport, but our driver offered his services to show us the city for the next 2 days. Turned out to be a fantastic deal... he was very accommodating and appreciative of the tip we gave him. Spent an evening in the Lobby Bar lounging area, very nice. Food very good too! Loved the interactive touch screen TV to check on weather and flight status.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for taking the time to let us know about your experience in your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you liked our hotel.

We will be happy to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Panama.

Thank you again
Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed at this hotel Dec. 2 thru the 9th. Hotel was nice, clean and the grounds well kept. Reception area very nice. They even had one of those touch screen tv's where you can see flight information and news from around the world and even the weather of where you are traveling to. Staff was very corteous and helpful. Room service was exceptional. As the other posts mention, there is a huge mall at a walking distance from the hotel with everything you will ever need. A big food court with different kinds of food. I was very impressed with the mall. It compares well if not better with any mall in New York.
I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Very big mall next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panamahotel, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our comfortable rooms. The Cleanliness of the Hotel is one of our top priorities as well as the friendliness of the staff. Our location just half a block away of the Metromall Comercial Center where our guests can find over 300 stores as well as food court, movie theaters, beauty salons, restaurants and shops make us The Place to Be.

We hope to welcome you back in your next trip to Panama

Kind regards,

Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall

Address: Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This shopping hotel is just 4 miles away from Tocumen International airport and it's the only hotel located within Metromall shopping complex, where you will find more than 260 shopping and entertainment venues including department stores, boutiques, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and bistros. This unique shopping complex also offers a free shuttle to Multiplaza Mall, with more than 350 venues for your enjoyment. Our hotel amenities include room service, a fully equipped gym, spacious garden pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or select a la carte in our restaurant Centro which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 32" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, sound proof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. The hotel has direct access to Colon Free Zone Highway and the Panama Canal. Costa del Este, Panama Viejo and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama Metromall Hotel Panama City
Courtyard Panama At MetroMall Mall Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.