We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall to your Saves list
Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Rate Discount
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Spent a weekend here with my wife, it was very convenient, close to malls and short drives distance from the city's main tourist district.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina V, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We appreciate your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed our location next to Metromall, since you can find a variety of restaurants, movie theaters, supermarket and around 300 stores.

We will be happy to welcome you back whenever your travel plans bring you back to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    93
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
55
14
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

In November 2011 my husband and I arrived in Panama City after a transatlantic cruise. Prior to leaving on the cruise, my husband used bedmaps.com to locate this hotel. He called their 800 number and talked to them personally to find out what services would be available and about their location. The hotel is next to the metro mall, a three story complex with a large full service grocery store. You can walk safely to the mall from the hotel under a covered walk-way and security is everywhere. The mall offers plenty of shopping, a large variety of restaurants, and a movie theater. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from the airport. The services offered in the hotel are a self-service laundry, large rooms with internet service, flat screen TV with cable, coffee pots, and refrigerators. An on-site restaurant which serves food all day, a pool, gym, and 24 hour a day security. The little laundry room was neat & clean and a real plus after being on a 14 day cruise. The front desk had laundry detergent packets for fifty cents each and you could get coins for the machines there as well. The laundry room was right across the hall from our room. We had a high school soccer team staying on our floor. We were never disturbed by noise. The hotel was about six months old at the time it had a lovely decor and was very clean. It appeared to be popular with business travelers. The restaurant had wonderful food and a very nice international variety. The staff was extremely helpful anytime we made a request. There was always someone at the front desk who could speak English and they helped us with the rest of the staff. The front desk arranged a private driver for a city tour. His name was Aldrin. He gave a great tour with an extensive history lesson at a very reasonable price. After a five night stay we felt this hotel was a great choice for location and services offered.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quiet & offer great views. Ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina V, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your comments, we feel thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the quality of service as well as the friendliness of the staff.

We hope to welcome you back in your next trip to Panama.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located near the airport which is great. The only drawback is the hotel doesn't offer a free shuttle.

Breakfast was included and was terriffic. Variety of foods - hot and cold!
The resturant was phenomenal, the salmon was the best I have ever had!

The rooms were clean and suited our needs perfectly.

The service was exceptional! The maids came to turn down the sofa bed for us, front desk was great!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia H, Carolina Vidal Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Metromall at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the quality of service of our staff and our comfortable and clean bedroom, as well as the food served during your meals specially the salmon at our Metro restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future in our hotel,

Regards,

Carolina Vidal
carolina.vidal@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criciuma, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is located just beside MetroMall, one of the nicest Malls in Panama City. From there you can reach most of important attractions in Panama, but take in mind that traffic is a little chaotic. It has a small reception area and they messed up our reservations, even at the ckeck out they were a little messy, but managed to solve it in time. Apartments are nice and clean. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia H, Carolina Vidal Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Metromall at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, an particular our breakfast at our Metro restaurant. Please be sure that we take your comments very seriously and are committed to improving in the areas you have mentioned.

Well be more than happy to welcome you back on our hotel!

Regards,

Carolina Vidal
carolina.vidal@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days, as part of our 8 days in Panama City. We moved from downtown to the Courtyard so "we" could be near the 300 store MetroMall which is a 3 minute walk away. In addition, across the street via an enclosed crosswalk, is more outlet style shopping, so there is no shortage of shops.
The hotel is newer, and it's clean and run by friendly, helpful staff. The front desk staff, housekeepers and wait staff all made it a point to say Good Morning or whatever, as soon as they saw you.
Our room was over the pool on the 4th floor, and was spacious with King bed. The shower temps and pressure were 1st world in quality, and I used the desk and quality office chair a lot, with WIFI, as I am never really away from work.
My complaint is the noise. On Saturday night only, there was a party being held in the main floor party room, and it went until midnight. That's not unusual, but with us being on the top floor (4th), I could plainly hear the 'thump thump' of the music all night long. I wonder how noisy it was on the lower floors.
Secondly, the doors are not as sound proof as they should be. You could hear every door close from the other rooms, and any conversations. These doors need to be better sealed.
Overall, better soundproofing is needed.

The breakfast buffet was not included in our rate, but we utilized it everyday ($10). It was excellent. From Belgian waffles, a varierty of hot dishes, to choices of juices, it was a welcome start to every morning. The buffet turns into an a la carte restaurant and later a bar, so there is plenty of room.

Since we had stayed at another hotel the prior 4 days, I can say that this hotel is not near any tourists attractions, nor is it near any decent or highend restaurants. Yes, you have the food court at the mall, which is extensive, but its not an culinary experience in any way.
If you are here to visit Panama for a few days, then I strongly suggest staying downtown, closer to everything. The cab fares from this hotel to the attractions are $25-$40 return for every trip.

On the other hand, this hotel is very near Tocumen airport. It is ideal for people with connections.
Lastly, there is a very large construction project beginning next door to the hotel. It just started, but you can see it is going to be large....maybe another hotel or another mall? I suggest you inquire about the time of day the noise will be loudest, as it may effect your sleep comfort.

I would also suggest to the management, that they consider bringing in a couple of airport shuttles, as the airport arrivals were perpetual, and the hotel makes you use taxis ($). I would prefer that they increase the daily price a little and include the airport service, and also include the breakfast buffet.
When adding breakfast daily and the airport taxi fare, it adds up. Airport hotels should include these services and focus on their location strengths.

We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better, and try to avoid facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia H, Carolina Vidal Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Metromall at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedroom as well as the food and beverage served during your meals in our restaurant Metro. The Cleanliness of the Hotel is one of our top priorities as well as the friendliness of the staff.
We take your comments very seriously and are committed to improving in the areas you have mentioned such as the soundproofing needed with the doors.

Please if you decide to come back to Panama, please don’t hesitate to contact me.-

Regards,

Carolina Vidal
carolina.vidal@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here in November 2011. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful, from the front desk, the bar, the maids. All great. We asked for rooms on the same floor (2 couples) and they gave us connecting rooms. No problems getting transfered to the airport early morning. This hotel is also across the street from a large mall, which we enjoyed wandering around in as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina V, Director of Sales at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed the friendliness of the staff as well as our great location next to Metromall and the proximity to the airport.

We hope to welcome you back in your next trip to Panama

Carolina Vidal
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

had a good stay here for two nights, staff was above and beyond anyplace I went to. The food was mediocre, but there is a mall next door. They got me the best hired driver with a new car to bring me to the Canal, and all over historical areas. I used him to bring me to the airport, he was so good. The pool area is beautiful. The only downfall is that it is noisy in the hallways, you can hear the guests rooms doors opening and closing, the doors are cheap...
I enjoyed staying by the pool and you can bring your drinks there. No loud kids. A business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia H, Carolina Vidal Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Metromall at Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our comfortable rooms and pool area.
Regarding the noise you mention be sure that we take your comments very seriously and are committed to improving in the areas you have mentioned.

We will be more than happy to welcome your back on your next trip to Panama

Regards,

Carolina Vidal
carolina.vidal@courtyard.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall

Address: Avenida Domingo Diaz via Tocumen | Centro Comercial MetroMall, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Panama City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This shopping hotel is just 4 miles away from Tocumen International airport and it's the only hotel located within Metromall shopping complex, where you will find more than 260 shopping and entertainment venues including department stores, boutiques, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and bistros. This unique shopping complex also offers a free shuttle to Multiplaza Mall, with more than 350 venues for your enjoyment. Our hotel amenities include room service, a fully equipped gym, spacious garden pool and business center. Guests can enjoy a buffet or select a la carte in our restaurant Centro which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All rooms feature 32" LCD TVs, free Wi-Fi internet with streaming speed access, sound proof windows, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets and more. The hotel has direct access to Colon Free Zone Highway and the Panama Canal. Costa del Este, Panama Viejo and other attractions are at your fingertips when you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Panama Metromall Hotel Panama City
Courtyard Panama At MetroMall Mall Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Panama at MetroMall Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.