We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, relaxed hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Villa Vento Surf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Villa Vento Surf to your Saves list
Hostel Villa Vento Surf
Calle 47, Casa 7, Panama City 1111, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly staff, relaxed hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I really liked this hostel in Panama City. The staff is friendly and willing to help. I arrived in the very early morning and I could sleep on the couch until check in time, without paying. The hostel is situated in a safe area, close to ATM's, Burger Kind etc. and by bus it is easy to reach the nice old area Casco Viejo. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and they offer free coffee and pancakes for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    31
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
18
53
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night (we had originally booked 2 nights). The hostel was clean and safe with a nice relaxing feel. Some of the facilities (bathrooms and kitchen in particular) require upgrading as they were a little past their 'sell-by' date ! The hostel was a little difficult to find but is located in a safe area. Unfortunately we had an older accentric guy staying in our room who kept us awake all night as he was sleep walking and talking to himself so we checked out as could not cope with him anymore !

We checked out after one night and checked into the 5 star Hard Rock hotel nearby as we got a great bargain - it worked out as an extra $25 each for the night with breakfast included with $20 worth of vouchers each for the bar ! Defo worth the upgrade if you have been staying in hostels for a long while and need a break / bit of luxury !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a lovely hostel, all the staff are lovely and very knowledgeable. One night the hostel was full but a friend was unsure if she'll make her bus, so they said they'd put up an air mattress for her for cheap if she needed it. Lots of hang out space, comfy couches, lounge chairs outside. Big enough kitchen that's well equipped. There's food stores nearby, clubs are an 8 minute walk, shopping mall as well, buses to old town and the buys terminal are 6 mins walk away. Quiet area. There's plenty of lockers, 1 computer and WiFi which was very iffy during my stay unfortunately. Air con at night in the rooms with comfy, clkean beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a great experience at Vento Surf! Daniel (the owner) was very friendly and helpful. He made us feel right at home in a brand new country and gave us awesome advice for future travels. The rooms were clean and roomy. The common room area is a great place to chill out and cool off in the pool!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

There are cheaper hostels in panama but you won't find better. Villa vento surf is there to make ur panama experience better. From finding a local laundromat to booking a trip to San blas. The staff at VVS is as good as it gets. Information is the name of the game and Leo Daniel and Roderick have it all. They know panama, they live panama, they love panama. It's a joy to see how they handle the chaos of ever changing guests from around the globe. Everyone is made to feel important. They honestly give amazing service. Even coming from the states where the customer is always right, these guys do it right. Free breakfast, organized dinners and buttfloads of info on surrounding restaurants, u will be well fed. The pool is such a plus. The location has everything nearby. BOOK AHEAD. THEY ARE OFTEN FULL. don't say I didn't warn u.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgg, Schweiz
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hostel was nice... We had fun enjoying the Pool had a great breakfast and people where really helpfull and friendly... The location is not bad near via Espana. Its not as good as the otherone in the near... but it was really fine...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed there last Novembe at the begin of my 4 weeks trip in Panama/Costa Rica/Nicaragua. It's a great hostel with a very friendly and helpful staff! The hostel is in the Marbella district! It's in a very quiet street ! A perfect place to explore Panama city! You can walk easily to the oldtown Casco Viejo ,it takes you about 30-40 Minutes. The shopping mall Multicentro is around the corner. There you can catch also a cheap local bus to the City Centre or Albrook bus station.The Hostel is a very chilled place with great people from alla round the world. You can stay there for days,sometimes the whole day. the community area is very nice and chilled,here you can sit and relax,watch movies/TV and meet other guests. The big plus is the nice pool outside where you cna cool down on hot days! One beer is one dollar , there is a big fridge in the community area where you can get some cold drinks. In the room price is a free breakfast included ! In the morning you can make some pancakes in the common kitchen. The dorm rooms are nice and clean like the shared bathrooms! Summarizing it's a good hostel where you feel like home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Villa Vento Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Villa Vento Surf

Address: Calle 47, Casa 7, Panama City 1111, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Villa Vento Surf! A great place to meet other travellers. Our hostel is located in the beautiful and safe neighborhood of Marbella. We have a swimming pool in our garden, a great lounge where you can watch TV (new 50 plasma), listen to music, drink a beer. and just relax! Also we organize fun activities during the week. We offer the perfect balance between a fun and a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are separated from the social areas for those who want an early night. We want you to feel like a traveller here, and not a tourist. You can come at any time (24 hours reception) and if the rooms are not ready yet, you can relax in the social areas. Last but not least, we arrange trips to San Blas and sailing trips to Cartagena! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Villa Vento Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Hotel Panama City
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Villa Vento Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.