We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“life saver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super Gourmet

Super Gourmet
Avenida A y Calle 6 | Casco Viejo, Panama City, Panama
504-212-3487
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 475 restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
unguidedmissal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“life saver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a deli like place centrally located just off the Cathedral Square. We ate breakfast there every morning. They open at 8. You order at the counter and they bring you the food. Well prepared. Adequate variety. Eggs, meat, porridge, granola, fruit, yoghurt, good coffee, etc. They serve lunch but we never ate there. They sell some light groceries as well. Staff nice and friendly. Don't speak much English but that's no problem. Right now the view is of street re-cobbling. Kinda interesting to watch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    74
    31
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a small delicatessen worthy of NYC, it is so good. Their sandwiches are freshly prepared, their salads are excellent. Good, strong coffee. This is the place to come if you need a good, quick breakfast or lunch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Western style, food and prices (skip the chicken empanada)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have to say I was surprised to see such a swanky place- mind you I hadn't done much research so there was a bit of naivete. This is THE place to hang out, meet clients, and do work on your laptop. We had yummy breakfast sandwiches, coffee, and fruit in a nice a/c filled and sunny space (I'd skip the chicken empanada- it was hard and cold). We preferred to go to the coffee place around the corner for cafe con leche and pastries, although this is a nice change and especially nice if you are looking for a bit of "home." Service was not that pleasant as compared to other places in the area- they seemed very rushed. Apparently this place was started by guy from Mississippi and I was little disappointed not to have the chance to hear his story-

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Good sandwiches, strong coffee and the chocolate banana Batida was gooood! Worth a visit if you are peckish and in the area!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor, we found Super Gourmet and made it a mandatory stop on our neighborhood prowl today. We were SO happy with this place - the BLT is supreme, with crusty bread, the freshest avocado, quality bacon, and super thinly sliced red onion. Truly it was a special sandwich. We enjoyed some wine as well - very well priced. And, how could you not love the gorgeous architecture, the ambiance (reminded me of some older institutions I've spent time at in Cambridge MA as well as parts of England) and the free WiFi. We had a very pleasant chat with the owners as well, which made it extra special. Highly recommend - and we're going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Super Gourmet also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Super Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.