We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day in Panama City, Panama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gatun Explorer Panama Canal Jungle Day Tour

Gatun Explorer Panama Canal Jungle Day Tour
Panama City, Panama
(954) 282-8214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 86 activities in Panama City
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Vista, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A day in Panama City, Panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

4 of us used Rudy's tours for a sightseeing trip. he also took us to colon and picked us up after we did a cruise. He was just fantastic. Very knowledgable of the country. Anything we wanted to see he took us there. Had a wonderful lunch with views of the city. I highly recommend him if you want to see the country. He and and wife also own a beautiful B & B in the city. Patty's casitias. His web site is Rudystours.
overall fantastic country and fantasitc tour guide!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston,TX USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“AKA Carl's Jungle Cruise - highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Excellent! ... but booking was a problem. We had to use an outfit called Roadrunner to book - we had problems booking directly with Carl. That said, this is an entertaining and worthwhile adventure even if you've cruised through the locks already, which we did. On top of the nature cruise and canal information you get a locally prepared tasty meal with $1 beer or wine, swimming, fishing, though actually catching a fish is a bit fanciful, and kayaking. We had a large group but Carl made sure that everyone got to experience everything available. Well done! If I ever return to Panama City I'd make it a point to do this again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Monkeys, crocs, iguanas and birds a plenty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Mario led our tour for the day with Alhandro on the boat, they seemed well informed about where to find the many crocs, and monkeys., Exotic birds throughout, iguanas languishing around.

Heard the eerie calls of the Howler monkeys, fed the Capuccino and feaster ourselves on a great lunch prepped by Mario.

His English is superb, he spent a few years in California, well informed and very pleasant - put alot of energy into our tour.

My daughter here is saying: "wow that was a great tour" (age 8)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Fantastic trip with Carl. Very knowledgable witty & humourous. Exploring the jungle in his motor boat was thrilling. we saw monkeys and even offered them peanuts & bananas up close. Did not see any crocs, but hey they were busy guarding their nests, I would too.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wilderness experience close to civilization.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I took a guided tour of Lake Gatun with Captain Carl who is very well informed on matters of the Panama Canal expansion as well as the surrounding jungle.
We stayed overnight on his houseboat, which made the experience even more enjoyable.
After learning about the canal, we were introduced to some of the jungle wildlife, had lunch on the houseboat, paddled in kayaks to a lovely waterfall to swim. We met with more jungle creatures back at the houseboat and also went on a night cruise to look for crocodiles.
Our room was clean and simple and the bed was very comfortable. It was hard to believe we were experiencing the jungle so completely while being close to Panama City. I would highly recommend this trip, especially if you can stay overnight.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatun Explorer Panama Canal Jungle Day Tour also viewed

 
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Gatun Explorer Panama Canal Jungle Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gatun Explorer Panama Canal Jungle Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gatun Explorer Panama Canal Jungle Day Tour to your Saves list