We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Dreams

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mediterranean Dreams to your Saves list
Mediterranean Dreams
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   El Dorado, Av 15B Norte, Casa N037. | Calle detras del Rest Don Lee del Dorado, Panama City 081906510, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 Panama City B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A quaint home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Being a quintessential traveler traversing the globe, i have grown to become quite picky in my requirements in services and hotel types, cancelling a reservation in a different hotel solely on the suggestion of my friend from the Swiss, i decided to try the Mediterranean dreams, to describe it in one word, its a oasis. The opening statement from Alejandro the owner of the hotel was "if you dont feel at home here, its better you go somewhere else". i was taken back but thought ok lemme see if his words is worth its weight. it indeed was.
The rooms were good, beds comfy though i would prefer some bigger pillows, decorated on the lines of fruits, the owner ever ready to make you feel home, no matter what the requests were, a beautiful garden behind and a sit out making the mornings so much better with great coffee and fresh air. internet was great, prompt service.
they have little, but optimise the use of it, anything that is possible from their side, they will do it to make you comfortable. i never regreted cancelling my other reservation.
malls, restaurants everything in a couple minutes of walk in a neighborhood that is safe and being watched, quiet (much desired), transportation facilities at a call or walk to the public transportation in couple minutes.
breakfast was great, the downside will be somethings that i look forward to, better showers, phone in the room, laundry service( they didnt have it, but made sure that they did it for me), better pillows, darker curtains ( to keep the sun out during the day), small requirements like a small pen and paper, toiletries and things.
but overall, its home and you are welcome in there. just an wonderful familial home to be in.

Room Tip: the grape room has a door that opens to the sit out, so you dont need to be opening all the doors to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
50
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We arrived at 3:00 AM at the B&B. Alejandro was there to meet us. We had scheduled a ride from the airport with him previously. Did not want to drive in Panama City the first night.
The room was clean with cold A/C already turned on.. The next morning we had a great breakfast of juice, coffee, a delicious omelet type entree, fruit, and toast served in the back nicely appointed garden.

When we were leaving the Mediterranean, Alejandro made sure we had his number in case we needed anything while we were in Panama. We were going to be spending a week driving around the country it was a bit of comfort to know we had a lifeline in case we needed it.

Oh, also the rate for the room was quite a bit less then anything else decent in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is the place to stay in Panama if you have are passing through in travels. Staff is more than excellent when it comes to making sure their clients are happy...and with all belongings. Went out of their way to recover my purse...left in a taxi. And they indeed recovered it!! Thanks a million!! Cozy place. Clean and close to good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had a long stopover in Panama before flying back to Europe and found this hotel via TripAdvisor. I actually wanted to give it a rating between 'Average' and 'Very Good' - which would be just 'Good'.
It's in a residential area and they are now putting up a bigger sign, which explains the paranoia of one of this hotel's reviewers who decided that 'it doesn't even exist'. (Our taxi driver got lost too, but we put him on the phone with the B&B receptionist who was very helpful .)
This is more like a Bed& Breakfast, but it's a lovely colorful, and cosy one. Mind you, we just needed it to have a place to nap and shower after traipsing around Panama City, but the time we spent there was pleasant, and we'll go back.
The best thing that the owner did for us was to find a taxi/guide who we were able to hire as by the hour for a great price. He was a wonderful person, very knowledgable about the city and very patient with our wanting to stop and photograph everything. We now call him, Luis, our 'new best friend'. Loved him!
If the problem, for future guests, is in finding the hotel, I suggest that the hotel gives some sort of landmark or main street that is nearby.
Anyway...thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hi,
Our group of 4 booked 2 rooms just for the 8 hours that we were going to be in town, as a stopover between flights. We needed a place to take a good nap and shower after a 'day in the city'.
The staff was very helpful. They got us a great taxi driver/guide - Luis - who was fun, informative and is our 'new best friend'. Did I mention that he charged very friendly prices?
The hotel is in a residential area, so perhaps the potential hotel guest can call the desk and ask for a familiar main street nearby, so that the taxi drivers can find it more easily (ours was driving aorund , but just a bit) and there's no possiblitly of another reviewer - who's taxi got lost, I think - claiming that the hotel doesn't exist.
That is a very unfair thing to say about decent honest people who are offering a good service in Panama!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The owner speaks English, and was very helpful in getting taxis for me-to/from the airport, plus around town. I don't like Panama City mostly due to the taxi drivers ripping off tourists. This B&B had a driver meet me at the airport with a sign, so all went as agreed. It is in a neighborhood area, so it is quieter. It has a nice patio for eating, and a yard area for kids to romp. The Watermelon room has its own fenced patio-great for families. The bed in my room-the apple room- was very comfortable due to the foam mattress. It has decent free wireless internet access. The breakfast was good. I bought dinner there one night, and it was delicious. Overall, this was much better all the way around than the several times I have stayed at a major hotel in Panama City.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mediterranean Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Dreams

Address: El Dorado, Av 15B Norte, Casa N037. | Calle detras del Rest Don Lee del Dorado, Panama City 081906510, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mediterranean Dreams 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean Dreams is a Bed and Breakfast located in the center of Panama, have seven bedrooms, two with shared facilities and five suites with private bathroom each one is a fruit. Breakfast is included in the price and have dinner an additional service based on Mediterranean diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mediterranean Dreams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Dreams Hotel Panama City
Mediterranean Dreams Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mediterranean Dreams, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.