We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resturant in Casco Viejo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Calle 11 & Avenida B, Panama City 00507, Panama
507-228-7617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 530 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Resturant in Casco Viejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 NEW

The service including the valet parking was excellent. A very adequate menu and really good food. This was the third time we have been there for lunch and plan to go again next time for dinner.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    75
    20
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“This brunch though...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I stumbled across this brunch, hungover, and it gave me everything I needed... juice, coffee, alcohol, an appetizer, an entree, and a dessert. It was fast, it was good, it was filling and the staff are very friendly.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our most expensive meal in Panamá and worst one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We had big expectations based on other reviews. My mesclun salad was not only tasteless but the mozzarella pieces were barely visible. The pumpkin agnolotti were mostly dough and came with a inedible cinnamon, butter and SUGAR ( not mentioned in the menu) sauce that would have been at least 300 carbs so I sent it back to drain out that Sicily sauce. My friend had the risotto with lobster and left the lobster thing 3/4 uneaten. Plus, if you are seated on the ground floor, you better bring earplugs if you are near the musicians blasting your ear. To boot, the bill, with one martini, came to $85. I would avoid this place!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Anje123, thank you for writing about your experience in our restaurant. While I am very sorry that the food was not to your liking and that you found it expensive, I can assure you we do not put sugar in the agnolotti sauce. The pumpkin inside can often be very sweet, but that always depends on the pumpkin that comes in to use. We also regret your friend did not like her risotto with prawn (not lobster), and that you found the live jazz not to your liking. We do hope to have another opportunity to change your mind. Warm regards, Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice old world atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We had the pork belly appetizer and Brie and plantain. Pork belly was amazing - don't recommend the plantain and Brie. We also had the Caribbean Stew with jumbo prawns, fish etc. it was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Ronepe09, and thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're really happy you loved the pork belly appetizer and the Caribbean seafood stew. The plantains with Brie is a signature dish, and we're sorry it was not to your liking. Thank you again for the kind review and we hope you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great food, nice view on the rooftop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I came on a quiet night and had a delicious dinner at the bar. The food was expertly prepared and innovative without being too overly avant-garde. The drinks were interesting and delicious. Afterwards, the bartender offered us a trip up to the rooftop patio for an excellent view of the city.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina N, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Greetings and thank you for your review of our little place. We are so delighted that you enjoyed the food and agree that the view from our rooftop is one of the best in the city! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.