We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Calle 11 & Avenida B, Panama City 00507, Panama
507-228-7617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 540 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had lunch here recently, lovely interior and the courtyard garden was lovely. I can imagine eating there in the evening would be great. Food was good but after hearing such good reviews had expected something spectacular and was a little bit disappointed. Don't get me wrong, tasty and good just didn't "wow" us. Good service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for writing about our restaurant and your experience here. We're very glad you liked the atmosphere and service, but are disappointed we didn't Wow you with the food! We do hope you return and give us another crack at it. I promise you will not be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    77
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely restored, old place with excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The house is one of the restored old buildings in the Casco Viejo, the historic centre of Panama. It has a small, but cozy restaurant with an impressive wooden bar, a separate, wonderful breakfast room, and two well maintained tropical gardens.
The food is prepared with finesse and no matter whether you eat some party snacks or a fully fledge lunch or dinner, the food is tasty and very well presented. It is probably one of the best places to eat in Panama City.
Valet parking is available (you need that in this location) and the place is reasonably safe - right beside the Police Station.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere of our lovely restored restaurant in the old city. We're glad you were able to make use of the valet parking. It really does save a lot of hassle when parking in Casco.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in panama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We sat outside in beautiful garden. Food was very fresh and beautifully presented! Seafood risotto was best we ever had, my husband is from Rome. Sweet staff. Delicious white sangria. They gave us tour of hotel, one of the most stylish and classy I have ever seen! Rooms are beautiful! Owner has excellent taste! Chef is very talented!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is most appreciated! We're so happy that you enjoyed the food and our beautiful gardens. I agree... the Chef is very talented! We hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We always like to come here for good brunch on Sundays, or for business lunches. What I like about this place is very authentic,their friendly staffs and the valet parking.You can either choose to dine in their gardens or simply at the bar.they do have a rooftop terrace,we still have to try that out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you take advantage of our valet service. We do, indeed, have a wonderful roof terrace from which to enjoy a drink while taking in the amazing view of the Panama skyline. We do hope you come and have a look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Service and Ceviche which was out of this World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We fell upon Las Clementines when arriving in Panama in search of a unique place to stay. Luckily upon our arrival they had a cancellation and they were able to find us a room. More about that in a different review-I am here to review the Cafe and Bar. The service was always impeccable and personable. We were treated like family within minutes of being there. The mango mojito was fantastic and could be the best mojito I have ever had. One night we were discussing wine with the bartender and when we explained that we enjoy Carmenere, the next day we saw him stocking some newly inventoried bottles just for us. We had a ceviche that was simply the best I have ever had (and I live off ceviches in the Caribbean). The ceviche was sea bass with young basil and passionfruit, I am still dreaming about it. The atmosphere is fun with live music, timeless bar, lush outdoor patio, and a staff members whose smile build a place in your heart forever. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this experience for travelers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Goodness, what a great review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here, and that our staff went out of their way to make you feel like family. It is certainly what we all strive for here. I also couldn't agree more... the ceviche really is delicious!

On behalf of all of us at Las Clementinas, thank you! We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.