We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service and Ceviche which was out of this World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar

Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar
Calle 11 & Avenida B, Panama City 00507, Panama
507-228-7617
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 530 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Las Clementinas Cafe and Bar is an iconic restaurant in Casco Viejo. While the ambiance is distinctively Old Panama, our menu might be described as contemporary Panamanian comfort food. Our highest culinary priority is to use the best local, traditional ingredients we can find while exploring the medley of cultures that have made Panama one of the great cross roads of the world.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Service and Ceviche which was out of this World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We fell upon Las Clementines when arriving in Panama in search of a unique place to stay. Luckily upon our arrival they had a cancellation and they were able to find us a room. More about that in a different review-I am here to review the Cafe and Bar. The service was always impeccable and personable. We were treated like family within minutes of being there. The mango mojito was fantastic and could be the best mojito I have ever had. One night we were discussing wine with the bartender and when we explained that we enjoy Carmenere, the next day we saw him stocking some newly inventoried bottles just for us. We had a ceviche that was simply the best I have ever had (and I live off ceviches in the Caribbean). The ceviche was sea bass with young basil and passionfruit, I am still dreaming about it. The atmosphere is fun with live music, timeless bar, lush outdoor patio, and a staff members whose smile build a place in your heart forever. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this experience for travelers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Goodness, what a great review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here, and that our staff went out of their way to make you feel like family. It is certainly what we all strive for here. I also couldn't agree more... the ceviche really is delicious!

On behalf of all of us at Las Clementinas, thank you! We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    75
    20
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience. Bring the old Clementinas back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had never visited this restaurant before, but had heard outstanding reviews about the Sunday brunch. Many people (locals and foreigners) had described it as the best brunch option in Panama. That's why I was surprised to find the restaurant pretty much empty on Sunday noon, and soon discovered why: the price of the set brunch menu is exorbitant! One has to pay $29 for a combination of: a starter, an entree, coffee/tea and 2 mimosas/bloody mary, and the starter and entree selection looked very poor. For that price, one can have an amazing buffet experience at the best Panama hotels. Our party of four decided to have the regular breakfast menu instead, which consisted of a very limited list of options (about 5 choices total of either eggs, yogurt/granola or burritos). The food was TERRIBLE. The spinach omelette and burritos were bland, and the bread basket only included three pieces of really bad scones/muffins. We all agreed we would not return here. Our waiter told us the management had changed about five months ago; we got there too late.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We're very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant. Most of our clients do not find the price point too high for what is offered, and we certainly regret that your group of four did so. We also feel badly that you did not enjoy your meal. I remember your table, as I was there that morning, and certainly wish you would have said something at that time so we could have given you other options, or made an adjustment to your bill.

Thank you, however, for taking the time to write your review. We look at each one, positive or negative, in an effort to improve the overall experience we give to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very cute little place, wonderfully attentive service and really delicious food and drinks (Maracuya martini!) Just really calm, lovely and delicious.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food. Slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I'd looked up this restaurant on this website before leaving for Panama. The country in general is a bit sketchy. The streets at night are beyond sketchy. I'm glad we were there with a large group to be honest. The street the restaurant is on was dark and unsafe. Police were across the street drinking beers and a dog was asleep on the sidewalk. We pulled up and walked in and I'm sure I had a huge smile. The decor is great! It's a really old historic building. It's divided into many separate rooms. We were taken down to the far back room off to the right of the office. There is a private patio off that room. The had great music playing and drinks arrived quickly. The appetizers though took 2 hours to arrive. That was a bit annoying. Then dinner arrived soon there after and was GREAT! I had the prawn and hubby had the steak. It was one of the best he has ever had he said. We also had the flan and it was tasty too :) The waiter was great and spoke enough english to fill in with our spanish. They also have wi-fi if you ask for the password ;)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConservatorioHotelsP, General Manager at Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and give us your feedback. We're so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the decor and food at our restaurant. I was shocked to read, however, that your appetizers took two hours to arrive. I will be speaking to the Chef and restaurant manager to see what happened, as I can say we've never had that experience before. Please accept our sincere apologies, and we are happy to hear that the rest of your evening went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good food in the Casco Viejo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The atmosphere is great and the food was delicious! They classics such as hamburgers, cooked in a gourmet style, as well as seafood and great desserts.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar also viewed

Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 
Panama City, Panama Province
Panama City, Panama Province
 

Been to Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Clementinas Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.