We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pied-a-terre in Panama's Casco Antiguo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Antigua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa Antigua to your Saves list
Casa Antigua
Calle 9 entre Av. Eloy Alfaro y Ave. B | Casco Viejo, Panama City 0815, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 71 Panama City B&B and Inns
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect pied-a-terre in Panama's Casco Antiguo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Affordable luxury and perfect location, full-size well equipped kitchen in a spacious, chic loft, two short blocks from the central plaza, bars and bistros. Pablo was a very friendly and attentive host. Open the louvred French doors to feel the romance of the old city, and drink in the stunning view of the new city across the bay from your own private balcony with ornate wrought iron railings and potted flowers. Many self-catering places go cheap on the utensils, table and cookware, but not here! Great towels, wonderful mattress, lots of hot water and water pressure. Cannot recommend it too highly! And don't miss the pizza in the bistro downstairs...

Room Tip: I stayed in Chagres, loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
76
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Advance research was accurate. An excellent, comfortable place full of character & style with a very helpful & efficient manager. Chagres apartment has wonderful balcony view of new Panama skyscrapers on one side and the ancient crumbling Casco Viejo on the other, complete with circling vultures contesting perches with swooping pelicans to add spice. Area can be a bit noisy due it's overlooking an entrance road to the Old Town but the street sounds are muffled by the splendid A/C and probably won't keep you awake unless you are a very light sleeper. And the location is definitely worth it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chagres Apartment has the biggest balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place by accident after finding out that the hostel next door was jampacked. What a neat treat!! We had lunch at their restaurant downstairs when someone mentioned that they do have suites upstairs to rent. We thought -- why not? Casco viejo is an amazing part of panama city-- lively, full of energy and such a great ambience. You are at the edge of it (but still within walkig distance to everything) so you get a good sweeping view of everything. The suite we had was on the topmost floor and it was a studio fully equipped with a stove, fridge and so on. It was clean throughout but we never got to use the kitchen amenities cuz we only stayed a night. The best part was the spiral staircase that connected to a rooftop deck that allowed you a 360 dgree view of the skyscrapers of panama city as well as all of casco viejo. It was a blast! You will def enjoy this place and their manager, pablo, is the kindest most accommodating person youll meet. Dont forget to try out their restaurant Ay! Karmela. Greatttt seafood platter!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We looked at the nicely appointed Hotel Clementine, but that was probably double Casa Antigua. So for $160/pn for a 2 bed suite (2 apts joined by a common entrance) was a good option. The location was virtually the same and possibly a little safer being on a highly patroled street as you enter Casco Viejo (roughly translated into old helmet), The patrols are there to protect the Panama White House which is walking distance from Casa Antigua.

The apts are situated around an atrium which funnels the aircon heat out of the building - so it's hot like a sauna. The entrance is either through the small bar which is run by the apt management or through the separate door.

The apts were simply furnished with a mix local Ikea and local handicrafts. The kitchen etc. were modern, but the cooker and cupboards weren't cleaned properly during our stay. And I found a dead lizard on the floor - so small I thought it was painted on the tile floor...till my wife told me otherwise!? ;)

There was a coffee machine, but no basics (except for toilet roll) so expect to go to the local stores for provisions to make your stay comfortable. There's lots of TV options incl English channels if you find yourself stuck indoors. The main door to the apt wasn't lockable which was a bit unsettling, but we had no problems.

If you walk up and left you get to the old square and outdoor restaurants which make this area touristy. At night the local middleclass come out - I spotted an Audi R8 parked up here. Stuck out like a sore thumb. If you walk right past the police station and Clementine you hit the urban decay of Chinatown - nothing glamorous or safe about this area once the sun sets. But during the day we went and got pastries and some fruit in the street stalls.

We tried to organize transport from the airport to the apt but the management didn't reply. But they were flexible coming to meet us to escort us to the apts.

Next door is a hostel. If you want a bunkbed, shared bathroom and limited aircon you could get a room for $30 pn. The aircon is highly recommended with humidity like New Jersey plaguing Panama most of the year.

Room Tip: Get a room with the street balcony for a more interesting stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a perfect place to stay in Casco Viejo. The apartments and lovely and clean. The view is wonderful. The manager couldn't be nicer. We found absolutely nothing wrong with the place itself.
Do be aware that Casco Viejo is, um... erm... "gentrifying." And that's to put it mildly. Looking out from our wonderful balcony, we could see the sky-scapers of Panama city proper on the left, and a few abandoned shells of old buildings to the right. The are is essentially a ruin, complete with trees growing out of the buildings. About 1/3 buildings had been rebuilt at the time of our stay and it looked like more were underway. But since it's a UNESCO world heritage site, the progress seems pretty slow going.
Scoop up this deal now while it's still affordable, then save up to go back in 5-10 years when it'll be booked solid in a very fancy historic neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We didn't stay at Casa Antigua, but ate at their restaurant.

The service was friendly, ambiance was great, and the food was FANTASTIC.

My friend got one of the salads and described it as "Perhaps the best salad I have ever eaten". Someone else got the gouda grilled sandwich, which was also delightful. Empanadas were also tasty.

Prices were amazing compared to what you would pay for the same quality food in the states. Two of us ate and altogether we consumed 5 beers and our total was around $25. I would have paid double for the quality food we received.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and would highly recommend Casa Antigua. It is on Calle 9, right as you enter Casco Viejo. Right next door is the Relic Bar (part of Luna's Castle hostel) that has a great outdoor bar. It is mostly tourist so if you are looking for "local" that isn't the place.
The room was clean and really large. It is more like an apartment. It was really nice to have a fridge and wireless interet. We also had cable tv. And really important was HOT water!! Downstairs is Ay! Carmela, their little restaurant. We didn't eat there a lot, but when we did it was very good! Pablo, the manager of the place is awesome!! Very helpful and friendly. He lives on sight, so I felt as if he is concerned about safety as well.
The neighborhood is on the edge of the "safe" part, but we never felt unsafe walking to or from there. As most posts say, there are plenty of police on the corner and the British Embassy is right across the street with a guard out front at all times.
This place is more expensive than the hostels, but a great price for an apartment type room. Better than a hotel. If we every went pack, I would book here!!

Room Tip: Charges room has a great view of the city, overlooking the ocean. Not really a full kitchen, but doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Antigua

Address: Calle 9 entre Av. Eloy Alfaro y Ave. B | Casco Viejo, Panama City 0815, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Antigua Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of Casco Antiguo. It is a boutique hotel with 7 comfortable suites and 2 cozy rooms. Each room and suite is equipped with stove, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker, toaster, and kitchenware.At a walking distance, you will find the Coastal Strip (Cinta Costera), as well as all the historical buildings, churches, plazas, museums and enchanting narrow streets, which will take you back in time. The hotel features a rooftop terrace with views of the city skyline, the Bay of Panama, the colonial buildings and the Amador Causeway. Inside the hotel, you will find the original stone walls and tiles. Its spaces evoke the architecture of the 17th century merged with 21st century touches.In the Casco area you will find plenty of nightlife and dining options, like the recently inaugurated Pips Restaurant (located on the ground floor of the hotel), and the Grapes Restaurant, with high-quality international cuisine and steak house, located a few steps away from the Presidential Palace. We have direct access to the famous Cinta Costera in Ave. Balboa, features 6 km of seaside walking track ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel Panama City
Casa Antigua Panama/Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.