We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel and Overall Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City to your Saves list
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Espana & Federico Boyd Ave, Panama City, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #40 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
XXX, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average Hotel and Overall Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The experience wasn't all bad, however, I am upset so I'll share the bad first and then the not so bad. Let's see... OK, Terrible restaurant service! Don't eat there if you don't have to. Be careful when going to the pool the area around it is very slippery, I almost fell twice in one day. Don't expect wireless internet, you'll be tied to your desk in the room... Check the fridge to make sure it works well otherwise you may end up drinking hot beer! Ask for your cookie when you get there if you don't ask they'll never give it to you... I never got it... The hallways were filthy... The not so bad: the room was clean, and the cleaning team was great, responsible, respectful, and after a good tip very helpful. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and responsive when I called with problems in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    191
    62
    17
    23
See reviews for
86
105
38
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Service and food were very good but the room was too cold and, as far as I could tell, could not be regulated. Given the temperature outside (Panama City, Panama) perhaps some attention could be made to correct this. Otherwise everything was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice hotel. As gold members celebrating 22nd Anniversary, we were upgraded to a suite. Request a room away from church if bells ringing annoy you. Staff is great . Marlina made us feel welcomed and Alonzo catered to our every need at breakfast--even warming my milk for coffee, Great location. Yellow cabs on the corner are much cheaper than those at hotel. metro to Albrook mall is a must. Contact Roberto at Robtad tours for canal visit. The cookies are warm and good. Enjoyed complimentary drink.

Room Tip: Don't get room directly across from church
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our second family visit to this hotel. It's location is perfect. Near everything with 24 hr. supermarket, pharmacy, subway station, church and lots of restaurants of every kind and prices. Although the hotel is not what you'd call a "luxury" hotel, it is more than adequate with a swimming pool and good exercise area.

Most impressive is the service in the dining room. Particular mention should be made about Carmen Barker in the Reservations office who went out of her way to accommodate our family. Also, a young man waiter by the name of Alonso who impressed me so much with his obvious love for serving others and his always radiant smile in the mornings at breakfast. The service in the dining room is exceptional and could be a training model for other establishments. Just the right amount of friendliness with a whole lot of professionalism and the desire to please.

For sure, my family and I will be returning next year, God willing. This hotel comes highly recommended without any reservation--and the price is great. You can also opt for the breakfast which is substantial with a variety of foods, freshly baked breads, fruits and freshly squeezed local fruit juices. Can't beat the price.

Room Tip: There is currently construction on the road near the hotel so the higher floors would be better. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah,usa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

we were very pleased with out recent stay at the doubletree. the staff at the front desk were exceptionally helpful. they responded promptly to a couple of small problems we experienced during our stay. they were very helpful when we had questions. the location is ideal. the new metro has a station just around the corner. (incidentally, the metro is clean, safe, convenient and quite a bargain at 35 cents a ride) the breakfast buffet is one of the best we've had at a hotel. the internet was spotty -- sometimes adequate while glacially slow at other times. in future visits to panama city, we would be glad to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama city, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It is good that I have selected this hotel.. The receptionist was so nice, offered the type of room which I was looking for.. Liked the breakfast very much, especially the varieties and fresh of its nature. I would be a returning customer of Double tree hilton. It really worth it for the price

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. petersburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I will definitely recommend this hotel to other people. There is only one item that I was completely dissatisfied with; the cab service was not acceptable. Very poor cab service for a hotel of that quality

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City

Address: Via Espana & Federico Boyd Ave, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a room at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Panama City - El Carmen, where a friendly staff member is waiting to greet you with a freshly baked, chocolate chip cookie. The central location of this Panama City hotel makes it ideal for business travelers and guests on vacation. Attend conferences in the financial district, or enjoy the fine Central American dining and excellent shopping centers situated within walking distance.Each spacious guest room at our Panama City hotel features a 37-inch TV, minibar, and luxurious plush-top bed with five jumbo hypo-allergenic pillows. Families on vacation can enjoy the additional space that comes with a suite. Use the complimentary high-speed internet access to stay in touch with the office or to plan your day. Accessible rooms are available for guests who require modified amenities. Relax in the rooftop pool and whirlpool, unwind in the Spa, or exercise in the fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Panama City Hotel Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.