We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Panama City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Panama City to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Panama City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58th Street Obarrio, Panama City, Panama   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #65 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
Heredia, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“No complaints.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed at the Wyndham Garden as part of a group of 20 or so people that were there to run the Panama Half Marathon. I really have no complaints I can think of and Id glady stay here again, perhaps next year for the half marathon. The rooms were great, showers, toilets, beds, everything was top notch. Breakfast was very good, the staff was helpful, all in all, no complaints.

Room Tip: Stayed at room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your important event. Please contact us in your next visit to our city: we will be very glad to have you back.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    61
    41
    14
    12
See reviews for
28
47
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

After spending 11 days in Panama, including 3 nights at the very well reviewed Hotel Toscana Inn, my wife and I concluded our final two days with a stay at the Wyndham in Obarrio.

We found the rooms to be excellent. Large with comfortable beds, impressive bathrooms, stunning shower pressure (a very nice thing after almost 2 weeks in a hot climate), they really met exactly what we wanted. The wi-fi access was the fastest I saw in Panama.The marble floors really carry sound, so expect to hear people in the hallway. We didn't note any loud noises after 9pm though.

The location is good. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance, as well as the Rey supermarket. Via Espana is one block away, it has lots of public transportation and taxis on it.

The staff's English was decent, except for the overnight staff.

I have one bone to pick with the hotel. Our flight left early in the morning, so we had the front desk call a taxi (I ended up having to explain what we needed in Spanish). The guy who picked us up was driving a minivan that wasn't marked as a taxi. In all of our trips using taxis (probably more than 15), I never got in one. Because of our limited time, I went ahead and went with him. Once at the airport, he tried to charge THIRTY DOLLARS for the trip from Obarrio to Tocumen. That's WAY outside any reasonable rate. He threw a little fit when I offered him $15 and started complaining. In, Spanish, I kept telling him, "I'm not a stupid white guy" and he finally dropped his objections. I ended up giving him an extra $5, but I now regret that.

Anyway, I hold the hotel responsible for this as I entrusted that they'd set me up with a reliable, legitimate driver to the airport. It wasn't a good way to cap off my vacation. The Wyndham really should only work with reputable folks, and should feel OK telling foreigners what to expect to pay for a given taxi ride.

Finally, $2.50 for a can of Coke from the mini-bar is absolutely ridiculous...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciate your time and dedication by reviewing your last stay. We will like you to know that your important comments are being followed up.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us on your next visit to Panama City: we will be honored if we can serve you, with the engagement of offering you the excellent service and quality you deserve.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The location is just perfect, not too close yet not too far from the epi-center. Obarrio is a nice and quiet neighborhood with easy access to the main highways and business area. From the very beginning we felt welcomed and comfortable. The hotel staff was professional yet friendly and courteous, especially the kitchen and restaurant staff. I was mostly impressed with those staff members who were of Cuna ancestry because of their friendly demeanor and obvious desire to to their job well and promptly. The hotel itself is very comfortable, with nice and clean modern rooms, free internet and free breakfast every day, serving fresh fruits and a killer coffee. Although it does not have a pool/spa it has a pretty good exercise room. The cost of the hotel stay was equitable or better. We stayed eight days. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my family and friends and will definitely stay there again..

Room Tip: We always stay in lower floor when we travel, in case we have to use the stairs. Again found the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWyndhamGardenP, Revenue Manager at Wyndham Garden Panama City, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest:

Moved by your grateful comments, we confirm our commitment with our guests by offering our best smile and a comfortable and cozy stay.

In your next visit to our city, please feel free to contact us and give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Yara Rumaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel is right beside a synagogue in Obarrio neighborhood.
Its very quiet neighborhood and is away from the fuzz and the buzz of Panama (that means away from casinos and prostitutes)
The hotel itself is very simple, renovated, rooms are comfortable, perfect size (not too small, not too big). It has free Internet (super fast) Breakfast and its ok for the first two days. After that it gets bad because of the low variety. at least they serve fresh fruit everyday and coffee is strong and black- not the watery ones we get from other hotels in North America.
The problem I had with this hotel is that the doors are very thin hence you hear everything people say and do in the corridor. Also the elevator is veeery small and slow, so prefer to use the stairs during peak hours.
Overall a good experience as the borough is calm (three great restaurants around) and its away from the "sins" of Panama City- if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

Our vacation group of six arrived to hotel at 11:30 am and was told we couldn't get an early check-in. So, we stored our luggage and went to a museum and one of the malls. Came back at 3 pm to check-in and was told by the same desk clerk, Paul, that we had to wait a few minutes. UNACCEPTABLE! We all got checked in after demanding that Paul complete checking all six of us in (4 rooms) instead of trying to service two women behind us. In my room, the sheets had not been changed on one of the beds. I asked the housekeeping lady on the floor to change thhe bed linen. She said she changed the linen despite me showing her the debris and hair. Managerial staff somewhat responsive to my dissatisfaction after 2 hours. No washcloths, not enough towels, safe had to have batteries replaced, breakfast crappy, loud marble floors that needed cleaniing, toilet too close to wall, tiny lobby, unprofessional staff, wake-up call 15 min late, tv shut off every 20 min, and no swimmiing pool. Yeah, i won't be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Central location just a couple of blocks off the beaten path - which makes it quiet. Limited parking for about a dozen cars. Rooms are spacious/modern and breakfast includes cereal, fruits, eggs & meat. Agree with previous comments that the staff needs to learn more about hotel operations. They do get overwhelmed very quick.

Room Tip: Allow extra time for checkout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel is a small hotel in a nice residential neighborhood, with some nice local restaurants, a pharmacy, and some small shopping in walking distance. Not in a central tourist area. Everything nicel but the staff needs to learn more about hotel operations. Yes, they could not find our reservations. Yes, they gave away our room after our first night, bringing new guests in while we were sleeping at 10pm. They got mad at us for being in our room, and had no clue that we had prepaid for two days, not one.
Only complaint about the room itself is that they use the green, eco, room key in a slot to keep the lights on. Not normally a problem, but it also controls the room air conditioner, which means you have to either leave a key, or come back to a hot room every time. I don't think that saves electricity. Room was modern and nice. All marble floors in room and hall are a bit noisy.
I would stay here again if it was simply a launching point for a tour or other stay. Comfortable.

Room Tip: The bathrooms are not the same in each room, we had an "open" bathroom. Kind of neat for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Panama City

Address: 58th Street Obarrio, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Panama City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Panama City Hotel Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Panama City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.