We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a single complaint (other than the weather)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Plaza Panama to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Panama City
chicago
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not a single complaint (other than the weather)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is my go-to hotel for a Panama City break. The hotel is extremely accommodating. This time, we flew out of Trinidad and had a long lay-over in Panama before a return flight back to the US. The hotel was able to accommodate us for a one-night stay (arrived at 8:00 am and departed at 4:00 pm) and gave us breakfast on the morning of our arrival. Unfortunately, the weather was not at all cooperative so we didn't have a chance to use the wonderful pool but we still enjoyed our stay. This time, our room was on the 31st floor with a wonderful view of the distant bay. Cannot believe how quickly Panama is growing!!!!
What I noticed this time, however, was that the closer one got to 10:30 AM, the more meager food at the buffet became. Also, the outdoor servers were less than accommodating...possibly because the hotel was super-crowded and chairs were at a premium. Sitting outdoors eating breakfast and looking at the foliage and the pool has always been a highlight of our trip, so in my mind outdoor seating is a must. Check-in staff and lounge staff were wonderful! Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    380
    101
    48
    36
See reviews for
205
336
53
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed her last night, after my flight got diverted to Panama due to a medical emergency onboard. The building is modern, new and nice. And the breakfast is great. But the tv in my room did not work (same for a colleague I am traveling with), the wifi almost never connected and when it did the signal dropped almost immediately. And all night, the plumbing would make loud *"flushing" noises about every 3 minutes. Not at all a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Although we stayed only one night in this 5* hotel, everything was excellent! We checked-in very late but we snacks and drinks were available at the hotel shop. The rooms were big and full of light, the view from our room was amazing - skyscrappers!! TThe hotel is located in a downtown area, personnel was very friendly and breakfast was super rico and varied. The souvenirs shops is also a good alternative if you don't have enough time in the airport to buy stuff for friends&family at home. Definitely recommend the place!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel, great downtown location, close to shopping & transportation, amazing American breakfast, neat and clean rooms, very spacious, beautiful skyline view of Panama downtown from high floors. Modern décor. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: High floors have beautiful views both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love tge location, staff, rooms and breakfast buffet. The value for the money is incredible. The breakfast buffet is out of this world included always in room rate. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. Location is superb right smack in the city center. Hughly recomend it for couples or family.

Room Tip: High floor facing calle 50 rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, ON
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi Everyone.
The first part of my trip was spent at the Riu Playa Blanca. It was nice – feel free to read that review.
To start off, my transfers from the RPB were included in my package, so it was nice to just get in the van and go. The ride was about an hour and half. We were dropped off right in front. Panama is an amazing city. Having the Riu in the heart of it is a bonus. The hotel was great, breakfast was included in our package also. I am not going to spend a lot of time about this hotel, it was all we needed. I’m going to write about my adventure and tips of 2 full days exploring the city. If this interest you, keep reading:
If you’re a drinker, you can find beer for a dollar or less US at a mini market just down the street around the corner from this hotel. We bought a couple of 6 packs. You’ll find buying drinks in some bars or hotels can run you as much as $6.00 US. We cheapen out and bought our own. We actually walked around the streets with beers, no one bothered us.
Bring good shoes. The best way to see this city is to walk it. The front desk or concierge service can give you a map of the city. It’s easy to get around if you can follow a city map. One of the main parts is the huge shopping centre located about 15 minute walk from the Riu. Behind it is the Harley dealer for all those of you needing to get your t-shirt. The Hard Rock is a must walk to. It is awesome inside. We had dinner in the steakhouse there our first night. It wasn’t cheap, but it was worth it. There are plenty of Casinos if you’re a gambler. We never went in, but I wanted to.
If you’re up for a long walk, like we were, walk to the Trump Panama. The hotel is beautiful. There are a few local bars along the way that are not too expensive to get a beer and some food.
Traffic is crazy busy…but hey, welcome to Panama. Cars come first, pedestrians come 2nd. Cross the streets carefully, or you will get run over.
Everyone honks their horns. You get used to it after a while. I swear, they must wear them out. …lol
A must do if you are in Panama and have some time is the “hop on hop off” bus tour. It cost $29 US and the red bus brings you to around 10 different attractions in the city. The blue bus brings you to 6 attractions. All for $29 dollars.
The red bus will bring you to the Panama Canal. It will cost you $15.00 to go on the tour, but I thought it was worth it. The history behind the canal was very interesting. The ships are huge that pass thru.
The big city airport which we flew out of is around 20 minutes away from the Riu. (cost was $35.00 US for 2 people to go to the airport)
Thanks for reading. Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good service,clean rooms and very well located. Good restaurant at the pool. Pool with a great view on the tall buildings. Downtown but quiet. Right in the banking district. A few nightclubs close by. Good breakfast and close to good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Panama

Address: Calle 50 con 53 este | Urb. Marbella, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#6 Business Hotel in Panama City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Panama 4*
Number of rooms: 644
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Plaza Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.